Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kennel Problem

• 31-07-2012 2:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 44

Hi, i recently bought a new pup and i'm having trouble with my older dog letting the pup into the kennel with him, and by the kennel i mean the actual dog house. The day i got him the older dog was fine with him, and they both went into the kennel together, but then later on the older dog snapped at the pup because the pup was messing around with him. Unfortunately, he was bitten inside the kennel and he won't go in there at all now. I got a small box for him and put a water proof roof on it for him, and he has no trouble going into it but it won't be permanent because it will be too small for him in a couple of weeks( it was originally made for a yorkshire terrier). Does anyone have any solutions to this problem, or is just easier to get another dog kennel?

By the way, both are ess, and the older dog is 3yo and is quiet, gentle dog. the pup is 10 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Mallard123 wrote: »
    Hi, i recently bought a new pup and i'm having trouble with my older dog letting the pup into the kennel with him, and by the kennel i mean the actual dog house. The day i got him the older dog was fine with him, and they both went into the kennel together, but then later on the older dog snapped at the pup because the pup was messing around with him. Unfortunately, he was bitten inside the kennel and he won't go in there at all now. I got a small box for him and put a water proof roof on it for him, and he has no trouble going into it but it won't be permanent because it will be too small for him in a couple of weeks( it was originally made for a yorkshire terrier). Does anyone have any solutions to this problem, or is just easier to get another dog kennel?

By the way, both are ess, and the older dog is 3yo and is quiet, gentle dog. the pup is 10 weeks.

Separate houses. Job done.
    Dogs like people like their own space sometimes. Others enjoy the company all the time.
    My springer is his own man & not a fan of the other 2 in his personal space let alone his box. I even feed in separate houses. Avoids a lot of agro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

I watched the same issue happen recently and the owner (very expert with dogs) said when the puppy gets cold, he'll go in to the kennel and the bigger dog will happy for the little heater!
    3 days later, both dogs happy in the kennel together.
    Older dog was 6 puppy was 7 weeks. Both springers.
    Dogs will enjoy being catered too as much as children, it's up to you how much you want to give!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭cubbyleader

I watched the same issue happen recently and the owner (very expert with dogs) said when the puppy gets cold, he'll go in to the kennel and the bigger dog will happy for the little heater!
    3 days later, both dogs happy in the kennel together.
    Older dog was 6 puppy was 7 weeks. Both springers.
    Dogs will enjoy being catered too as much as children, it's up to you how much you want to give!
    I have to disagree with you on that one I have four dogs in one kennel the youngest is 9 month old Springer and shell sit outside in the rain all night if I don't lock them in

I'm no expert - but I wonder if the fact that you do 'give-in' and lock them in, means it is just a waiting game between you and dogs?
    Like I said, it did take three days of the puppy being outside - but it did venture in on the first chilly evening recently!

Like I said, I am not an expert and I am sure you know your dogs and their behaviour way better than a random poster on boards.ie

I'm no expert either this is the first dog I've trained but I have looked after our dogs for a few years and as far as I can tell its the pointer and setter that don't like the pup and she's slept outside on raining night's before and I don't want too let her do it again

I think you've enough on your hands without battling the dogs living situations. When I lock them in I try & focus on other aspects of my life. When they're out they get 100%. Prevention is often best & beating a dog in a battle of wits in it's own home is no fun for either of party. Best let them sort it out & they often end up sharing as mentioned unless theres aggression to the point of damage but I have also seen dogs sit in the rain for the same reason so A 2nd house is quickest solution as the aggressor can't be in 2 places at once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

our job is to keep our dogs happy especially pups and if it means another box then so be it if the pup grows and they work it out thats great but to get the best out of your pup and help em develope mentally keep em happy life is hard enough on the critter without having to deal with that to be honest unless im really stuck i wont even keep them in the same run let alone the same box

If I had my way the pointer and setter would get a bullet between the eyes but there not mine so that's not an option so I'll have to keep locking them in and hope for the best

