Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf Money

• 31-07-2012 2:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭

Lads

Just a question, how much do you spend on your golf? Im not just talking about your membership, I am talking about your full outlay. I joined a club this year after playing casually for a long time. And I have spent a fair few bob since April when I joined.

Clubs and Bag I bought last year for a total of 650. Have had my putter for a long time. Other half bought me a new nike 5w for 200 last Christmas.

This year I have spent 500 on membership( May to end of year), 350 on a powakaddy, 60 on shoes, 50 on balls, 200 on tops/caps/umbrellas - 60 on competition fees and god knows what spent in the clubhouse on after round drinks and food.

Im sure I am on the moderate side especially with my membership being relatively low, but what would you spend?????

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

once you buy all the gear that the biggest outlay - i've built my bag over time so hard calculate it.

I don't think i want to add it up either!! (just in case herself ever reads this!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

funny you brought this up...i just looked through my receipts today..so far this year i've spent..€649 on new irons,€300 on Driver & 3 wood,€100 on a putter,€205 on membership. €90 on a wedge! €150 on a powakaddy trolley,€50 on shoes and €60 on a jigger!
    Grand Total: €1604. (ouch)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Christ, this is worse than thinking about Davy Crockets!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,516 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Lads, you're looking at this the wrong way around!

How much does Golf save you each year?

All figures are estimates, please feel free to increase these figures until you reach a high enough figure to justify beyond any doubt.

1. Quiet nights in before a round 40 * €75 = €3,000
    2. The risk of another addiction replacing golf is hard to quantify but I reckon
    Drug/Gambling/Other Addiction at €100 a week is €5,200
    3. The opportunity cost of not playing golf at a work event that could result in a new job/bonus/increase(or save a decrease) in salary estimated at €3,000

Please feel free to offer any other cost savings that we all benefit from :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

Looking at all your gear and accumulating the costs is a mind****. Thankfully most of my closest know if they are buying me anything golf is an easy option. I got my bag, irons and a lot of clothing for Christmas and birthday. Once you are all set up and then you are picking up bits from comps here and there its not all that costly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Could be worse. There are lots of people out there thatgive 1000's a year to paddy power or Louis Fitzgerald

I'd say golf works costs me about 80 euro a week. That's my membership, an open or two(or 3)

Don't smoke and drink very little. All in all it's cheaper than a night out once a week. A night at the cinema with herself and a bite to eat would not be far off it so I'm not worried what I'm spending as its a great hobby to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

In fairness, you can play a very good quality course now for around 30 euros. There's not many activities (legal ones) that will keep you interested for 4-5 hours that you can get for that sort of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

My clubs and bag set me back about €350
    I'm spending 2k a year on Golf Balls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 leedslunatic

Started taking the game seriously this year...
    New bag... 149e
    New Irons... 400e
    New Woods, 3w & 5w... 400e
    New Driver...249e

But Jesus the amount I'm spending on golf balls is shocking! :D
    On more than one occasion this year, during a round I've looked at my bag and thought to myself... what was I thinking!?! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Arsenium

New irons 749. Golf bag a present from herself and the kids, 200. Gloves, towels, hat - 100. Balls, probably 80 so far. Open comps, around 100. Just treats offers 80. 1 x regular green fee (non open) 25.
    And 4 x society outings at 50 a pop (to include dinner and golf).
    Oh and 600 membership.

Jeeze I'm afraid to total that up...........is it 2854??? Good Lord. Thankfully the bag and the irons wont be changed for few years so that expense wont come up next year.

I wish I hadnt done this now.... :-)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

And to think I give out to my wife for excessive shopping.

Think i'll close this thread before anyone else gets depressed adding up how much we spend on golf!!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

This year not much.

Membership - €350 (Intermediate for one more year)
    Balls - €70
    Gloves - €25
    Opens / Comps / Green fees - €150

Without buying any equipment it adds up! I assembled my bag quite cheaply, everything on special offer other than my irons which are 10 years old. Bag €140, Driver €99, Woods €120, Gap Wedge €60 and putter €99. I think my irons were £400.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

nobody has yet mentioned what they spend on lessons:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Tomhoganie

I still have a couple more purchases left to make this year including, but not limited to:

New Putter
    A Gap/Lob Wedge depending on what suits me best
    New Rain Gear
    Umbrella attachment for my Powakaddy

That could run at least another 500 yoyos......:(:(:(:(:(:(