Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

REVENUE rules re VRT

• 26-07-2012 6:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭

Here's the official info for those who don't register imports , maybe sticky ?-
    http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vrt/faqs-vrt.html#section2

When must I register?
    In order to register an unregistered vehicle (or one previously registered outside the State) you must make an appointment with the NCTS within 7 days of its entry into the State to have a pre-registration examination of the vehicle carried out. You must complete the registration process and pay VRT at the NCTS Centre within 30 days of the arrival of the vehicle in the State. Further details of how to book the examination are available on the NCTS website at www.ncts.ie/vrt.html.

Additional Charge Raised by Revenue where a Vehicle has not been Registered within 30 days
    Section 62 of Finance Act (No 2) 2008 allows the Commissioners to raise an additional charge on registration where Revenue are of the opinion that the vehicle has not been registered within the specified 30 day limit. This usually arises where satisfactory documentary evidence is not produced at the time the vehicle is presented for registration.

Any queries relating to an additional charge having been raised at registration should be addressed to the VRT section within your Revenue district. Please note that queries relating to an additional charge will not be entertained unless documentary evidence is produced giving proof of the date that the vehicle entered the State. This documentation should have been produced to NCTS when the vehicle was presented for registration

It should be noted that an unregistered vehicle may be detained by Revenue officials or by An Garda Síochána if the vehicle is not registered within the specified 30 day limit

What happens if I don't register my vehicle?
    It is an offence to drive an unregistered vehicle in the State. Accordingly, an unregistered vehicle may be detained by Revenue officials or by An Garda Síochána. Additionally, a vehicle may be seized by Revenue officials and may only be released on the payment of a penalty.

What happens if I forget to register within the 30-day limit?
    Under current legislation, you are obliged to register your vehicle within the 30 day limit. If you fail to register your vehicle within 30 days of the vehicle entering the State, you risk having the vehicle detained. Notwithstanding this, an additional charge of VRT will be applied by Revenue at the time of registration, for the period your vehicle remained unregistered in the State

From this site -

4. VRT

On first registration in Ireland, imported cars over 30 years old (from the first day of registration) are required to pay VRT at Category C rate. This is a flat rate of €200

Imported Vehicles under 30 years old will be charged VRT at Category A rates. These are based on emissions. As there is unlikely to be any proof of emissions to satisfy the Revenue in the case of an older vehicle, this will be charged at the most expensive rate of 36% of OMSP - subject to a minimum of €720.

However, if you have emissions details for your car from an official source (or even fuel consumption figures from an official source, which can be converted / calculated into emissions figures), you could save yourself some money on VRT when importing your classic car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Lyre61

how do you work out the emissions from the mpg? Looking at importing a diesel 2.5 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭mattroche

The rules as published are very simple, however I found that the N.C.T. office is not fussy when the car came into the country if it is over 30 years old, its E200 to clear, end of story. Last week I cleared one that I brought in last June and there was no comment whatsoever about it. I also enquired about a 1990 Mini that is in the ccountry 3 years, and was told to bring an invoice with the date I purchased it. I did not need proof of importation. I think the Customs are far more interested in dodgy high value cars, that may be stolen in the U.K., and !Ringed! here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Lyre61

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Its on the VRT website on how to do it. I did if for a 205Gti a while ago.

Thanks found that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

mattroche wrote: »
    The rules as published are very simple, however I found that the N.C.T. office is not fussy when the car came into the country if it is over 30 years old, its E200 to clear, end of story. Last week I cleared one that I brought in last June and there was no comment whatsoever about it. I also enquired about a 1990 Mini that is in the ccountry 3 years, and was told to bring an invoice with the date I purchased it. I did not need proof of importation. I think the Customs are far more interested in dodgy high value cars, that may be stolen in the U.K., and !Ringed! here.

I think all the Revenue are interested in is money and always have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭w124man

I think all the Revenue are interested in is money and always have been.

If the REVENUE weren't interested in MONEY why would they be there? :D

Has to be the quote of the year!!!!

w124man wrote: »
    If the REVENUE weren't interested in MONEY why would they be there? :D

Has to be the quote of the year!!!!

My point is they couldn't give a fiddlers about all the blatant ringing that's going on, it's a joke now when you see all the carry on at car shows. I've seen cars from the 80's and 90's with plates from cars from the 70's and all the revenue are interested in is harassing people with a UK reg on their cars and getting their 200 euro.

What really bugs me about this country is that we have to pay so much for so little. Overpayed politicians and their cronies getting the pick of anything going and the rest of us footing the bill!! The roads around my area are an absolute disgrace, even Land Rover would think twice about using them as a test track and yet again the road tax is gone up again, beggars belief really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

What really bugs me about this country is that we have to pay so much for so little. Overpayed politicians and their cronies getting the pick of anything going and the rest of us footing the bill!! The roads around my area are an absolute disgrace, even Land Rover would think twice about using them as a test track and yet again the road tax is gone up again, beggars belief really.

