Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the solution to lane-hogging

• 27-07-2012 4:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

will this work or am I out-to-lunch?

Put speed cameras on the overtaking lanes, but dont put any on the driving lane...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

corktina wrote: »

Put speed cameras on the overtaking lanes, but dont put any on the driving lane...

You need to measure how fast the traffic on average is going. Plus you need x amount of cameras every s often to prove that lane hogging is taking place. Cameras to measure the speed of the inside lane too. Plus it needs to measure the amount of cars behind said hog.

Expensive but doable :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Not a bad idea to be fair but I still prefer the spray the offending car with bullets option..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Won't do anything for the lane hoggers who tip along under the limit, plus it'll only encourage faster drivers to overtake in the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

It would require a human operator, but I think it's quite doable. I'd be 100% behind it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Surely a squad car on the M50 & Naas dual carriage way outside of peak times would pay for itself (if middle lane moron behaviour is a fine. Is it? If not make it so).

Blitz for 6 months, every water cooler conversation will be about getting done for not driving in the "slow lane". Pray it sinks in.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Not a bad idea to be fair but I still prefer the spray the offending car with bullets faeces option..:)

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

I think it would work, but wont happen until lane hogging is recognised as a problem to be taken seriously by the authorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

How will this work, considering alot of the lane hoggers I have encountered are doing 10-20kph under the limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

thats where the "spray them with bullets "comes in

in the UK they have average speed cameras that works on specific lanes so I don't see why an automatic system wouldn't work. Combine it with a minimum overtaking lane speed limit and its a winner (and a saving on AK47s

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

What about big hoarding signs with the words

keepleftunlessovertaking.jpg

vms_keep_left.JPG

US style

left-lane1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Way too simple.

I've seen the overhead sign things on the M50 read "keep left unless overtaking"

I've also had idiots tell me that means stay in the middle, out of the "fast lane" but leave the "slow lane" for slow traffic

The RSA ads are a start but their not "aggressive" enough for want of a better word. Rather than "keep left" they need to spell out "do not sit in the middle lane". "lane 1 is NOT the slow lane

If the legislation and enforcement was in place to add "think this message is only for other drivers? You'll think again after a 60 euro fine & 2 points"

I've always felt blatantly ignoring/being ignorant of motorway rules of the road should fall under dangerous driving and/or failing to take due care & attention while driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Solution to lane hogging.

TK4-front.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Simple solution would be to permit overtaking in either right or left lane on multi-lane roads.

That and left-on-red would make Irish driving much more pleasant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Policing.

MadsL wrote: »
    Simple solution would be to permit overtaking in either right or left lane on multi-lane roads.

t.
    Is this not asking for chaos?

I'll hold my hands up I undertake a lot on the M50. Always give a blast of the horn as I do. If someone is stupid enough to think there's a slow lane they're stupid enough to think "hence nobody will driving in lane 1 slower than me so I'll just switch lanes without checking my mirrors (not that I ever do that anyway)"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I posted this before, but it's obviously worth saying again....
    Before ye get too carried away complaining about "middle lane morons", consider this scenario:

You join the M50 only to have to slow at the bottom of the ramp as the guy in front drops to between 60-80 km/h.

Meanwhile there's a truck rapidly bearing down on you at 70-90 in the left lane (lets call it lane 1) that you're trying to merge into

So you finally get into Lane 1, and the guy in front of you has now accelerated to maybe 80 so you look to Lane 2 - there they're doing maybe 80-90

Into Lane 2 (the middle lane) and by now you're approaching the next exit. Suddenly all hell seems to break loose as drivers start braking/cutting across each other and weaving from Lane 3-1/0 (0 being the exit/off-ramp) or from 1-2 to get around these people - so you move to Lane 3

Here at least you only have to worry about 1 lane of idiots to your left (well, that and the inevitable A4/BMW driver trying to get into your back seat.. or increasingly 20-30 year old women in hatchbacks) so you stay put as you pass the exit and the chaos starts again on the far side.

When you consider that we live in a country where we have ads on the TV trying to teach people things that they should know before they ever get behind the wheel of a car - and that are really not much more than common sense - then the above muppetry isn't surprising really, but personally - and especially given the lack of enforcement beyond camping out on dual-carriageways to catch people doing 5km over an arbitrary (often nonsensical) limit - I'll always put the safety of myself, any passengers and my car first, and if that means driving between lanes 2 and 3 in the above scenario then that's what I'll do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Traffic in the middle lane of the M50 is regularly doing 75-90 so wont work there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Is this not asking for chaos?

I'll hold my hands up I undertake a lot on the M50. Always give a blast of the horn as I do. If someone is stupid enough to think there's a slow lane they're stupid enough to think "hence nobody will driving in lane 1 slower than me so I'll just switch lanes without checking my mirrors (not that I ever do that anyway)"

Chaos? Seems to work fine in many countries. Most people do it anyway on the M50 as middle land hoggers are a much worse problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Solution to lane hogging; Gardai get €30 for every lane hogger they catch and fine €50

Overnight people will stop lane hogging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

MadsL wrote: »
    Chaos? Seems to work fine in many countries. Most people do it anyway on the M50 as middle land hoggers are a much worse problem.

Already covered here...
    http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056686199?page=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

the_syco wrote: »
    Overnight people will stop lane hogging.

