Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

verably abused ,whilst rambling with dog

• 02-08-2012 10:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭

:mad:was out this mornin with the springer for the usual ramble which is a round 4mile of ramble,on a patch near home,enjoying the sunshine in the early morning minding my own business ,the springer put up a cock pheasant out of a ditch caught me off guard ,when a woman and a man which i didnt see standing at the gate on the road started giving it socks about how cruel it was that my mongrel dog!!!:eek: disturbed the bird whilst it was feeding:confused::confused: and i should have the dog on a leash!!!!and was making a report to ispca and some other crowd:confused: i politly and as calmly explained that i 1 know the farmer,2 had permission to be there,3 what business was it to them what i was doing,and they still were given loads, needless to say pateince wore thin told them to f off ,:mad::mad: did any off u ever have this happen to ye:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

I was training a young lab , and have permission to do a bit of water retriveing , beside a caravan park , and in general it a great atmosphere , people come out and watch and it great for getting the dog use to crowds .

Had the dog sitting and threw the dummy into water , dog broke and I caught him by the neck before he got going and sat him back in his place .

Straight away I had a gentleman who was not our isle , roaring at me to the embarrassment of his family that I was a cruel B , I packed up the dog and approached him , nicely explained the reason for doing what I done , and then f 'd him out of it for calling me a b a s t a r d ! And that if he wasn't happy to f back to his own island !

Anyone ever notice that the people that have the problem all the time is the ones that are not from here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I've had similiar experiences while out rabbiting with dogs - my reaction is usually to smile,wave and salute. Never allow yourself to appear upset as that is what most of these cranks are hoping for!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

yeh i did try as calmly explain things alrite to the 2 numptys but they werent having any of it,the thing is at that hour of the morning(6.30)is when i usually head out with the springer as im not working at min so it keeps me from bein a lazy sod who lies in the sack all day,i only meet the 2 lads that own the lands within a half hour of eachother and never anyone else,an the 2 idiots a man an a woman ive never seen before cant say that there not from around town as the town is fairly big,it erks me what was there problem:confused::confused::confused: they didnt have a dog and just seem to be out walking,and the verbal abuse was something else:eek::eek:they seemed middleclass,enough tho i dont make class distintions, like i wasnt at anything illegal but they seemed to think i was:eek::mad:

Ya should have said " you should see the one she killed earlier it was way bigger " and laughed . And kept walking , u would be giggling all the way home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Robotack

Never happenned to me but personally I'd rise above it... Nothing gives our sport a bad name like people "f- ing" someone out of it. Just me 2 cents, but I reckon it bothers them more if you stay ultra calm and polite.

Robotack wrote: »
    Never happenned to me but personally I'd rise above it... Nothing gives our sport a bad name like people "f- ing" someone out of it. Just me 2 cents, but I reckon it bothers them more if you stay ultra calm and polite.

It alot different when it happens , you blood boils very quick especially when there firing abuse at you .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

I've had the same thing a few times, on one occasion on my own land!
    All you can do is be polite (the bigger person) and explain your on private property so there is no need for a lead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

I had one when i was walking a bull lurcher i used to own
    A car pulls up and tells me 'that greyhound has to be muzzled by law'
    I informed hium that greyhounds are not on the dangerous dogs act and dont have to be muzzled
    I then told him that it was a lurcher and not a greyhound i was walking
    I then told him to bugger off and mind his own business!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Phone out and start taking a video. Will shut a lot of people up pretty sharpish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭virminhunter

I had an ould pair of blow ins from across the pond come over to me one morning as I was feeding a pony a couple of carrotts.

Basically it was my Mother's land which she had leased to a few fella's to put their pony out on to graise.

Seemingly the pony's welfare wasn't up to standards(pony wanted for nothing) and somehow it was my fault and they were going to call the Rspca:D:D:D Erm I think you mean the Ispca(think they could have done with a bit of a history lesson on who kicked who's arse)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Tell them to tell their story walking, I'd pick my nose and eat the snots in front of them while they talk verbal diarrhea. Don't forget to offer them one ;)

4200fps wrote: »
    Tell them to tell their story walking, I'd pick my nose and eat the snots in front of them while they talk verbal diarrhea. Don't forget to offer them one ;)

Yea or turn your head to one side and shout shut up cant you see Im talking to people ! And a few second later turn your head again and shout " no they do not want tea " !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I live in Dublin, right beside a massive park full of badger, fox, egrets, herons, mallards, shellduck and lots of others... along with grey squirrels.

There's a guy that brings his two monster rescue lurchers in and let's them off the lead, it's legal during certain hours. You can guess what happens, two large fit lurchers, lots of grey squirrels?

Squirrel coursing.

