Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sour Taste

• 02-08-2012 10:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭

Hey all ive just started this thread to share an observation ive had. I moved to Waterford a year ago from Dublin, i use Boards to find out about the town , whats going on , places to visit and see and so on. Now my reason for starting this thread is because whilst im watching the threads develope a large majority of which descend in to Dublin Bashing.

It really puts a sour taste in my mouth to see my home town bein bashed for nothing more than the fact its Dublin.

Now ive been quite happily residing in Waterford and on the wholeive found the people to be really nice and accomodatin, but then i come on boards and its Dublin this Dublin That, with all honesty if the people fromWaterford used their energy more to promote the city and some of the beauitiful places it has to offer it would offer a much nicer picture for people visiting Ireland then logging on and just seeing ballyraggin of other counties.

I have full intentions of staying in Waterford working here and raising my family here and i would like my children to see the good side of both counties instead of them being judged and abused for being from Dublin also.

Many Thanks

Dub/Waterford Lad

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Ill repeat what I said in the last thread you brought this up..

If anything, its Kilkenny bashing that goes on around here and makes moderation a headache for years now! Now unless the cats are also claiming to be in Dublin, there is no Dublin bashing going around. Yes I know Waterford people are unhappy with how the media treats Dublin and the rest of the country outside of the big city, but nobody is bashing Dublin specifically. They are complaining about the media.

(Fecking Dubs. Making me post twice. Down with that sorta thing!!! :mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

You must be mad ( mad dub)!! Agree with sully most threads here are about cats and UPC !! Waterford people do get peed of with jobs seemingly ending up in all the usual areas and we get the scraps if anything. We welcome Dublin people here on our lovely motorway , tell your friends come visit us, we won't bite :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Kracken

I don't it's waterford has a sour taste for dublin, I think even county bar Dublin has a distaste for Dublin. Particularly the fact that its the capital and as such seems to get a higher proportion of the share of jobs, wealth, amenities etc.

Granted it has a higher population but when a county gets so much more then a certain line is passed which creates a uneven balance which manifests itself into this form.

As to Waterford thread harping on about it, I would agree with Sully. Seeing that I am from Killkenny and I have been living here for 14 years means something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

On the other side of that coin... How many Dubs consider anyone from outside the Pale to be Tayto munching, culchie bog warriors?
    Everyone gets on to everyone at some stage, its light hearted mostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Bards

war_child wrote: »
    Hey all ive just started this thread to share an observation ive had. I moved to Waterford a year ago from Dublin, i use Boards to find out about the town ,
    Many Thanks

Dub/Waterford Lad

That's the problem, here a year and still can;t get the designation right:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Dub bashing is the birthright of anyone lucky enough to be born outside Dublin.

And long may it continue...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

I don't think I've seen anyone bashing Dublin! Its obviously happening though because your clearly very upset over it.

Think someone needs a hug.

Edit: I actually do love Dublin !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Slow day round here, isn't there a ginger chap with a limp still to be caught?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

mike65 wrote: »
    Slow day round here, isn't there a ginger chap with a limp still to be caught?

I didnt know he was ginger, ill keep an eye out for him !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Mugser

Used to work in a factory in the Ind Estate and on my induction day the Health and Safety guy, who was a bleeeeeeeeedin Dub, was giving us a little talk about making the place a safer place to work; as he put it: "To make the factory more attractive so that other people will want to come down to Waterford to work"... To which I questioned him about the geographical position, for example, of Cork relative to Waterford.
    Dublin is not the centre of the universe. Get used to it, everybody who is not originally from Dublin but ends up moving there will at some stage be referred to as a cultie by some jackeeen!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭war_child

Bards wrote: »
    That's the problem, here a year and still can;t get the designation right:D

I was referring to town as a location Not waterford as a town/city ...damn culchies can never understand english lol ...need to update me bogtionary your obviously having difficulty with my outdated version ,,,but its with ur book shops , you need an Easons lmao :D

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Dub bashing is the birthright of anyone lucky enough to be born outside Dublin.

And long may it continue...........

