Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Logbook Help?

• 28-07-2012 4:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10

well I bought a car recently off a friend of mine, The problem is instead of sending the logbook off in my name he sent it off in a funny name as a joke. Anyway I never recieved the logbook and I have to tax the car during the week now.. what do I do? I have no logbook and even though the car is mine it's not in my name.. The logbook is in my address btw

what can I do here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Did the logbook arrive ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

If it arrived you could do a change of ownership again. Otherwise you could contact the dept on 061365000 and explain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭angeline

Either you or your friend will need to get a RF134 form from a Garda Station and have it stamped there and bring it to the motor tax office. I would also contact Shannon.

Rf134 is for replacement docs

Given that the op knows the cert is in a funny name, I'd say he already got it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

Your friend is a tool OP.

Other than that sorry I can't help. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

reserve123 wrote: »
    well I bought a car recently off a friend of mine, The problem is instead of sending the logbook off in my name he sent it off in a funny name as a joke. Anyway I never recieved the logbook and I have to tax the car during the week now.. what do I do? I have no logbook and even though the car is mine it's not in my name.. The logbook is in my address btw

what can I do here?

I'm confused as hell here. You say you never received the log book but say it is in your address?? Which is it? Either you have the new logbook with the funny name or you didn't receive it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 reserve123

bazz26 wrote: »
    I'm confused as hell here. You say you never received the log book but say it is in your address?? Which is it? Either you have the new logbook with the funny name or you didn't receive it at all.

Sorry lads, it was delivered to my address. Long story short my friend had a bet going with his neighbour that they wouldnt send the book to me in a funny name so he took it to show him.. I'v been ringing him for weeks as I want it back but he now tells me he lost it..

Childish fu**er :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

Amuse me, What funny name did he use?

Ivor Biggun, Annette Curtin etc....

Amuse me, What funny name did he use?

Ivor Biggun, Annette Curtin etc....

can i say it? ihave hairylanger :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Bloody Trolls.....coming on here to boards with their hairy langers.

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    Bloody Trolls.....coming on here to boards with their hairy langers.

so lads wat can i do here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Immac, Electric Razor, cut-throat Razor (when you are sober), Tweezers, Angle-Grinder, Con-saw, get a friend to start plucking with his teeth, etc.

As for the log book, it's a vehicle registration cert and if you couldn't even fill your own name in when purchasing the car then you really should consider if you are in a fit mental state to even take said car out on the public highway:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

You're going to have to go to the Guards and ask them to stamp a for Rf134 with name ihave hairylanger. Bring esb bills, phone bills, driving license, passport and anything else you can find to prove you address and name.
    Explain everything to the Guards and just hope they have a sense of humour, but you should expect to be called a stupid c*nt more than once.
    If your in your early 20's or younger, bring your mother (i'm being serious).

I'm closing this, the only advice you can take from this is to choose your friends carefully.