Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCT in 2.5 hours, handbrake cable snapped! Bring it down or not?

• 29-07-2012 11:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

Argh. Car due in for it's first NCT under my ownership, and has been impeccably well looked after, any knock, whir or whine investigated and sorted, oil every 6 months. Pulled the handbrake to have a look at the underbody before NCT, make sure it's oil-free, and the car didn't brake, but the handle did pull all the way back with little or no resistance. Foot brake works fine, so it's one of the 3 cables or the rear drums in all likelyhood.

Too late to get it sorted now, but my mechanic has said bring it down anyway, rather than cancel. Will they test the other issues? Or will they take one look and declare it unsafe? Will I have to call for a lift from Her Indoors?

Any experience with this sort of thing? Couldn't find a list of 'unsafe' problems, but this sounds like one. Advice urgently required.

Should I bring it in for NCT anyway? 20 votes

Bring it down, find out all the things that are wrong
    0%
    Hang on to it or you'll be getting it towed expensively to a garage
    100%
    walsheJuan PabloSeanWcolm_mcmcoolmoosegoz83daingeanrobmartyc5674bijaposPaddysnapperbally2009PatL23SchorpiodgtWhere ToRiseToMeGeorge Daltonsawfishwendell bortonJammy Donut 20 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

wont they charge you anyway at this stage so probably as well to see if theres any other issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭jsd1004

Argh. Car due in for it's first NCT under my ownership, and has been impeccably well looked after, any knock, whir or whine investigated and sorted, oil every 6 months. Pulled the handbrake to have a look at the underbody before NCT, make sure it's oil-free, and the car didn't brake, but the handle did pull all the way back with little or no resistance. Foot brake works fine, so it's one of the 3 cables or the rear drums in all likelyhood.

Too late to get it sorted now, but my mechanic has said bring it down anyway, rather than cancel. Will they test the other issues? Or will they take one look and declare it unsafe? Will I have to call for a lift from Her Indoors?

Any experience with this sort of thing? Couldn't find a list of 'unsafe' problems, but this sounds like one. Advise urgently required.

Bring in down definitely. They will check it over and flag any other issues. Then you are sorted and 28euro will cover you for the retest. A general rule would be to do zero work on a car before the test and let them tell you what they would like done for the retest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭martyc5674

Ring them NOW and see if they can reschedule. Tell them what happened.
    If they won't I'd bring it down anyways in case there's other issues.

I wouldn't call a car with a broken handbrake unsafe to drive, park it in first gear....

Get under it anyway might be an easy fix... May not be cables either could be a collapsed adjuster in a hub.

Disks or hubs on the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭case_sensitive

Thanks a mill for the quick responses.

Tending towards bringing it down, I did try calling them, but the lines are only manned mon - fri.
    I'm going to go down early and try and sneakily ask someone there what would be the likely outcome, and sneak off if they'll planning on holding on to it.

Dream scenario is that they do a full test on it, I have the list to work with and I get a retest quickly and we're good for another year.

It's discs up front and drums in the rear (2001 Ford Puma - essentially a MK4 Fiesta).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

If at all possible, get the cable sorted. If anywhere has one in stock, they can sort it in an hour. They will have to fully retest it either way. I would try get it fixed, but it is a Sunday and is unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

take it in and test it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭case_sensitive

Ok, don't know how I managed to do that, but I got the time wrong, so it's a moot point now; it was this morning. Doh.

Next test date isn't until mid-September, so I'll have a few days to get it sorted if needs be.

If it is just a cable, Micksgarage have them in stock, so it looks to be a fairly standard part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

I want my minute back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Just for future reference. they can not hold on to your car if they consider it unsafe. they can advise you not to drive it, and phone the guards if you do drive the car away......but they cannot keep your car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Lads, its a fecking handbrake cable, its not unsafe, of course you'll be allowed drive it away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭jsd1004

goz83 wrote: »
    If at all possible, get the cable sorted. If anywhere has one in stock, they can sort it in an hour. They will have to fully retest it either way. I would try get it fixed, but it is a Sunday and is unlikely.

Why would you? Get a grip,its 30 euro for a retest. Trying to get a mechanic on a Sunday will cost you 5 times that and it still might fail, Test the heap and be guaranteed of your re test.