Pretty sure lane hogging comes under 'Driving without due car and attention' and the police in the UK actively enforce it. Irish Authorities just don't enforce it, like most of our laws. Heavy enforcement quickly becomes the hot topic in papers and at water coolers, just take the new GoSafe vans as a case in point. People (sheep) don't learn from ads and TV, they learn from what the local office / co-worker expert says at lunch or in the pub. In my opinion, drink driving didn't stop because of ads, its stopped when people starting losing money in increased insurance premiums and losing their licenses.

We should count ourselves lucky they don't have to contend with what is on the US freeways on the M50. Lane usage, indicators, mirror use and general courtesy does not exist. Its a free for all, excuse the pun. As bad as I thought Irish driving was most American's are, without exaggeration, a 1000 times worse. Drink driving is accepted by most people. Unlike in Ireland where 'some' people can't drive, most of the US is poor educated in the driving realm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    I posted this before, but it's obviously worth saying again....

I had to read that twice, it still barely makes sense.

Definitely not worth saying again.Just drive bloody properly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Policing.

Enforcement is the only way. It won't happen of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

ironclaw wrote: »
    Irish Authorities just don't enforce it, like most of our laws.
    When you offer them a wee bonus, they will. 10 people is an extra €300 - they'd have a great time waiting in the garages near shift end.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

unkel wrote: »

Enforcement is the only way. It won't happen of course.

And with the camera proposal people will still sit in the outside lane thinking "well i'm not speeding,so I'm grand"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

AltAccount wrote: »
    I had to read that twice, it still barely makes sense.

Definitely not worth saying again.Just drive bloody properly!

If by that you mean stay sandwiched between trucks, dawdlers and people cutting in and out in front of me at the exits then pass.. I'll leave ye all to it and get on with where I'm going to thanks :)

i'd rather have giant metal spikes affixed to the front of my car so i can ram offenders

ironclaw wrote: »
    Pretty sure lane hogging comes under 'Driving without due car and attention' and the police in the UK actively enforce it. Irish Authorities just don't enforce it, like most of our laws.

Whats going through the mind of the lane hogger?
    Are they aware of what they are doing or are they incompetent and dangerous. What do they think when a car undertakes them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

bluewolf wrote: »
    i'd rather have giant metal spikes affixed to the front of my car so i can ram offenders

Front mounted rocket launchers Ftw;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I had someone who recently passed his test in the UK in my car as I was shouting at middle lane morons on the N7. In the UK instructors teach that lane 1 is just for slow traffic.

No example to be following there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,160 ✭✭✭SeanW

The problem I have with Middle Lane stupidity is that some of our dual carriageways and motorways actively encourage it. There are a number of examples I can recall from my travels that seem to help train people - myself included to a very limited extent - to be Middle Lane Morons.
    1. On the N4 leaving Dublin City, just after you go through Palmerstown and over the M50, Lane 1 becomes a bus lane and a driver has to merge into Lane 2, to stay compliant with the ROTR. You quickly learn that it's easier if you're already in Lane 2 well before the start of the bus lane.
    2. Also on the N4 on the Dublin county boundary, at J5 where the Motorway starts, Lane 1 leaves the DC at the junction, becoming the R148. Again you quickly learn that you want to be in Lane 2 (Motorway Lane 1) before the signs and road markings indicate.
    3. Coming into Dublin, Lane 1 on the M4 becomes Lane 2 on the N4.
    4. IIRC the driving lane of the N4 going into Dublin over the M50 becomes an exit lane for the M50.
    5. The M1 works in the Swords area, AFAIK are going to create a similar situation, where the driving lane becomes an exit ramp and you have to merge out to stay on.
    6. The N40 Cork South Ring. Going from the Sarsfield RAB to Dunkettle, the DC yo-yos between 2 and 3 lane status, again, the reductions often being achieved by having the driving lane become an exit ramp.
      The N27 junction is particularly egregious in this regard - just before the junction, Lane 1 becomes Lane 2 as a new Lane 1 is created to the Left. ROTR says you should merge into that unless overtaking or going faster than the traffic in it. But there is a very heavy merge from the N27 onto the N40, as inordinately large amounts of traffic take that route at most times of the day, so it's better if you stay in Lane 2 so as to allow the massive horde to merge safely and with less stress to all involved. But then Lane 1 becomes an exit lane at Douglas, so large numbers of the merging traffic from the N27 also need to merge into lane 2 and they choose to do so as close to the N27 junction as possible rather than wait 'til they get near Douglas ... So if you're going fast enough to justify being in Lane 3, it's even better.

SeanW wrote: »
    1. On the N4 leaving Dublin City, just after you go through Palmerstown and over the M50, Lane 1 becomes a bus lane and a driver has to merge into Lane 2,

Yea thats a disaster. 2 lanes out of palmerstown. Then joined by M50 south lane with traffic trying to merge into the 2 M4 lanes, off which 1 lane almost immediately becomes a bus lane.

Also this is a 60kmh zone as well.

Then you come around the bend past Liffey valley and you have M50 north traffic pulling accross the solid white line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

ninty9er wrote: »
    I had someone who recently passed his test in the UK in my car as I was shouting at middle lane morons on the N7. In the UK instructors teach that lane 1 is just for slow traffic.

No example to be following there!!

NO THEY DON'T!