Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MORTO...how to save face after messy night??

• 26-07-2012 12:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Not a major situation or anything, but would really appreciate some advice!

So basically I'm a late 20s female living abroad, single, working in a greaat job. I emigrated with a few college friends, who have come and gone since I've been here with only a few remaining.

Our group has really extended since I moved over to include more Irish and many locals - every time I go out there's a new addition to the group. They're a great social bunch, and as a few more of my good friends will move back to Ireland soon, I'd sort of been hoping to start hanging out with them a little more.

Anyway, my actual dilemma - a night out last week for one of my friend's birthday, everyone was there. I work in a busy highly respectable job over here, long hours are the norm. So I got there after a crazy day in office, late into the evening, hadn't eaten all day, and for whatever stupid inexplicable reason, necked back a bottle of wine in about 20 minutes straight.

Im not a big drinker so needless to say, was fairly wasted and basically made a show of myself for the rest of the night. I've pretty much zero memory of most of it, but I heard from my friend the next day that I was essentially throwing myself at several different guys in the group (CRIIIINGE) and then ended up wearing the face off some guy I had literally just met for most of the night

She told me it was really uncomfortable for everyone else - this was in her apt, not exactly the place to be scoring, especially so out in the open and right in everybody's face like that! Plus, I'm not exactly a teenager here...late 20s, this sort of behaviour should be well behind me...

So, I'm just so utterly and completely mortified, even five days later. This is so out of character for me and I'm usually not even a fan of PDAs, let alone scoring in public with randomers! I havent been that drunk in years, but I don't know these people well and after how I acted I'm not sure I can even face them again. I feel like - from what I've heard - I came across as desperate, slutty, classless, easy...you name it, all of the things that I am 100% not.

I just feel so utterly ashamed and don't know how I can recover from this! Anyone got any tips, advice, wise insights on how to get my reputation back on track?? Needless to say I will not be drinking like that again - the thought of booze just turns my stomach at the moment! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Wow. Did your friend really call you all those things? Talk about judgmental and just plain mean. If my friend made a fool of herself while drunk, I'd tell her just to forget about it and move on.

OP, it sounds like you made a mistake by getting so drunk and yes, you kissed some random guy but I don't know many people who haven't done that at one stage or another. And you were "throwing" yourself at your male friends? In what way exactly?

To be honest, I'd take the latter with a pinch of salt. I hear that comment bandied around a fair bit but another person's "throwing themselves at someone" is another person's flirting or even having a drunken chat. I tend to get a bit more flirty after a few drinks but unless I was sexually assaulting some guy, I wouldn't feel guilty about it. You're single and as long as you don't hurt anybody, you've nothing to be embarrassed about.

And you had a drunken kiss with some guy. I fail to see the problem here tbh.

I'll be honest with you, sounds like whoever labelled you those horrible things has no right to do so and needs to look at themselves at how quick they are to judge others for doing nothing wrong.

You got drunk, flirted with some guys, kissed a randomer. Big deal. Unless you were falling all over the place hurling abuse at everyone then I wouldn't feel ashamed.

A slut? A slut for kissing a guy? I'm actually shocked by the conservative, harsh attitude of your supposed friend. Are we in Victorian England here or what? How does this make you slutty?

And you're only in your late 20s. You're young. Young people do this kind of thing all the time. It's called, "having fun" or if not fun, then at least a funny story to laugh about in hindsight. You said it was a once off so I fail to see the problem.

Relax and perhaps have a little think why your friend would judge you so harshly. Is there an ulterior motive behind this? Jealousy perhaps? If I was your friend, I'd laugh it off.

Anyway, whatever happened, there's no point regretting it. What's done is done. If this kind of behaviour makes you uncomfortable, don't do it again. Take what your friend said with a pinch of salt. Some people are mad for the gossip and bitchiness and create drama out of nothing. I've seen it first hand many times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

So what, you got drunk and horny. It happens.

There is no need to be totally mortified, so long as you werent aggressive or nasty then its not a big deal. You were drunk, end of.

