Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jesse Ennis Kicks off the athletics in style

• 03-08-2012 9:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭

12.54 with a +1.3 wind in the hurdles:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Yeah. Great start for her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

New British Record and would probably put you in with a shout for medal in the hurdles final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Good start from Jess, Hope she gets Gold, great Athlete

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Mothman

Wow!
    What was her Pb?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

feckin hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

jaysus Joe that is very very impressive. Fair focks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,373 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Awesome run from Ennis. Really love her to get the gold.

Mothman wrote: »
    Wow!
    What was her Pb?

12.79 was her best previously

Funny enough she ran faster here that she did with 9 hurdles at the Manchester Games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭mise

Jesus, that's pretty impressive!

Just checked and 12.54 won gold in the Women's 100m hurdles in Beijing

mise wrote: »
    Jesus, that's pretty impressive!

Just checked and 12.54 won gold in the Women's 100m hurdles in Beijing

Pearson has come a long since then however still would be a good shout for a medal though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Such an amazing athlete, I really hope she gets gold, it would be very much deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭horsebox1977

Quick questions about Ennis's point tally for the hurdles.

Her official time of 12.54 was given a points total of 1195 but when I look up the IAAF points table against her time I get a points tally of 1211.

Anyone care to explain the discrepancy in points?

(I am half thinking it's related to the positive wind reading.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Quick questions about Ennis's point tally for the hurdles.

Her official time of 12.54 was given a points total of 1195 but when I look up the IAAF points table against her time I get a points tally of 1211.

Anyone care to explain the discrepancy in points?

(I am half thinking it's related to the positive wind reading.)

I checked and the tables give 1195, so you must be looking at the wrong tables.

The Combined events scoring tables are different from the individual events scoring tables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭the_real_lamp

She was 66/1 this morning on PP for 100mh , now 13/1!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Fantastic run. But, the BBC commentators were pretty much ready to hand out the gold medal already. 6 events to go. She failed at her first attempt at 1.80 on the high jump, so hopefully she'll get it back on track. The pressure on her must be absolutely huge.

Jumped the 1.80 on her second attempt..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Fantastic run. But, the BBC commentators were pretty much ready to hand out the gold medal already. 6 events to go. She failed at her first attempt at 1.80 on the high jump, so hopefully she'll get it back on track. The pressure on her must be absolutely huge.

Jumped the 1.80 on her second attempt..

I thought it was 1.83 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

ecoli wrote: »
    New British Record and would probably put you in with a shout for medal in the hurdles final

I thought the hurdles were 3 inches lower for heptathlon 100m compared to the ladies 100m hurdles ?

Abhainn wrote: »
    I thought the hurdles were 3 inches lower for heptathlon 100m compared to the ladies 100m hurdles ?

AFAIK they are the same height.

IAAF site also reporting it as a NR so I presume they are the same height though I could be wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

AFAIK they are the same height.

IAAF site also reporting it as a NR so I presume they are the same height though I could be wrong

Should be same height unless they put out the wrong hurdles....she got caught out before where they only put out 9 hurdles instead of 10 in a meet in manchester

Gringo78 wrote: »
    Should be same height unless they put out the wrong hurdles....she got caught out before where they only put out 9 hurdles instead of 10 in a meet in manchester

This was a novelty street race so I cant see the same happening for an Olympic event

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

This was a novelty street race so I cant see the same happening for an Olympic event

Proper Grand Prix event. Kelly Sotherton was watching on TV and tweeted that there was less hurdles!

I thought it was the city of manchester games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

I thought it was the city of manchester games?

You are correct, twas a 'novelty' event. However if you read the article below you'll see Sotherton got caught out at Crystal Palace when they placed the 3rd hurdle at the wrong place, which would obviously take a hurdler a bit by surprise. She had to pull up.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/othersports/article-2147171/Jessica-Ennis-robbed-personal-best-Manchester-race-WRONG-NUMBER-hurdles.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

After the Shot Jess Ennish has dropped back to second behind Skujyte by about 60 points

After Jess its over 100 points to the rest of the field

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

really impressed with Ennis, tomorrow will be challenging for her though, as Michael Johnson said, some of her weaker events to come.
    Worst case scenario for her is silver.

Really impressed with her hurdles, a cynical part of me sees triathletes as jack of all trades type of athletes, but at least Ennis is genuinely world class over hurdles, if she quit hepathlon, she would be be a gold contender for the hurdles.

MungoMan wrote: »
    really impressed with Ennis, tomorrow will be challenging for her though, as Michael Johnson said, some of her weaker events to come.
    Worst case scenario for her is silver.

Really impressed with her hurdles, a cynical part of me sees triathletes as jack of all trades type of athletes, but at least Ennis is genuinely world class over hurdles, if she quit hepathlon, she would be be a gold contender for the hurdles.

Its her best ever day 1 total. The long jump should be strong as well so i think barring a disaster in the javelin she will come good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Long jump nailed! Surely she only needs one half decent javelin throw and she can jog the 800.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Yes! 46-ish with her first throw - that'll do.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

So how much time advantage do you get for each 100 points or so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭ChickenTikka

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

robinph wrote: »
    So how much time advantage do you get for each 100 points or so?
    About 15 points a seconds or I think.

Its enough that I'd give Jess the medal now. The big question isn't if Jess will win but but by how much she will set a british record by.

Jessica's season's best is 2.08 for the 800. If she gets 2.12.00 she can claim a British record. Ennis has almost 300 points before the first person that could beat her in the 800.

Skuyjte has a SB of 2.20 and Lyudmyla has a SB of 2.12.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Some noise in the stadium for her now.

A great show!

Gold number 1 for the UK.

Gold number 2 coming right up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

jessica ennis is an outstanding athlete
    -well done

Pherekydes wrote: »
    A great show!

Gold number 1 for the UK.

Gold number 2 coming right up?

Yes, and number 3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭kilkennycat2004

M cebee wrote: »
    jessica ennis is an outstanding athlete
    -well done

Fantastic showing by Jessica Ennis & with 3 track & field golds tonight Britain seem to have totally nailed it with the Olympics to date. A fantastic opening ceremony & athletes in several disciplines, including ones from Northern Ireland , all peaking at the right time under incredible preassure.
    Meanwhile we have swimmers closer to drowning than reaching finals even & athletes threatening to retire in their twenties!
    Remember when Michelle Smith won her three golds in Atlanta, Britain as a nation won ONE GOLD MEDAL across all disciplines!

Once again great two days from Ennis under huge preassure to perform.