We don't have road tax. Motor tax goes into the general taxation fund, so road maintenance is just as likely to be funded by the VAT on an ice lolly. Tax revenues are way down on what they were, and there's a huge deficit, so it's not surprising the roads have been let go to seed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

it's a joke now when you see all the carry on at car shows. I've seen cars from the 80's and 90's with plates from cars from the 70's and all the revenue are interested in is harassing people with a UK reg on their cars and getting their 200 euro.
    Like this one! the thing is if he had common sense he would transfer it to a zv and no one would be the wiser as they came out in 1980 anyway, but thats the type of stupidity your dealing with.

ballinakill2012016.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Basil Fawlty

That is just a bad solution to a problem that shouldn't exist in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

hi5 wrote: »
    Like this one! the thing is if he had common sense he would transfer it to a zv and no one would be the wiser as they came out in 1980 anyway, but thats the type of stupidity your dealing with.

ballinakill2012016.jpg

Well spotted - there are pure MUPPETS :mad: out there. MOSt of us try to work with the rules as much as possible but these guys deserve to be hung out to dry. (IF you go to the trouble to fit a new Beetle / Discovery etc body to a chassis legally then fair play to you, but IF you import a car and just fiddle the chassis plate on to the new vehicle then Revenue should be on your case :mad: )

I passed a 1995 Mercedes convertible coming out of Waterford recently with an AI reg which I presume was a pre 1980 plate.

Pre 87 - 87 was the first year of the 'Euro' plates. AI was Meath ;)

Saw a UK Marcos convertable on Appian Way today - green/tan roof http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Marcos_Mantula.jpg

. And an original Reliant Scimitar on Molesworth St
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Reliant_Scimitar_before_it_became_a_GTE_in_Hertfordshire.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

hi5 wrote: »

ballinakill2012016.jpg

YZK62 comes up as a Triumph Morris Minor on Cartell!!

:rolleyes: It's gone beyond a joke now really.

Yes, it has. You can no longer buy a car with a pre 87 registration without making absolutely sure of its provenance.
    I hate the fact when I see a car with an old reg I have to look at it carefully and work out if it's genuine or not.
    But on the other hand the lack of a decent legal option is driving this too. 5 digit ZVs are bad enough but the new year plates should not be put on any car, it's a catch 22 of sorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭mattroche

I suspect the reason there is not a ZV No. on the Rolls is because it is NOT 30 years old, and he would be hamered fo big V.R.T. and big TAX. It would be interesting to see what the 76WD500 waas issued for, or was it a number he made up himself, got the plates made up and put them on the car. I have came accross that last year in Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

mattroche wrote: »
    I suspect the reason there is not a ZV No. on the Rolls is because it is NOT 30 years old, and he would be hamered fo big V.R.T. and big TAX. It would be interesting to see what the 76WD500 waas issued for, or was it a number he made up himself, got the plates made up and put them on the car. I have came accross that last year in Kildare.

Cartell.ie says 76wd500 is a rolls Royce .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

It is a joke but charging people vrt on cars up to 1 day short of its 30th birthday is ridiculous too. One of the reasons for charging vrt on 2nd hand imports is to protect the Irish car sales sector but in all honesty how many garages stock anything over 20 years of age to sell? I think after a car turns 20 it should be cleared for a flat rate of vrt. Road tax will still be disincentive enough to stop a flood of big engined monsters being imported.

Originally Posted by carchaeologist

Is Cartell THE definitive authority on regs, or the Dept of the Enviroment/ Garda national computer ;)

MAYBE Cartell aren't inputting info correctly - Triumph is correct, but how did Morris Minor get in there :eek:

I'm happy enough with the 30year rule, I'd just find something I like that fits the bill, then move it on when something else comes up - no sense IMO in saying 'I like the 89 W126 and I think it should be exempt'

MAYBE something like a 'Collectors plate' on the style of a Trade plate should be issued so collectors could drive their cars on certain days/year - say 30, and they'd fill out a log book to prove it.
    But that'd never happen as I reckon the DEPARTMENT would love to abolish anything that meant it would lose the few bob it so desperetely needs :mad:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Capri wrote: »
    and they'd fill out a log book to prove it.

Thanks for laugh this morning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

That is just a bad solution to a problem that shouldn't exist in the first place.

Your right, I wasn't condoning it, just trying to emphisise the level of arrogance and stupidity that goes with the behaviour, even though it could be covered up they couldn't be bothered.

I think the biggest problem here is the ridiculously high road tax on cars over 3 litres, the government have fcuked it for them selves by being so greedy, even if they reduced the tax on cars say over 20 years they'd actually make more money on fuel etc and I don't think people would mind paying even 500 euros a year on a 20 year old Merc or something like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Basil Fawlty

I dont see why classic cars cant just keep their UK reg after paying their vrt. Its not like there is any conflict of numbers across the islands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭mamakevf

^^^^ Used to be able to do that.

mamakevf wrote: »
    ^^^^ Used to be able to do that.

Untill about 1976...

macplaxton wrote: »
    Thanks for laugh this morning :D

If the logbook wasn't filled out at start of day - €300 fine when stopped by Gardai . Too simple to implement / enforce ??? :mad:

People in this country always want complicated 'solutions' :eek: