Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Studying part time while working, How do/did you find it ?

Options
  • 01-08-2012 1:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭

Hi There,

I am wandering if i could get a bit of advise about doing part time studying while working. As i hop to do this next college year.

Is it hard to Juggle from any ones own experience?

Is it more expensive then full time?

Id really appreciate any opinions thank you :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

I studied part time while working full time for 3 years, it was the only way I could afford my courses. Part time study does cost more than full time study in a lot of cases but it'll depend on where and what you're studying tbh.
    I worked a flexible job where I wrote the roster so work never interfered for me but I've known people who've had problems getting time off for study, getting out of work ontime to make it into class and so on.
    I found it grand juggling work and study but at exam times it got a little stressful. I ended up using holiday days for time off a few times.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,963 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

Not had any problems with it - though I'm only on to L2 modules and not L3 ones which have written exams yet.

I have occasional trips away for work in hotels which is when I get most assignments written, though.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I think it can be hard, but it depends on a number of factors.