I thought it would go down like Larry Murphy in a women's refuge, but surprisingly, he doesn't get much grief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I live in Dublin, right beside a massive park full of badger, fox, egrets, herons, mallards, shellduck and lots of others... along with grey squirrels.

There's a guy that brings his two monster rescue lurchers in and let's them off the lead, it's legal during certain hours. You can guess what happens, two large fit lurchers, lots of grey squirrels?

Squirrel coursing.

I thought it would go down like Larry Murphy in a women's refuge, but surprisingly, he doesn't get much grief.

the more greys they get the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

garv123 wrote: »

That seems to be the reason fellow dog walkers don't seem to be very upset about the casualties. Mind you, they don't make much of an impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

Myself and the lads I shoot with have had thing like this happen a few times.We have had people shout at us,let flare's off over us when we where evening duck shooting and even had people ring the cops for us.Thats just some of the things we have to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

garv123 wrote: »
    Hmm,perfectly good waste of a tasty dinner..Deep fried squirrel is a Southern delight;) Tastes like KFC without the crud.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

let flare's off over us

If they're distress type flares then the cops and lifeboat would take that very seriously, I know they do here.

If they're not then they're illegal fireworks. If you could get them on tape doing that........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

johngalway wrote: »
    If they're distress type flares then the cops and lifeboat would take that very seriously, I know they do here.

If they're not then they're illegal fireworks. If you could get them on tape doing that........

Yes they looked like distress type to me but then again they may not have been.We don't have the shooting where this happened anymore so it doesn't happen now.I think it was bird watch ireland that bought the place in the end.

Bear it in mind if it happens again somewhere else, straight onto the law & lifeboat quiet as you can, and if possible hold the antis there with talk or whatever. False flares waste considerable time and resources and can potentially be the cause of fatalities in real emergencies. Just goes to show how low these people will stoop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Every rocket flare is a distress flare. That pyro technique has no other purpose and is dangerous and illegal when used incorrectly. Ring the law to tell them the flare is a false alarm and to report the anti's. That's a new low

And need I say..THINK Camera phones!!!Get this carry on film ,or SD card more like..Hard evidence is needed and there is no excuse nowadys not to put the old pocket computor to some good use.:)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

well whata y.know,out this morning:eek: and who,d i meet only the same 2 wasters again, more jawing and insulting my springer:mad::mad::mad: now you can call me anything or insult me but calling my dog a mongrel :mad: now we get the sh"te on m,focker ,i was just about to let off a few rounds of f!2cks and blinds only who turns up only my man on tells em to be off with them selves or said law will be called,holding yer calm is easier said then done at times but i dont think ill be crossing paths with them to idiots any time soon;) sorry now but the good lady just brought me in a plate of rabbit carbonara,ill be awhile:D:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Was walkin back from Ferretin and had the two ferrets in a carrier box( its big enough for 3 ferrets) and 5 rabbits strapped to my waist and as I was gettin to the car a load of hoggers went passed and well you can guess the rest
    I was a heartless cruel bastard
    I was a knacker scumbag
    I was a disgrace
    I was gonna have the dspca after me( cant do F all to me anyway)
    Hope you and your rats ( ferrets) die next time your out hunting

There's more but effort of typing
    I calmly and politely said I can't wait to stick these rabbits in a stew when I get home and also fcuk off and mind your business and to keep joggin and that giving me grief wasn't gonna get rid of the bellies

Some people are just nuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

...i politly and as calmly explained that i 1 know the farmer,2 had permission to be there,3 what business was it to them what i was doing,and they still were given loads, needless to say pateince wore thin told them to f off...

pheasntstalker,
    Sorry if this comes off as an attack on you, it is not. Just words of advice.

You cannot engage these types, you're trying to do so was your first mistake. You're not going to have a logical discussion/debate with them whereby they change over to your side or vice versa.

In general, any dialogue with the anti's is a waste of time. They are not talking to you in order to determine you're point of view. Rather, they are talking at you in order to demean or otherwise belittle your sport.

If you have to say something, try what I call the statementless statement.

Idiot Anti's: blah, blah, blah, that's cruel, blah, blah, blah.

Myself: (1) Thank you for your opinion. I am sorry that you feel that way.

(2) That's a very technical analysis of the situation, mongrel dog and all. You should respect my dog diversity: chasing birds is part of his culture.

(3) It has been great to have met you, have a lovely day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

I had an ould pair of blow ins from across the pond come over to me one morning as I was feeding a pony a couple of carrotts.

Basically it was my Mother's land which she had leased to a few fella's to put their pony out on to graise.

