Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Name this weed please!

• 01-08-2012 7:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

p8010422.jpg

What is this weed and what spray will kill it?

Thanks lads

Muckit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭NewBeefFarmer

my bullocks clean a patch of this stuff to the clay. . .

i also have it all over the place. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Atilathehun

Muckit wrote: »
    p8010422.jpg

What is this weed and what spray will kill it?

Thanks lads

Muckit
    Jeez, without that stuff, I'd have nothing at all for the cattle! They are thriving on it in fairness. -:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭The prowler

Im nearly sure its called fools parsley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Finno59

Its buttercup, identifiable by the 3 leaves then 3 segments in each and then 3 tips and then the yellow flower
    Its feckin everywhere around here, very aggressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Thats butercup. MCPA will kill it but best thing is get lime out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

Thats butercup. MCPA will kill it but best thing is get lime out

Creeping buttercup alright. It's everywhere down here. I sprayed a paddock with agronone 50. I think thats how ya spell it. Anyway. I applied heavier than the recommended rate. Didn't knock a stir out them. Checked them for a few days that's all.

It takes up allot of ground. You should try running over it with a subsoiler and apply lime and potash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

As said the lime should sort it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 cloverleaf

creeping buttercup it is , spreads like mad by runners , loves wet compacted soil and survives drought (hardly this summer!!), doesnt mind being compacted so often seen on paths etc ... can point to a potassium deficiency in the soil. this is from my horticultulist view point. im also told that it is mildly poisonous to animals and usually avoided by livestock , they may get diarrhoea from it ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Thanks lads for your help. It has no flowers, so that's why i didn't know if it was buttercup or not. Don't know when I'm going to be able to spray for it with the weather the way it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Hi Muckit

I have the same problem and I sprayed a good lot of it with mcpa. It killed it but its back in other fields this year.

Feck all chance of spraying it this year.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72258009

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

cloverleaf wrote: »
    . im also told that it is mildly poisonous to animals and usually avoided by livestock , they may get diarrhoea from it ...

my bullocks clean a patch of this stuff to the clay. . .

i also have it all over the place. .

No need for the vet afterall:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Hi all
    This is good at creeping buttercup.

http://www.headland-ag.co.uk/product-display.asp?id=113&t=label

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭FixItAginTomora

http://www.dowagro.com/ie/products/prod/forefront.htm
    Forefront is only thing that worked for me, feckin things have taken over 2 of my re-seeds. They got lime! Tried mortone and "hi-grass" no effect. This was all that worked nd kills off thistels nd docks.