Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smackdown results & GM revealed (spoilers)

• 01-08-2012 1:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭

Smackdown is currently in process which is why I didn't say it was the actual spoilers. This was the opener:
    SmackDown opens with the Chairman of the Board Vince McMahon, who announces that the new GM of SmackDown is a man who will call it down the middle... Booker T! Booker comes out to a nice pop. Alberto Del Rio comes out and starts talking. Out comes Sheamus, who tells Del Rio that he's happy about his upbringing and that he's not a rich punk like Del Rio. Booker tells Sheamus and Del Rio that they have single matches tonight before being stopped by Del Rio, who says he will not wrestle until SummerSlam. Booker tells Del Rio that he's the new boss and tonight he faces Randy Orton. Booker then tells Sheamus that he will face his opponent right now and it's Tensai.

Underwhelming to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Underwhelming to say the least.

Ooooh my goodness, you gotta love it, awwww here it goes. Now what will teddy long do besides wandering around like a stray old tomcat? Who will flirt with Divas? Who will book da Tag Team Matches? Who will throw the BBQ parties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,799 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Should have been Eve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Is he still going to do commentary?

Was hoping for Nash or Edge as GM,bollocks anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Teddy Long is his assistant. He turned down Eve. Feckin gobshite :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I actually thought they might do this as a way to gently move him out of the commentary booth. Personally I like Booker on commentary but he's not everyone's cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

I won't judge yet because he may actually be quite entertaining in the role, but I also thought it should have been Eve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Charisteas wrote: »
    I won't judge yet because he may actually be quite entertaining in the role, but I also thought it should have been Eve.

Agreed. It should have been eve. A rivalry should have developed with aj leading to a match at survivor series and the aftermath being both got fired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

cue Booker tweening/heel turn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

I am actually happy with this. Didn't want eve (as hot as she is) and tbh I am sort of fed up with Teddy "tag team match playa" long!

Long Live Booker.....aaaawwww ya gotta love it!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Eve is better used as a heel diva going around messing with people's heads like her speech to Punk the other week.

booker could be good as GM, but I will miss him on commentary. It make smackdown fun and even though he came out with terrible lines he at least tried to put guys over. He always talks up Cody's abillities or stuck up for his boy D Bryan when Cole was ripping on him all the time. He also came out with some classic lines (to balance out the terrible ones) and seemed the commentary team had good fun as a group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Was hoping for Heyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Source
    Vince McMahon kicks off this week's show to a big pop and talks about the new General Manager. He introduces Booker T to a decent reaction.

Alberto Del Rio interrupts things which brings out Sheamus. Booker has Sheamus and Del Rio booked in separate matches tonight. Del Rio protests and says he's not wrestling until SummerSlam. Booker announces Del Rio vs. Randy Orton and Sheamus vs. Tensai, which is up first.

Sheamus defeated Tensai.

Backstage segment with Eve Torres. She wants a job with Booker T. Instead, Booker hires Teddy Long as his Senior Adviser.

Antonio Cesaro defeated United States Champion Santino Marella in a non-title match. Cesaro wants a title shot.

Backstage interview with Daniel Bryan and Matt Striker. Bryan is wearing a "no, no, no" t-shirt. He wants the fans to stop saying yes but they do anyway.

Daniel Bryan, Dolph Ziggler and The Miz beat Kane, Christian and Chris Jericho.

Striker is backstage with Randy Orton. Orton says he's going to defeat Del Rio later tonight.

Ryback beat Jinder Mahal by DQ when Jinder hit him with a microphone.

Darren Young beat R-Truth. AW was mic'd up at ringside.

Backstage segment with Layla and Booker T. Cody Rhodes comes up and Booker makes Cody vs. Sin Cara next week.

Randy Orton beat Alberto Del Rio by DQ in the main event. Sheamus attacked Del Rio after the match and Orton laid Del Rio out with a RKO.

Orton back main eventing and WHC champion Sheamus match opening the show :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

If it gets him out of the commentary booth that can only be a good thing. Would love to see Regal drafted in as his replacement.

Orton vs Del Rio. In a battle to see who is more boring wwe put their blandest babyface up against their most nondescript heel, who wins certainly not the audience

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

*Oh hey, Booker as GM? Thats fun and new.....out wait, his first action is to make a ONE ON ONE MATCH....WITH RANDAH ORTUN!*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

I would have loved EVE as GM (Silver lining to this cloud is that Booker is off of commentary!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Awwwwwwwwwww........Shucky Ducky Quack QUACK. Ya gotta love it!

Looking forward to this, although I'll miss him from the commentary booth. Loved his arguments with Michael Cole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Would have preferred someone like William Regal as GM. Will be interested to see where they take this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Was really hoping Randy would come back as a heel,two years of him as a bland babyface has been enough!

At least then we could've had Sheamus vs Orton at Summerslam instead of Sheamus vs Del Boro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Booker is a good choice, IMO.
    Over with the fans, hasn't been shoved down our throats in the last few months and is someone new to the role. Looking forward to see how he does.

Good mic work by Sheamus at the start. Also loved the interaction between Bryan and the fans after he won the 6-man tag match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I just watched that match. Daniel Bryan is really the main reason I keep tuning in. Are they turning No into his thing now so that Yes can hold more weight if he ever turns face perhaps?

Good mic work by Sheamus at the start. Also loved the interaction between Bryan and the fans after he won the 6-man tag match.

Arrrr matey, how did ye watch ye olde Smackdown before it airs on thee television-box?!

The international release (45 minutes) is put on YouTube on Thursday usually - thats the one I watched. The full show is up now. It comes from broadcasts in other countries.

I hope you aren't insinuating with your use of language that I'm a pirate. :D

The international release (45 minutes) is put on YouTube the day before usually - thats the one I watched. The full show is up now. It comes from broadcasts in other countries.

I hope you aren't insinuating with your use of language that I'm a pirate. :D

Arrr of course not!

Is that the Australian edit? As in pretty much the same broadcast but just without all the live-event ticket details?

Arrr of course not!

Is that the Australian edit? As in pretty much the same broadcast but just without all the live-event ticket details?

I'm not sure where the Interational version comes from - but I think Australia is the first to broadcast Smackdown so probably there. There is a few things missing; the first wrestler's entrance for each match; the backstage segment with Eve/Booker T; Orton's interview; and Ryback's match. Actually if you are one of those people more interested in in-ring action then it's probably worth just watching the International version.

With an hour extra hour of raw to watch, I think I'll continue watching the International versions of Smackdown to balance it out. The full release is about 80 minutes so it cuts out almost half of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

I know it is Smackdown and it is a bank holiday weekend but no praise for this?

2iavj4k.jpg

2n1gm0x.jpg

zxu335.jpg

Their match on Raw a few weeks back was great too. Loved the physicality. Thank god for Sheamus otherwise Tensai would be still waiting for a great match.
    Orton vs ADR was as dull as I suspected it would be.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Took me ages to watch Smackdown as I was watching the olympics. The opening match was very good.

6 man tag was good and D Bryan was great as usual.

not sure what the whole Ryback v Mahal thing is about. I imagine Ryback is going to brutalise Mahal at some point soon.

Cesaro for US champ.

I can't really remember the rest (was there more) and I didn't even bother with the main event :$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,560 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I think the Ryback/Mahal thing is probably more to keep Ryback in a holding pattern until they figure out what to do with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Hopefully they figure out to test his urine by tonight so we don't have to watch the same match.