Seemingly the pony's welfare wasn't up to standards(pony wanted for nothing) and somehow it was my fault and they were going to call the Rspca:D:D:D Erm I think you mean the Ispca(think they could have done with a bit of a history lesson on who kicked who's arse)

(think they could have done with a bit of a history lesson on who kicked who's arse) Would you care to elaborate on that comment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

My Advice is stay on thread and not go down the RA route, his comment was harmless fun, im sure if they were French he would have jokingly called them frogs.

FISMA wrote: »
    (2) That's a very technical analysis of the situation, mongrel dog and all. You should respect my dog diversity: chasing birds is part of his culture.

:pac: :D

Could also add, "How dare you question my dogs diverse ethnicity you rascist scumbag!I'm reporting you for offensive rascist remarks to the Gaurds and the race relations boars!![The kicker is,they would proably take it seriously too:D]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

I love telling these folks that im out hunting man bear pigs that have escaped from Alcatraz down the road ,by the time they try to work it out I'm walking away hahaha

just to up date ye, spoke to farmer in town 2day that ran the 2 idiots who gave me verbals and he has had a run in with them as he has a few greyhounds himself, they anti,s for 100% sure:mad::mad: and signed up members by there car stickers:mad::mad: and worse for him they bought the house down the road from him,i also ran into them in tesco,s coped the stickers on there car,i only raging i couldnt find a spare countryside alliance sticker to put beside there own;):D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Could be good to remember that the anti's have camera phones too. It wouldn't be beyond them to video a hunter loosing his temper just so they can pass it onto the law along with a dramatic story of their's.

I would be of the camp of hold the head up and walk off and smile.

My Advice is stay on thread and not go down the RA route, his comment was harmless fun, im sure if they were French he would have jokingly called them frogs.

Ok Paddy, not a bother.

I would be of the camp of hold the head up and walk off and smile.[/QUOTE]
    i will be doin so in the future,

rsole1 wrote: »
    (think they could have done with a bit of a history lesson on who kicked who's arse) Would you care to elaborate on that comment?

Men and woman faught and died for the country we live in today so I find it a bit insulting when people aproach me right or wrong in the republic of Ireland and threaten to report me to the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals rather than the Irish Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals.

I would prefer it if we didn't have to have the ISPCA the RSPCA or the USPCA.
    They all have the same function.

Disagree with you on that we need them but they nee. To be more educated

Spunk84 wrote: »

think your reading him wrong, he said he'd prefer it if we didn't need them, not that we don't need them.

ssl wrote: »
    Could be good to remember that the anti's have camera phones too. It wouldn't be beyond them to video a hunter loosing his temper just so they can pass it onto the law along with a dramatic story of their's.

I would be of the camp of hold the head up and walk off and smile.

Hence the reason to have your out too.so that both sides of the story can be shown as evidence..However I wouldnt put it past those lowlifes to go and smack each other off camera and then claim to be assaulted.:mad:

lads we,ll not argue about who we need or dont:( bottom line is we need to stick together and educate others on our sport and for the future of our sport period,i never had a run in with any anti ,s before so i just posted what happened to me and wanted to know had any of you were ever abused or challenged in the field pub or where ,,ever and some of you were others werent, ive learnt not to and excuse the pun rise to there bait the nxt time,il just smile and bid them good day the nxt time:D:D;)

just to up date ye, spoke to farmer in town 2day that ran the 2 idiots who gave me verbals and he has had a run in with them as he has a few greyhounds himself, they anti,s for 100% sure:mad::mad: and signed up members by there car stickers:mad::mad: and worse for him they bought the house down the road from him,i also ran into them in tesco,s coped the stickers on there car,i only raging i couldnt find a spare countryside alliance sticker to put beside there own;):D:D

Make sure to tell your farmer friend to walk his dogs all the time down the road and to salute them and tell them how great the dogs did at the coursing.:D
    In Nov walk home that way with your "mongrel" festooned with pheasents and salute them,and even offer them one as a welcome gift to the neighbourhood,an that there are no hard feelins!:p
    I'd say they will soon get an education in country living as the year progresses.
    Slurry spreading season is great craic and sorts out the townies from the culchies!I would really bet that field of his near their place is in real good need of a manuring;)

:D:Dgrizz yer a bad man,yer given me impure thoughts of divilment and its not hallaween yet:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Get the farmer fella to walk down with his dogs and two toy squirrels and paint them red and then salute his neighbours
    Il be just ignoring them from now on
    Its kinda worse to feed the antis isn't it
    Ignoring them and they'll go home and moan and call you every name under the sun and they'll be in a bad mood all day

Spunk84 wrote: »

think your reading him wrong, he said he'd prefer it if we didn't need them, not that we don't need them.
    Your right read it wrong there lol