Im gonna abduct ya and bring ya upto dublin and drop ya in St Michaels Mistake ...lets see your Dub bashing then ya sheep shaggin, tayto muchin bog warrior , lmao oh and Rockman youleft your tractor parked outside my Apartment Block again he he he he he :D

Sully wrote: »
    Ill repeat what I said in the last thread you brought this up..

If anything, its Kilkenny bashing that goes on around here and makes moderation a headache for years now! Now unless the cats are also claiming to be in Dublin, there is no Dublin bashing going around. Yes I know Waterford people are unhappy with how the media treats Dublin and the rest of the country outside of the big city, but nobody is bashing Dublin specifically. They are complaining about the media.

(Fecking Dubs. Making me post twice. Down with that sorta thing!!! :mad:)

My apologies sully , i started this thread as i didnt want to be hi-jacking someone else's and get infracted for thread spoiling per the Forum charter ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭jmcc

I was referring to town as a location Not waterford as a town/city ...damn culchies can never understand english lol
    Damned foreign languages - no matter how hard one tries, one can always be misunderstood. :)
    ...need to update me bogtionary your obviously having difficulty with my outdated version ,,,but its with ur book shops , you need an Easons lmao :D
    Guess they haven't discovered Amazon Kindle in Dubbalin town. :)

Regards...jmcc

jmcc wrote: »
    Damned foreign languages - no matter how hard one tries, one can always be misunderstood. :)

Guess they haven't discovered Amazon Kindle in Dubbalin town. :)

Regards...jmcc

Smartarse lmao :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Im gonna abduct ya and bring ya upto dublin and drop ya in St Michaels Mistake ...lets see your Dub bashing then ya sheep shaggin, tayto muchin bog warrior , lmao oh and Rockman youleft your tractor parked outside my Apartment Block again he he he he he :D

woohoo free trip to dublin ,After I visit St Micheals Can I go to the Zoo to see the rest of the Animals............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭bradknowell

Personally I only get onto the Dublin people who thnik there isnt anything outside Dublin at all. Most of the Dubalinn people are grand but ya have to extract the urine from time. Ya west brits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

not surprising that war_child's cute little bitch-fit turned into the usual slags about non Dublin people once all the toys had left the pram :p

old gregg wrote: »
    not surprising that war_child's cute little bitch-fit turned into the usual slags about non Dublin people once all the toys had left the pram :p

Waterford first flew the Irish flag and a cork man had to sort Dublin gpo out.

^ Roy Keane is some man :p

God no hes from Cork the only place that tourists will cut our fine land short to avoid ...and he messed up a hugely brilliant team ...if thats your claim to fame id keep ur head up the ole sheeps behind .....Ohhh and tell Baaaaa..rbara i was askin for her lol ...:D

Awwww bitch fit...are ya feeling jealous, coz i know ur normally the bitch round here lmao ....:rolleyes:

490d3b0a_DoubleFacePalm2.jpeg

oh god what a reply .....couldnt even have put 2 words together but instead pictures are the best you can use , i assume u conceed defeat small luke ...lmao

9162-triple-facepalm_f-jpg.5765

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭driver02

Only two types of people in this world Cork people and people who wish they were Cork People

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Ive never seen any Dublin bashing on here? Maybe in After Hours but not here. If anything, Waterford gets more abuse thrown at it from everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭jmcc

cocoshovel wrote: »
    If anything, Waterford gets more abuse thrown at it from everyone else.
    Yes but that's because it has been around longer than anywhere else. :)

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Any chance you could give a few examples of this Dublin-bashing? I ask because I thought you were on a wind-up when you said it in the other thread. I've been a regular user here for quite a while now and have never noticed it so I'd be curious for you to point it out.

nkay1985 wrote: »
    Any chance you could give a few examples of this Dublin-bashing? I ask because I thought you were on a wind-up when you said it in the other thread. I've been a regular user here for quite a while now and have never noticed it so I'd be curious for you to point it out.
    You love everyone though

Sully can you please LOCK this thread before it becomes the very thing i originally commented about , many thanks , Keith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Sully can you please LOCK this thread before it becomes the very thing i originally commented about , many thanks , Keith

I think if you actually put links to where there was Dublin Bashing people might have a bit more sympathy for you, you brought up the issue its up to you to provide evidence of it dont you think.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Topic Closed on request.