Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fishing gear ALDI Sunday 5th August

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

The 13.99 fishing bags are fantastic. I got one a few years ago, use it for medicines etc. during lambing. Buy two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I'm going to pick up the hoodies t-shirts and fleeces.. They will be handy as a under layer and they come in a green colour too if the camo looks crappy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Thanks for the heads up. I will have to pick up some of that gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭beretta firearm

thanks il be in there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Gloves aren't great at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Browning2010

The field boots they have as well are crap, don't waste your money on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

ALDI are selling fishing gear on Sunday next............jackets, trousers, waistcoat, gloves, hat, waders etc. in olive green colour that may be useful in the field.

http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/offers_week32Sunday12.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭ghostmantra

i have one of the bags great for cartridges in the Field after pigeons:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

My 2 closest aldi stores didnt have the camo hoodies, did anywhere have em?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Recoil12

I went to two aldi stores today and neither had any of the stock(Sweatshirt,t-shirt,trousers) with camo print so I ended up getting the plain green gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭lee70

Haven't had a chance to get to one yet. What are the fishing vests like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Recoil12

The fishing vests look pretty good,they are nice and lightweight with plenty of pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭cubbyleader

lee70 wrote: »
    Haven't had a chance to get to one yet. What are the fishing vests like?
    They seem good I got one today there lightweight and have a good few pockets

Recoil12 wrote: »
    The fishing vests look pretty good,they are nice and lightweight with plenty of pockets.
    The missus is heading in when she gets her arse out of bed. I'll get her to pick me up one and a T-shirt in green. Cheers lads.

i am just back from aldi now and i am wearing the clothes i bought there. first impression is that the bag looks like great value, ideal for putting anything you want to mind as it seams to be padded and very well made.

i also bought a hat, fleece, hooded sweet shirt, t-shirts, trousers, rain proof trousers and socks.

hat looks good and has a built in LED light run from 2 small batteries, just like a more expensive hat i bought a few years ago. 9 out 0f 10

fleece is very light and i have to wait and see if it holds up to being washed. light enough to put in a back pack for an extra layer if you were heading away on along trip. ok for the price. 5 out of 10

hooded sweet shirt is again very light but is more like something i would wear and very good value for money. have to wait and see how it holds up to a wash. 8 out of 10

t-shirts come in packs of 2, seem like well made and just what the doctor ordered. wait to see how they hold up to a wash. 9 out of 10.

trousers are very light and i wouldn't be in any rush to get them but now that i have them they will come in handy if we ever get a bit of sun, ideal if you ever want to sit out on a sunny day and do some bunny bashing, 5 out of 10

rain proof trousers are handy to bring along with you in a pocket or back pack, they fold away very small and light. ideal for anyone heading out for a day stalking in our unpredictable weather. 9 out of 10

socks look and feel good but i will have to see how they hold up out in the field to be sure but so far look good. 9 out of 10

gloves have a good positive grippy palm and fingers on a neoprene structure. the trigger finger and thumb fold back on both hands. i put them on and handled the rifle with no slipping and a very good grip from the rubbery finish. much better than a more expensive pair i bought a few years ago. i am looking forward to trying them in the field. 9 out of 10.

i hope this helps anyone thinking about picking up some cheep gear for knocking about

ps. i forgot to mention there was no camo print in my local shop either

Went into clonmel instead of waterford and they had no camo print either.

Picked up the hoodie, t-shirts and a fishing vest.

the hoodie is light but I knew that buying it and it will be good for the summer evenings to keep covered or under your jacket in the cold winters.

T-shirts are t-shirts so they'll be grand.

The fishing vest seems of decent quality and it has a decent sized game pouch in the back and plents of pockets and pouches on the front to hold leads or the odd heavier load shell.

I have none at the moment and one is down further on the "to buy" list so This will do me the finest.

I didnt bother with the gloves this time around but they didn't seem to be too bad quality wise. Good grip on them.

Hoodie looks like it should last if it stays away from the tumble dryer.

No vests or t-shirt left in Kilkenny:( Wouldn't be surprised if some lad came across from Kildare and bought the lot:D

I'll sell you the vest for 40 quid and the t-shirts for 20 each :D

Uold a bridge lee :rollyeyes: haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Was at the liffey center and maynooth and none had cammo :( was alright gear didn't pick anything up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

No camo at all in Bray, very disappointed in that. The trousers seem like great quality though I bought 4 pairs. Bought a vest too in XL, Im not a big man but it barely fits. I think theyre sizes are smaller that average so be careful !!!! T-shirts seem great quality too, just a shame about no camo :(

I'm 6'1" and a 42" chest and the L fits we comfortable with room with a hoodie on under it. L said 42-44 so it seems fairly ok.

Most people have the packs opened in there before hand so tis no harm to try before u buy anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

just home now herself picked up a green fleece she said there was no camo hoodie in maynooth any where else around dublin with camo but the fleece is ok not bad for 12 euro i think gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

:(:(was in with the sister today and the feckin store across the road an i feckin forgot to go in ,thanks for the info tho sounds like il invest so,sure wont they do for the summer nxt year:rolleyes::rolleyes::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

no cammo in cavan branch either... it appears there was no cammo stock at all anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 StanF

No camo in Gorey, Arklow, and Dublin ( Parnell street ). Will try Finglas later on.

rite no camo in mullingar either ,but a mate of mine does the night trunking into aldi and he said there was camo on board as he has to unload the trailer(about 3 in the morning in mullingar store)and to put this delicatly without insinuating or accusing any one,but certain non irish staff that are taking in the goods usually when checking ,take any of good stuff aside for to buy for themselves/family or friends? now he normally lets me know if shooting /fishing gear is in via txt when he gets there,and there was a few of the camo gear but they were put scanned in an put aside:eek: dont know and im not sayin i know this to happen,im goin on his word,and i dont know if it happens anywhere else

My mate workes in the warehouse and packs the specials, he said he didnt see any camo gear

I somehow doubt the staff took the camo gear from what it seems every county in the country. They wouldnt all be interested in camo fishing gear

i am only speculating but i think it would be a good strategy for aldi to let out the green first and then let out the cammo.

i doubt very much that every employee in the country has conspired to keep all the cammo for them selves.

i would wager that it will be out on the shelves soon

well as lad said to me there was only a small few of the camo trousers an that ,but it depends on what is sent in from the main hub in germany,maybe as u say they want to see if the stuff sells first and then releash the camo gear,you,d think they,d know by now we,re big into our shootng an fishing:rolleyes: but he has said this is a rife practice in many stores that he delivers too,and i have a friend (irish) who works in the main lidle warehouse in mullingar says its common there:eek::eek::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

U don't know the folks he's talking about haha in every county and always found out looking for roach

:D:D i know them well,they be dressed to the nines in camo gear ala aldi fishing on the canal line:D;) and they wouldnt have paid 12.99 or 9.99 for them either!!!;)