Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new cattle crush....gate end

• 31-07-2012 2:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭

crush against a wall..... ould man wants the skulling gate on the right as you look at it but i think the pen layout better suits the gate on the other end......his reasoning is that he is left handed.... what is the usual or does it really matter? :confused:

cheers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Put the gate at the end of the wall. That way, you can work from both sides. You will need to when skulling cattle anyway. You won't be skinning knuckles either off the far wall when dosing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Put the gate at the end that facilitates the easiest/safest passage of cattle and that suits the yard layout. The crush will be used to handle cattle more often as a crush than to handle each beast with the gate I would think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

If you have room, extend the crush a metre or so past the end of the wall and then position your crush gate. then you can get at their head & neck on both sides. Also handy if you have a lame front foot on the wall side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

For a right handed person prefer it on right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

need to put up another crush and im wondering will the semi automatic gate remain in open position by itself, reason i ask is i want to make loading a one-man job i.e up the chute and straight into trailer, normal E150 stand headgate may be better? What ye think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Bodacious wrote: »
    need to put up another crush and im wondering will the semi automatic gate remain in open position by itself, reason i ask is i want to make loading a one-man job i.e up the chute and straight into trailer, normal E150 stand headgate may be better? What ye think?

The stupid semi automatic we bought a couple of years ago won't stay open, some pain

But I have seen them where they do stay open, haven't been able to find out how to do it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

Good loser wrote: »
    For a right handed person prefer it on right.
    That is the way i have it done,just worked out that way,I put a rubber mat against the wall,spares the knuckles!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭nhg

We put up a new crush a few weeks ago (started off a handy job, ended up a big job but glad we did it as very happy with how it all works together), we used a nugent universal gate & head scoop, works a treat. It will stay open fully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Had a similar probelm with ours so opened the gate fully and drilled a hole through the hinged bar. When i need it open all the time i pull open the gate and put a pin through it. Left the hole as high as i could so that it does get caught by any of the cattle. I hang the pin off the side of the gate so that it is there all the time. When i pull the pin out the gate will close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

Put in a new semi auto gate 2 years ago and so sorry I didn't go with old style gate ....having trouble with cattle not going forward enough to make the gate lock end up trying push in place by hand and not put the cow into reverse at same time......total balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

Same problems as above with Fully auto, especially with weanlings its a total pain, won't catch there shoulders so they walk through, if you tighten it in its too tight on there necks, pity i didn't see anyone bad mouthing them before i purchased i would have saved myself a few quid
    Also them not staying open is a curse, i was going to put a chain and hook that you just hook it onto to hold it open, maybe the pin idea is an option
    I actually was thinging a semi would have been better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

same problems here with the semi auto gate, was sold to be as the bees knees, but not too happy with it.
    I think my run is a too short aswell as I was stuck for space in the shed.

That said its very awkward trying to get an animals head into it properly.

I suppose with sucklers they're not used to be being in them so always makes it more difficult

nhg wrote: »
    We put up a new crush a few weeks ago (started off a handy job, ended up a big job but glad we did it as very happy with how it all works together), we used a nugent universal gate & head scoop, works a treat. It will stay open fully.

Wow great job nhg

I thought i was looking at a mart or something

How much was the gate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Jeez why didn't you do a proper job on it? That's some kiss me arse mess you've created there:D.

Very professional looking. Probably pay for itself in time saved in a couple of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

So will the semi automatic stay open for me to load straight out of the chute ? e300 ? I had it in my head today that the standard gate... Is E150, haven't tried any of the coops but builders yard there telling me e259, sounds expensive ??!!

Nice job ,well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

So will the semi automatic stay open for me to load straight out of the chute ? e300 ? I had it in my head today that the standard gate... Is E150, haven't tried any of the coops but builders yard there telling me e259, sounds expensive ??!!
    Semi auto gate wont stay open for u its ment to close after each animal.......I paid circ. 250 for semi gate ....traditional gate I think was around 180

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

I put a chain on the end of the handle and put a hook back off that to keep the semi auto open. Its not ideal but works. only put it in last year and will be replacing it again at the end of the year. i found with any of the gates for small weanlings its best to close them off completly and hop in with them and get the shins kicked and knuckles burst, but the pain doesnt last that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

1chippy wrote: »
    I put a chain on the end of the handle and put a hook back off that to keep the semi auto open. Its not ideal but works. only put it in last year and will be replacing it again at the end of the year. i found with any of the gates for small weanlings its best to close them off completly and hop in with them and get the shins kicked and knuckles burst, but the pain doesnt last that long.