Some really good point being made. I would point out that dogs are by nature, pack animals. Keeping them in seperate runs and so on, might lead to insulor behaviour.
    I'd agree with Epointer, let them sort it out, they will. They are smart and it is in their nature to look after the pack. The puppy will just have to learn it's place, and then you should end up with a well rounded dog.
    I've yet to see it result poorly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

agree, was talking about pupies and bonding with them and making them feel confident and relaxed i think not always of coarse but in general its better to keep them seperate from the older dogs for a while and sometimes permanent so you become the centre of there world and not the other dogs every one is different and so is every situation my dogs are family pets also so i need to give myself every advantage works for me in saying that i used to keep terriers and lurchers always in the same run and like ye say they just sort it out themselves but i think i need to be more careful with gundogs

I'm with snipe02 I did have my pup in a separate kennel but it was only temporary and since she went in with the older dogs her interest in me has dropped a bit

Yep, you're all right! It depends on what you want from the dog as to how you feel the best treatment for it is.
    Guess it is good to see some new ideas and hear others opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

at the minute i have six dogs. they all sleep in an eight by four foot purpose built kennel. anytime i have brought home a new pup or if i'm minding a dog for a friend they all get put into the yard together and they all sleep in the kennel. never any trouble apart from the odd squabble here or there. when it comes to feeding, every dog has its own spot, if there's a new dog then the feeds are supervised until they know what the story is.

i'm not saying that this setup is for everyone but it works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

+1 as already stated let them sort it out themselves, like there ancesters the wolves everyone knows there place in the pack,ive only the two dogs(for now;)) a wee terrier which is a pet and the springer,both are bitchs the terrier is sprayed and the aulder of the 2 she being the alpha female they sleep in the same box and get a long fine,had the usaul craic when i first brought springer home ,but most importantly they both know i am the boss:cool:;) sayin that the missus thinks otherwise:o:Dlol

How many bitches did u say? :D;):p
    I joke I joke!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

Hi lads, seen as we are on kennel trouble, I've waited a while for a good springer, got one from a man I know bred great dogs, anyway I've taken him home got him out in the field to see what he was like , dog did everything perfect , headed home happy out with myself that I now have a good springer in my yard, anyway he proceeded to break out of the pen that nite, spent followin Mornin lookin for him, put him back in mended the wire he got out by but he then spent that nite howling all nite, now the man I got him from says he never did it and I can bring him back no problem if it continues. I don't wAnt to cos he is a good one but what should I do? Is it just a settling in thing? Should I leave him out of the pen to get to know the yard for a few days mabey?

Stonehall9 wrote: »
    Hi lads, seen as we are on kennel trouble, I've waited a while for a good springer, got one from a man I know bred great dogs, anyway I've taken him home got him out in the field to see what he was like , dog did everything perfect , headed home happy out with myself that I now have a good springer in my yard, anyway he proceeded to break out of the pen that nite, spent followin Mornin lookin for him, put him back in mended the wire he got out by but he then spent that nite howling all nite, now the man I got him from says he never did it and I can bring him back no problem if it continues. I don't wAnt to cos he is a good one but what should I do? Is it just a settling in thing? Should I leave him out of the pen to get to know the yard for a few days mabey?

How many nights of this has gone on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

I got him Saturday and he broke out that nite, howled Sunday and Monday nite, now there is a possibility that a fox could have crossed the yard! But I had him out yesterday evening to fire a few shots at a few pigeons and when he came home I put him in the pen and he started it again!! So I locked him into his box last nite and he didn't howl at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thelurcher

Depends on the breed obviously. I'm not that familiar with gun dogs but with proper working bred terriers I'd be inclined to keep them separate - same goes for some of the more popular lurcher crosses at the moment.

Even the biggest slob in the yard has its limits - then the rest pile on so it's never worth mixing them unless you're actually there yourself to hear any trouble that kicks off.