Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Importing to sell to eejits ?

• 04-08-2012 7:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭

Not for the first time have I seen an ad like this-
    LEFT HAND DRIVE. 4X4 DRIVE. 2000YEAR. 3.1 TURBO DIESEL. AIR CONDITION, CRUISE CONTROL, SOUND SYSTEM WITH CD AND TAPE RADIO. ALL ELECTRIC WINDOWS, BORT COMPUTER, ELECTRIC SEATS, CLIMATCONTROL, ALLOYS WHEELS WITH GOOD TYRES, SERVISE DONE. LITHUANIA NUMBER PLATES. 1WEEK IN IRELAND . VERY GOOD CONDITION. TEL 087192**19

Price: € 4,200
    We seem to be a 'dumping ground/gold mine' for foreigners who think we'll buy any ol sh*te - LHD/MOT failures included.

Irish model 01
    Grand Cherokee,Limited edition,3,1, tdi full,service history, ,nct 11 2012, ,c l, cd ,player, 4 electric windows,electric mirrors, alarm ,memory seats,a c, cruise control,, full black leather,in very good condition,very clean,Price: € 1,550

SUPPORT IRELAND, VRT paid machines!!!;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,704 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Capri wrote: »
    SUPPORT IRELAND, VRT paid machines!!!;);)

As a taxpayer I'd say let them import as many cars as they like cause there'll be new VRT payable on every car. Now what a flood of imports will do for the value of the existing stock is another matter.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

LEFT HAND DRIVE. 4X4 DRIVE. 2000YEAR. 3.1 TURBO DIESEL. AIR CONDITION, CRUISE CONTROL, SOUND SYSTEM WITH CD AND TAPE RADIO. ALL ELECTRIC WINDOWS, BORT COMPUTER, ELECTRIC SEATS, CLIMATCONTROL, ALLOYS WHEELS WITH GOOD TYRES, SERVISE DONE. LITHUANIA NUMBER PLATES. 1WEEK IN IRELAND . VERY GOOD CONDITION. TEL 087192**19

If it has a Bort license plate, consider it sold!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

A bort it in myself to sell to some mug? In fairness, them Lithuanian licence plates are becoming very desirable. I see lads everywhere driving around with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

A lot of older LHD vehicles are worth quite a lot in their original countries. Doesn't make sense to buy for use here, but might make a lot of sense if you wanted something to drive back to Eastern Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

somebody should a bort that ad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Some of you lads don't know how lucky you are, and what one month pay in Ireland can buy. Eastern Europe - prices much, much higher. Not only high powered vehicles, but every single car is more expensive.

Here is a link to polish Jeep GC, same engine and year, 190k km on the clock, and no NCT!

http://moto.gratka.pl/tresc/jeep-grand-cherokee-quadra-drive-rej-2001-12687753.html#70b782ef1bcd6566,1

23900pln is about 6k in Irish money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

But the running costs in terms of insurance/test/taxes etc is minimal compared to Ireland.

Doesn't make the price mad - i am just saying it is what it costs in original country. If someone is about to move back to Lithuania, could make a deal.

No motor tax in Poland, but petrol cost 1.40E now. Consider minimum wage is ~300-350/month, running cost is still high, not to mention you have to save up to buy 15 years old car...
    My parents bought 96 regd Micra for my sister for around 1500E last year:eek:
    Don't ask how much they paid for 96 Civic 1.4 4 years ago, i was like WTF???

It may sound OT, but i believe most Eastern markets are similiar...

I was offered 3000 Euro for a 96 RHD VW Polo in Bulgaria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,545 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I hope you took it

Oh yes! :D

I was offered 3000 Euro for a 96 RHD VW Polo in Bulgaria.

There are lads who are making RHD-LHD conversions. In Poland it costs a bit, and you have to get homologation, NCT equivalent, and all this things. But - if you look at the difference in price - it is worth. My mechanic sends some commercials bought for close to nothing, they fix them, and register. Not an easy job, but they do a living from it.

But 3000E for RHD Polo:eek:- how much is LHD in there (you can't register RHD in Poland, they were about to change it, i hope they won't to be honest), and can you register RHD without any conversions in there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I've just thought of a new career in used car sales :p

wonski wrote: »
    There are lads who are making RHD-LHD conversions. In Poland it costs a bit, and you have to get homologation, NCT equivalent, and all this things. But - if you look at the difference in price - it is worth. My mechanic sends some commercials bought for close to nothing, they fix them, and register. Not an easy job, but they do a living from it.

But 3000E for RHD Polo:eek:- how much is LHD in there (you can't register RHD in Poland, they were about to change it, i hope they won't to be honest), and can you register RHD without any conversions in there?
    You can register RHD cars without conversion in BG with no issues.

Do they come with extra passenger to give you green light for overtaking?

The only reason i am against it (RHD) is amount of crazy driving in Poland...
    Having mad people on the road with RHD vehicles scares the hell out of me tbh.
    They will have to follow EU rules and allow it, so jar_of_coins may be a bit late (for Polish market...) - loads of salesmen already here!
    When they do - not good for all of us. Thank god UK market is closer, so they will ruin theirs, before prices rise in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

wonski - can I ask, if you are in Poland, how the hell did you get to know boards.ie????

I come from there, but don't live anymore... Visit frequently tough, and speak to those who live there.

I am one of those emigrants, spent 1 year in Netherlands, another 3 in UK, 4 years in Ireland, and enjoyed it so far. Just to introduce meself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

If the monthly wage is less then it is here and I presume cost of living less how come cars cost more ??

