Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

insurance scam

• 29-07-2012 9:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭

Hi guys i was hit by a driver she reversed into me and said i hit her i suffer from panic attaks so my nerves set in with her laughing nd screaming shes goin take me for everything i got since im fully comp
    there wasnt a dent on my car and she was claiming neck and back injuries
    i told insurance company she reversed into me they didnt believe it said gards who just gave me a card didnt notice i was a provisional as well wud that hav summat to do with it anyway last year they paid her wait for it 20 grand im payin tru the roof because of her lies is there sunthing i can do lik appeal r summat
    thanks x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Tbh it's abit late now, and as you said being on a lerner permit doesn't help your case.

All that could have helped you is some form of recording device or a good third party witness but that wouldn't be much good at this stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

That's crappy, but I don't think there's much you can do now.

It happened to a friend of mine, only the garda witnessed it. So the woman never got her claim.

CCTV would have been an option at the time too possibly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭kulareggae

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    CCTV would have been an option at the time too possibly

Thanks guys yh she wudnt let anyone be a witness even tho i know owner of shop i was outside i guess u live nd learn my renewal is coming up tho il get my claims bonus so hopefully it wont b so bad

She can't stop anyone being a witness, take their number and contact them later if she is being aggressive, sounds like she rode roughshod over you as you are probably a nice quiet person, i would have had her inside her car with it locked with a look :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

kulareggae wrote: »
    Thanks guys yh she wudnt let anyone be a witness even tho i know owner of shop i was outside i guess u live nd learn my renewal is coming up tho il get my claims bonus so hopefully it wont b so bad
    she probably took advantage of the fact nobody would be able to understand anything you wrote down about the incident as well. Sorry for your trouble, good luck with the renewal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

That's shocking.. Some assholes out there.

Pottler wrote: »
    she probably took advantage of the fact nobody would be able to understand anything you wrote down about the incident as well. Sorry for your trouble, good luck with the renewal.

Put down that Pinot grigio and play nice now your elequoentness :pac:

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Put down that Pinot grigio and play nice now your elequoentness :pac:
    :DI was being nice, I wished him luck and everything! On another note, this happened to my neighbour^. He apologised profusely and when time came to part, he overtook the scammer and slammed on the brakes. The scammer rear-ended him heavily and voila! The auld tables were turned. Best still, that's 100% true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I was reversed into in a car park, in such cases its 100% the one who reversed fault. I was a learner driver at the time which makes no difference. you should have taken photos on your phone and rang her insurance company and explained the situation, thats what I did. I told my insurance company just to tell them what happened and they sent my a load of forms to fill out, the other insurer sent out an assessor and within a week I had a cheque for 2k. Rang my insurance company back and told them everything's sorted now thanks and didnt send back the forms.

just my experience in similar situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Bad luck OP, f*ing scum. Report it to the Guards as insurance fraud and sign a statement of your version of events. This will really slow down the process as there is now probable cause

For all others out there, buy a €30 chinese dash cam, worth every cent.

mullingar wrote: »
    Bad luck OP, f*ing scum. Report it to the Guards as insurance fraud and sign a statement of your version of events. This will really slow down the process as there is now probable cause

yup deffo lookin on ebay and thanks guys :) feel a lot better now goin deffo take a trip down cop shop x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

note to self...if someone does this to me, Im gonna tell em I have no Insurance and the disc is a fake....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

kulareggae wrote: »
    is there sunthing i can do lik appeal r summat
    thanks x

You could always get some english lessons... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

What is with all the 'text speak' posts today? I'm hungover and they're hurting my brain :(

bbam wrote: »

posting from my phone embaressing sorry x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

corktina wrote: »
    note to self...if someone does this to me, Im gonna tell em I have no Insurance and the disc is a fake....

Not that I'd advocate anyone else do this, but if someone does this to me and there's no witnesses, I'm gonna chin them and say it was self defence after they came out of their car screaming like a mad person and running at me when I accidentally hit them from behind.

Take the insurance hit and remember the good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

bbam wrote: »

That would be English lessons I imagine? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭September1

It is possible to find out truth, as damages are slightly different in both cases - usually that would require high qualified expert in field of accidents to find out what happened and I have no idea if there are such in Ireland. For example damage to bulbs is slightly different depending on if they were on or off during crash, it supposedly visible clearly with microscope.

September1 wrote: »
    It is possible to find out truth, as damages are slightly different in both cases - usually that would require high qualified expert in field of accidents to find out what happened and I have no idea if there are such in Ireland. For example damage to bulbs is slightly different depending on if they were on or off during crash, it supposedly visible clearly with microscope.

What about chassis damage at barely 1km a hr ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

Linky....?

Linky....?
    No, Winky, they're a great dash cam, only €29.99, buy one, get one free. Borgain. Them Wonky ones are very poor though, especially on the bumpy sections.