Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Introducing girlfriend to my two friends, no idea what to do

• 26-07-2012 10:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭

I'm hoping to introduce my gf to two friends of mine on Saturday, and honestly I have no idea what to do.

I think just meeting up over coffee/a pint could be a bit awkward as it's just relying on conversation between people who don't really know each other.

So I'm hoping to do an activity, which would be like a hidden distraction, that we could all do, and then talking would be a bit easier over a coffee/pint aftersmile.gif

I was thinking to do a one day cooking course or something. but I can't find any and I want to do this on Sat so it's kinda short notice.

Any advice would be much appreciated!!!smile.gif

Thank you!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

This is my current Gf/ Partner <insert name >, this is X and Y my friends, who live Z

Simples..

• Administrators Posts: 54,421 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

+1 with above.

I also think you're over thinking it and I also think that if there's drink involved, things will loosen up after a short while if there's a bit of nerveyness.

I also think that it should be a night out with an incidental meeting, as opposed to a big meeting and night out - if you get me. Try to orchestrate it in such a was as you / they are out anyway and are simply catching up for a casual drink and meet n greet on the night out they are having anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Yeah pints are the way to go - relaxing and chat is always going to happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭chainsawman

Why are you ashamed of her, If you love her, be proud of her and show her off to your friends without an embarrassment. Pub will be the best for meeting place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Is there an issue with her / them? I reckon your overthinking it.

If you hype it up to be "we are going out to meet my new GF" this will be what is adding tension.

However if you are going out as per usual and your new GF comes along that would be nothing anyone has to stress over.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I introduced herself to a few friends. Then 1 night I erm accidentally forgot a blokes name. So I turned around to the both of'em standing there expecting me to to the:

Herself - > Fellas name
    Fellas Name -> Herself

And said to'em, "Come on yer both grown ups can ye not introduce yourselves?"

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Any past gf's I've had and wanted to introduce them into a group my friends, I usually just bring them along, sit down, introduce them and people start chatting. All very simple.

Don't go in there all stressed and worried as your gf will see this and she in turn will be all stressed and be worried she will do something wrong.

They are your friends, they are not going to want to cause hassle or problems. True friends want you to be happy so they will make sure she is comfortable in the group and try their best to make this happen. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,765 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

I introduced herself to a few friends. Then 1 night I erm accidentally forgot a blokes name. So I turned around to the both of'em standing there expecting me to to the:

Herself - > Fellas name
    Fellas Name -> Herself

Nice recovery... don't think I'll ever be that quick on me feet...

To the OP, unless your GF and friends are socially awkward people, there should be no issue meeting in the pub for a few... convo and banter usually follows :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Herself - > Fellas name
    Fellas Name -> Herself

Would be worse if you'd forgotten your girlfriend's name! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

I've done the whole meeting friends thing multiple times, and it's so much easier to just join the friends for a night out.

Best way for me was always meeting his group of friends on a night out, when I was with mine - gives a nice "group" feel to the whole thing, and the lads always loved him and me for bringing along my single friends :)

Alternatively, the two of you could join them for drinks. But 100% drinks are the way to go. You're already in a social setting and the drinks will loosen everybody up. Don't overthink it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Ah_Yeah wrote: »
    I've done the whole meeting friends thing multiple times, and it's so much easier to just join the friends for a night out.

Best way for me was always meeting his group of friends on a night out, when I was with mine - gives a nice "group" feel to the whole thing, and the lads always loved him and me for bringing along my single friends :)

Alternatively, the two of you could join them for drinks. But 100% drinks are the way to go. You're already in a social setting and the drinks will loosen everybody up. Don't overthink it!

this can be a disaster at times, if the two groups would have nothing in common & normally wouldn't be the types of people who would hang around with each other, it gets kinda awkward leaving the couple to try to initiate things all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

batistuta9 wrote: »
    this can be a disaster at times, if the two groups would have nothing in common & normally wouldn't be the types of people who would hang around with each other, it gets kinda awkward leaving the couple to try to initiate things all the time.

Fair enough, in my case they always had the same interests etc., so it was never an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Jay Pentatonic

Thank you so much guys for the advice. I do think I am over thinking it a bit.

We're all a bit reserved and socially awkward when we meet someone new (especially my two friends!) so I was just catastrophings things I guess:)

Thanks again everyone, I'm sure it'll go fine :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

They already have a lot in common - you.

Your friends tell horribly embarrassing stories about you, your gf giggles and the ice is broken. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

This thread fails without pics.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I do have an idea of your nervousness, OP. A few of my boyfriend's friends would be socially awkward and not natural chatters at all. My boyfriend warned me of this but to be honest, I'd have preferred if he said nothing as it got me nervous as I can't do awkward silences. I'm chatty as long as the other person is reasonably talkative too but I find it quite difficult to talk to shy and socially awkward people as I'm probably a bit shy myself underneath it all, so I need that catalyst. I tend to babble and if I'm trying to impress someone (boyfriend's friends in this case), I'm afraid I'd talk too much and say something offensive or silly or I come across a bit mouthy, particularly after a few drinks.

I had to do this in a second language about 2 weeks ago :-/

It's up to you to act as the mediator. You have to be prepared to bring up some stuff in common (music, film etc.) or perhaps something your gf is studying or working at or an unusual hobby she has or something she can babble about. Or tell a few stories of what you and your mates got up to in the past. I love hearing those kinds of stories anyway. Just keep it easy and light. Tis very Irish but have a few drinks and things should relax a bit.

Don't worry though. Regardless of whether you're friends are chatting away all night or not, if they're decent fish, they should see that about each other. One of my fella's friends is extremely quiet but they've known each other for years and he's a very good friend to my fella so I liked him regardless. I could tell he was a nice guy, just shy.

Good luck OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

In my circle it is nearly always done on a night out and we have never really had a problem as far as I remember. Friends will make an effort to be nice to the new gf and more than likely she will make an effort too. Like was said before, few embarrassing stories and then everyone is comfortable with each other. Nothing to worry about :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

As other have said, try not to set it up too obviously; people can get too apprehensive when they feel that they have to 'perform' for others.

Arrange to meet your mates at a bar or a restaurant. Drop a text along the lines of "is it cool if I bring Gladys"?

I don't actually know if gladys is your girlfriends name, but it would probably break the ice quite nicely if it were.

To sum up: take her to a pub and call her Gladys.