Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012 Cooking Club Week 31: Lime and chilli chicken burgers.

Options
  • 02-08-2012 11:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭

These burgers are adapted from a recipe for lime marinaded chicken on cookingforengineers.com. I've made them quite a few times so I like to think I have the recipe down at this stage! I'm one of those ad-hoc cooks so I'm not very good at measurements, so I apologise for any approximations.

They're really tasty burgers, very fresh and not too spicy. I'd imagine they would be great cooked on a barbecue.

Ingredients

sea salt
    3 limes (1 lime for every 1 chicken breast)
    2 cloves garlic (1 average sized clove per breast, roughly)
    1 - 2 chilli peppers (As much chilli as you fancy!)
    1 tsp paprika
    1 tsp ground ginger
    1 tsp ground coriander
    1 tsp chilli powder

baps / lettuce / onion / whatever you fancy yourself

Recipe:

For this recipe you'll be using a brine marinade. It counts as a marinade because you're soaking in a seasoned acidic solution!

Assemble your ingredients. In the picture I have pepper instead of ground coriander because I couldn't find it. I found it after I took the picture. C'est la vie.

nq8cEl.jpg

1) Make up about one and a half pints of brine for every two chicken breasts. It should be just saltier as you would make if you were going to gargle it for a sore throat! I am terrible at measurements. Usually I make up my solution and once it looks about right, I take a taste and if it is horrible tasting enough to make me go "bllerrgghh" and spit it into the sink it's perfect!