Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smart Roadsters

• 04-08-2012 6:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3446946

A friend of mine is looking at buying the above, anyone have anything on them?

My knowledge of them in understandably very little, so any advice is appriciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Powered by Dyson !

Your 0-62 time top speed and mpg all depend on what you had for breakfast :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 hardibuck

Main website for Smart Roadster owners:

http://www.theroadster.net/trc/modules/articles/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

From various reviews (although admitedly not personal experience) the autobox is very slow to change, even in semi auto mode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I know sfa about them, except Clarkson loved them and the exhausts are a pain in the hole to replace as there's feck all room. Looks nice though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Leaky I've heard, electronics can suffer because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

I had one for a very short while. Nice yoke to drive and feel a lot bigger and sturdier once your inside.

The problem is the are as complicated electronically as a 600 sel. Fierce trouble with ESP and odd thing like steering sensors and oddball things which throw up warning lights all the time. Gear box can fail to select reverse or select at all if left lying.
    Back up service and diagnostics means going to Belfast afaik from my issues a few years ago.
    Personally I 'd love one with fire blade engine and sequential box.

They are economical and feel and sound quick enough in standard form, however the overly complicated dated Mercedes electronics more or less ruin them as a practical proposition unless you pay very little for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

9 grand :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

colm_mcm wrote: »
    9 grand :eek:

That's the top of the line Brabus tuned version. As smarts go, it's a beast.

Factor in a engine rebuild anywhere from as little as 40-50k on the clock. I'd done 47k when mine needed a rebuild probably cus I was lazy about finding it the Mobil 1 it loves. Running great now according to the guy who bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

i love a good old hairdresser roadster, and i love this one, but not for 9k eu...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

i love a good old hairdresser roadster, and i love this one, but not for 9k eu...

A €1.5k MX-5 is unbeatable fir that, imho.....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road”