Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

calling foxes

• 02-08-2012 7:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30

i'm trying to call foxes with a tenterfield whistle or one made from a pegbut not having any luck, last night i had 2 sat 400yrds away looking but not moving, any suggestions or is there anyone near castlerea, roscommon who can call them who could show me how its done, i'm using a .17hmr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

Is this your first time trying to call foxes or is it just the tenterfield caller your having difficulty with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 wolfsshadow

first time calling, i can get a good loud sound but it cant sound right to them, i don't want to go to the expense of a electronic caller, i'm new to hunting foxes, just rabbits up to now, i've had the rifle about a year and can shoot magpies and head shots on rabbits at 100 to 120 yrds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

Hi wait till the moon has dropped back its to bright atm foxes will seen any movement at distance and with talking and doors closing the will sit down at distance . Dark nights and less movement will give you a better chance of culling them

The best advice that I could give you is that there is no one caller that will work every time. I certainly wouldnt bother spending big money on an electronic caller either but thats just my personal opinion. I call in most of my foxes by using nothing but my hand but I always bring a handful of others as this will not work all of the time. There are other factors aswell to think about like wind direction, the type of light and filters you use too. I have often been calling and a fox would be just sitting there out of my range and I would try a few different ones and he would come charging up to me but in saying that the opposite has happened too. What ever you do dont spook him by going out night after night trying the same call over and over again and obviously never take a shot unless you are 100% sure of a kill or the chances of gettin him again will be more or less zero. Theres a whole load of other possibilities like if someone else was lamping i.e. there is one of my permissions where a group of lads with dogs were in after rabbits and foxes (which I have no problem with) made every fox in the place lamp shy:rolleyes: and also this time of year I find after the hay/silage has been cut they have plenty of food and therefore dont show a huge amount of intrest in you calling. Hope thats of some use to you and best of luck with it.

steyrman2 wrote: »
    Hi wait till the moon has dropped back its to bright atm foxes will seen any movement at distance and with talking and doors closing the will sit down at distance . Dark nights and less movement will give you a better chance of culling them

Ive always prefered moon lit nights myself-Shot one last night with a lad off this and it was like day time out:D. If everything is right and they are hungry enough you ll get a shot at them. They can be called and shot in broad daylight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I think the best fox call by far is the WAM caller, that if I could find mine. Widgeon whistles are goos too. I've just bought a tenterfield bestfoxcall.co.uk stainless steel whistle and can't wait to try it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

I think the best fox call by far is the WAM caller, that if I could find mine. Widgeon whistles are goos too. I've just bought a tenterfield bestfoxcall.co.uk stainless steel whistle and can't wait to try it out.

4200fps has a caller that a magnet for foxs crows Gray backs magpies , I've seen pine Martin and mink coming to it , a Weems replica you'll have to ask him where he got it .

But a couple of members ere have seen it in action

4200fps has a caller that a magnet for foxs crows Gray backs magpies , I've seen pine Martin and mink coming to it , a Weems replica you'll have to ask him where he got it .

But a couple of members ere have seen it in action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

moby30 wrote: »
    steyrman2 wrote: »

Ive always prefered moon lit nights myself-Shot one last night with a lad off this and it was like day time out:D. If everything is right and they are hungry enough you ll get a shot at them. They can be called and shot in broad daylight.
    It was way too bright last night
    That second fox ran before we had the light on him I'd say he seen us with the moonlight
    Was good shot tho il try put up pics later if you want
    Still sick over that rabbit tho

Have you received it yet mine was posted Monday and still nothing

I think it's a good caller for a good windy night when you need something a bit louder. Like every other caller it won't work every time but it's cheap enough and very small so handy to have with you all the time.

i'm going out on my own in the evening while its still light enough to see, the pair i saw last night about 9.15 just sat there for 20 - 30 minutes, didn't seem bothered at all, i'l try tonight with a different call, the wam is like a button whistle isn't it, will have to try it sometime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

The wam is so soft it dents very easy and a small dent changes the sound completly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

i'm trying to call foxes with a tenterfield whistle or one made from a pegbut not having any luck, last night i had 2 sat 400yrds away looking but not moving, any suggestions or is there anyone near castlerea, roscommon who can call them who could show me how its done, i'm using a .17hmr
    I'm working mad hours for next 12 days but after that if you wish TriggerPL and I can go down. I'll get them in more than likely for you and let you pop them off hows that for a deal? I can get them in as close as 15 yards at day time as i did so for guy on this named Invincible. I'll show you anything I can do. A nice damp night will be best. You might only see 2 foxs but i guarantee you there's more than 2 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭good logs...

they could be last years foxs, and they where lamped allready, or may be they where down wind of you....

got my best fox caller uk today , and ive spent the whole day at it since 10 this morning and about 15 mins ago i hit the money , talk about a p r i c k of a thing to master but it sound the part the min you get it . can not wait to see how it goes now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

TriggerPL wrote: »
    got my best fox caller uk today , and ive spent the whole day at it since 10 this morning and about 15 mins ago i hit the money , talk about a p r i c k of a thing to master but it sound the part the min you get it . can not wait to see how it goes now :D
    The trick is the positioning of your tongue on that one... yeah nearly passed out from blowing the thing when i first got it

I found there's about 100 different ways of callin a fox with mouth and different positions of the hand and not all work but ya do stumble upon a decent one that works every now and again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Im happy with my set up but would hate to think there is a better method or call out there.....if u guys have time some night could ye make a few utube video clips of the calls in the field.....

Nearly every field around me (within walking) is in high meadow or have cattle :rolleyes: but im getting itchy for a scalp.......

there's a good amount on ytube but it can still be hard to understand how they do it, the tenterfield type i made does a good loud sound but i think don't sound raspy enough? takes a lot of practice, i do it while driving to try and learn diferent sounds before i go out with it, got a widgeon whistle (same idea as the wam) last week, thats easy to use and effective, but i will be suprised if every fox likes it

This time of year quieter callers be better and louder ones coming into the winter. Most times

Gonna try me mouth tonight but it's bit too brightt and Im not sure if the grass is cut but il be usin the shotty so see what happens
    As I said there's almost 101 ways to call a fox using the mouth but not all work

It's a bit too bright ????
    Have I taught you anything:D:D

Tis abit bright today but any time from 9ish be grand

He shot two at 7 o clock. Probably got another one since. I don't know how many I've shot in broad daylight and fully moonlit nights. There's no such thing as too bright you just use different tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

ive never tried calling them in but i,m trying to master the hand tec, the first fox i shot with the sxs recently was just pot luck he was trotting along minding his own biz and me coming other way round a hedge row:D but i also dont want to go down the electronic route,and want to learn to call em in before i get a rifle of my own as i only have joint use of an other lads .22lr,so il check out youtube as stated here and learn from here also:)