Mully_2011 wrote: »
    If the monthly wage is less then it is here and I presume cost of living less how come cars cost more ??

This question would rise more and more questions... You would laugh at tax credit back in ca2002 - 500E/year it was. I don't mind answering some of those questions, but we will go OT before we start.
    Don't mind if you start a new one - there are few users from Eastern Europe, and some Irish living in those countries. More than happy to answer.

Just so you know - cost of living is not exactly less in there, if you try to compare on like-to-like basis...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

My guess is that could be months or years in Ireland, if the lad wants to sell it he needs to make it look like it's here less than a month for VRT purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭haminka

Not all Eastern European countries are so expensive. I could get a brand new Fiesta where I come from with some extras thrown in for the price of a 3y old basic version here. My mum's brand new Suzuki SX4 with some extras is in the price range of a 4y old SX4 with no ESP over here, plus symbolic motor tax, less insurance and petrol prices are lower. I was just visiting and the town is full of new cars, Skodas, Suzukis, Mazdas, Fords and in the upper range, Audi Q7 and BMW X6 seem to be the most popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭pcardin

Pottler wrote: »
    A bort it in myself to sell to some mug? In fairness, them Lithuanian licence plates are becoming very desirable. I see lads everywhere driving around with them.
    why, and that is a very good question to Irish Customs and Garda. Laws are in place it's just a matter of inforcing them.

lifer_sean wrote: »
    A lot of older LHD vehicles are worth quite a lot in their original countries. Doesn't make sense to buy for use here, but might make a lot of sense if you wanted something to drive back to Eastern Europe.
    Yes and no, more no than yes. I personally wouldn't touch an LHD that is on foreign plates. The reason for that is that I can't check any background on the car really. It could be stollen, could be on finance. To risky and too messy. Besides LHD cars here are mad priced.

lifer_sean wrote: »

No need to look that far. Even cars in Belgium, France, Germany are quite expensive in compare to cars here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Cars in lithuania are expensive too. A lot more older cars then in ireland.

just have a look here. this is a search engine ( like carzone.ie ) in lithuania and i just entered to look for audi 100. look how many of them there and how many of them in good condition too ( lots of scrap too )

http://auto.plius.lt/skelbimai/lengvieji-automobiliai?page_nr=1&make_id=99&model_id=1346

have a look how many golfs up to 95' year. mk2 and early mk3. 19 pages

http://auto.plius.lt/skelbimai/lengvieji-automobiliai?page_nr=1&make_id=43&model_id=193&make_date_to=1995

when i left lithuania the minimum wage was 100eu per month. thats 6-7 years ago. i havent been there once since i came here, but friends who go there for holidays tell me horror stories. prices for products are bigger then in ireland, but wages are way smaller.

i talked with fella yesterday who sold a 98 diesel passat with clutch gone no nct for 350eu to a lithuanian fella. he bought it to take it apart and send parts to lithuania for sale. he makes profit on it.

now i will agree that some LHD lithuanian and polish cars go on donedeal for lialia prices. you cant expect to sell LHD version of a car here for more then you can get RHD version. there will be always a chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

SH - you haven't even been home to see your folks? :eek: Or do they live here too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Cars are cheap in Ireland (and not the other way around), because in Ireland we know the price of everything and the value of nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

wonski wrote: »
    Do they come with extra passenger to give you green light for overtaking?

The only reason i am against it (RHD) is amount of crazy driving in Poland...
    Having mad people on the road with RHD vehicles scares the hell out of me tbh.

It looks like that RHD vehicles will be allowed for registration in Poland even possibly later this year. Project of new legislation was already sent to public consulations, and EU court of justice has a case against Poland for not allowing registration of RHD. So it's going to be nearest future when it happens.

google ?????:D

Mully_2011 wrote: »

Would you expect car manufacturers to sell cars for less in countries that have lower salaries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭haminka

CiniO wrote: »
    Would you expect car manufacturers to sell cars for less in countries that have lower salaries?

errr .... yes. that's what i saw as well ... if i were after a lhd, i'd simply buy a car at home

haminka wrote: »
    Not all Eastern European countries are so expensive. I could get a brand new Fiesta where I come from with some extras thrown in for the price of a 3y old basic version here.

According to my observation between Ireland and Poland it is as follows.

1. Brand new cars from dealers, are cheaper in Poland, no matter what type and class of car is it. It's pretty much purely due to taxation (VRT in Ireland), and possibly cost of transport to Island of Ireland + dealers markup.

2. Few year old cars seem to cost very similar in both countries.

3. Older cars (8 years old +) seem to be way more expensive in Poalnd than Ireland. Main reason is that that range of cars have high maintenance cost in Ireland (garage charge a lot, pars are expensive). Tax and insurance is high. And there is plenty of those on market as people don't want to drive them and prefer to buy newer vehicle. That makes older cars, expecially with big unecenomical enginses worth very little in Ireland. In oppse to this, in Poland cost of maintenance is way lower. No stupid motortaxes. Insurance is cheap. Generally most people can't afford a new car, and are looking for older vehicles. Than makes very big demand for that kind of cars, and therefore according to basic law of economy, big demand causes prices to go up.. That's why 10 year old car with big petrol enigne might be worth 1grand in Ireland, while the same car might be worth 4grand in Poland.
    And accordingly brand new car costing 15k at dealers in Ireland, might cost 10k at delaers in Poalnd.