i find a good trick with weanlings is to put those strong pallets into the shute to make it narrower, stops them from turning and and trying to get out between the bars. turn the pallet so that the timbers are vertical it stops them using it as a ladder to climb up. Also the uncle has a piece of scaffoldign pole he clamps the crush gate to make it narrow enough to hold the weanling (takes it off for teh bigger animals)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

I put a Nugent auto gate on the end of the crush 2 years ago. It stays open no problem, allowing you empty the crush and the cattle a straight run out. You might need to adjust the threaded bar/locknuts up at the top of the gate, as there seems to be a problem with your gate. Mack in Cavan.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Looks good nhg, can you stick up a few more photos of the head scoop from different angles, up and down? Is the heavy bar on top of the scoop just for support?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Wow great job nhg

I thought i was looking at a mart or something

How much was the gate?

The Nugent Universal Crush Gate was €600 & the Nugent Head Scoop was €800 (inc vat which can be reclaimed as fixed items)

Head Scoop was brilliant when dosing & giving the bolus.

Anti backing bar would be a good item too - next on the agenda.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Looks good nhg, can you stick up a few more photos of the head scoop from different angles, up and down? Is the heavy bar on top of the scoop just for support?

Front view

Sorry couldn't get them on same post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Tipp Man wrote: »
    The stupid semi automatic we bought a couple of years ago won't stay open, some pain

its one of these types?: http://www.odonovaneng.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/Crush-Equipment-Head-Gate-with-dimensions.JPG

I had the same problem with mine, well mine was not designed at all to stay opened. But I fixed that by drilling a 10mm hole up the top near the handle, and put a 10mm bolt and nut in that can be pushed in when you open the gate out and it catches on the gate to hold it open. Saves a massive amount of grief, the cows never trust you to go through the gate if you are holding it open as they expect you to slam it shut! Can get a photo if ya want.

Timmaay wrote: »
    its one of these types?: http://www.odonovaneng.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/Crush-Equipment-Head-Gate-with-dimensions.JPG

I had the same problem with mine, well mine was not designed at all to stay opened. But I fixed that by drilling a 10mm hole up the top near the handle, and put a 10mm bolt and nut in that can be pushed in when you open the gate out and it catches on the gate to hold it open. Saves a massive amount of grief, the cows never trust you to go through the gate if you are holding it open as they expect you to slam it shut! Can get a photo if ya want.

Yeah same design - it's not O'Donovan though - think it Nugent

Would you mind putting up a photo? would be much appreciated

Front view

How do you find that head scoop to work with??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

I'm in the market for a new head locking gate and wondered if anyone has a morris head yoke. I remember thinking they were good a few years ago when i was in testing cattle through the country but never really studied them in detail. The nugent looks like a good job too. Would be for pedigree limos and the bulls so fairly large cattle and handling fairly regularly.

Just an update on the head scoop, I cannot recommend Nugent Engineering enough, first had problems with the brackets attaching the head scoop to the head gate, straight away they sent out new brackets, then we had a problem with the scoop itself as in 'it twisted in itself' down where the plastic insert for holding the animals head is. I emailed them in photos to show the problem and straight away they came back to me and told me that they had sourced the head scoop from another manufacturer but were now manufacturing there own and would replace it with there own one - true to there word a complete new head scoop was delivered earlier in the week and we fitted it this morning - it seems to be a much better & stronger job and a nicer colour too :-)))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Timmaay wrote: »

Great idea! must copy that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

Just an update on the head scoop, I cannot recommend Nugent Engineering enough, first had problems with the brackets attaching the head scoop to the head gate, straight away they sent out new brackets, then we had a problem with the scoop itself as in 'it twisted in itself' down where the plastic insert for holding the animals head is. I emailed them in photos to show the problem and straight away they came back to me and told me that they had sourced the head scoop from another manufacturer but were now manufacturing there own and would replace it with there own one - true to there word a complete new head scoop was delivered earlier in the week and we fitted it this morning - it seems to be a much better & stronger job and a nicer colour too :-)))
    I've great time for Nugent stuff, but Jaysus that scoop is pricey, was quoted €565 inc vat by Dunnes in Killavullen...saucy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Carrigogunnell

mine would not stay open either did all the adjustments I could so took out the spring stays open perfect not ideal maybe but not handling to many crazy cattle. I once tried a lighter spring it worked bar wrong size and tended to fall off wen it banged shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Tornbrook

super setup, looks like a time saver and very safe .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭White Clover

I have an O Donovan semi auto gate. Stays fully open no problem