I dunno why your friend didnt pull you aside on the night, pour a few mugs of coffee into you and get you home if people were 'uncomfortable' about it, so Id be inclined to think that she is over exaggerating tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd play the "I forgot I was on anti-biotics" card here I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭ButterflyABC

Ah everyone gets drunk sometimes, don't worry about it. It's a bit cringe but it will be forgotten about in no time! It is really not a big deal, happens to us all at some stage. Your friend is making it out to be word than it is.
    Seriously I wouldn't worry, itll pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I think to have reached your late 20s and NOT have this happen to you until now means you are the exception rather than the rule. Anyone who enjoys a drink will have had one occassion in their drinking lives where they've made an exhibition of themselves. I get that you have an extended dose of "The Fear" but I think you have honestly punished yourself enough. You made a bit of a tit of yourself, learn from it and move on and remember that everyone has done it at some stage. I also think your friend should cut you a bit of "slack", unless she's been living under a rock for her own 20s I doubt she is whiter than white herself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭gerryk

The people whose lives are so bereft of anything interesting that your minor indiscreation becomes such a source of wonder for them should be the ones who are morto, not you. Everyone has a bit of a blow-out on occasion. If they are not allowed to simply forget about it, it's not their fault... more the fault of those who sit in judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

I just feel so utterly ashamed and don't know how I can recover from this! Anyone got any tips, advice, wise insights on how to get my reputation back on track?? Needless to say I will not be drinking like that again - the thought of booze just turns my stomach at the moment! :(
    I dissent from the majority who have commented here. If you mix with people who do not behave like that (and you generally do not behave like that) then you are right to feel embarrassed. Your friend was within her rights to tell you that you were out of order. But what you did was a social gaffe, and not a major wrong.

What can you do? I suggest a big apology to your friend for creating an awkward situation in her home; I suggest that you also ask her to convey that apology to her other guests. I'd endorse Sleepy's suggestion of an explanation of some sort (perhaps very stressful day at work is closer to the truth).

Then wait it out. It is a near-certainty, unless your friends are very odd people, that they will leave this unfortunate episode where it belongs: in the past. A few days or, at worst, weeks of feeling awkward and normal life will resume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

Remember John 8:7
    "He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw a stone at her."

Besides, you have nothing to worry about, everyone gets drunk (or even if they don't) everyone makes a couple of stupid mistakes involving the opposite sex. Maybe in future you'll remember to order a takeaway or make sure to eat something before drinking...but don't beat yourself up over it

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

All you can do is apologise sincerely to your friend, and explain how out of character this was. When you do meet those other people, acknowledge what happened and apologise for embarrassing them, too.

Then draw a line under it. Yes, its cringeworthy, but nothing you can do now but get through the embarrassment. Youre not the first, you wont be the last!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Bambii_

Everyone has a night like that at some point, so no need to feel ashamed/overly-embarrassed. Apologize to your friend who's apartment you were in for your behavior and try forget about it. Next time your out with that group of people set an example of who you really are. Don't drink too much and get to know them. Act like that night didn't happen and they might not even think of it again. I'm sure they'll understand once they meet the real you.

As for the guys, if they mention just explain that you'd had a rough day, drank too much before you realized how much you had, regret what had happened and that you are not usually like that.

Nothing will change what happened, so just remember it as an example of what not to do at the next get-together.

I dissent from the majority who have commented here. If you mix with people who do not behave like that (and you generally do not behave like that) then you are right to feel embarrassed. Your friend was within her rights to tell you that you were out of order. But what you did was a social gaffe, and not a major wrong.

What can you do? I suggest a big apology to your friend for creating an awkward situation in her home; I suggest that you also ask her to convey that apology to her other guests. I'd endorse Sleepy's suggestion of an explanation of some sort (perhaps very stressful day at work is closer to the truth).

Then wait it out. It is a near-certainty, unless your friends are very odd people, that they will leave this unfortunate episode where it belongs: in the past. A few days or, at worst, weeks of feeling awkward and normal life will resume.

Don't you think the names her friend called her was quite harsh though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭@rti-shm@rti

Ah God, don't worry about it so much OP. Was it a totally cringeworthy display? Probably. Was your friend right to say that it was a bit over the top? Probably - but no need to be so judgemental about it. I expect you called her mortified the next day apologising without even having been told what happened so she would have know you were immediately contrite (plus she's your friend and knows what you are generally like!). It happens to the best of us so a simple - yeah you were very messy would probably have sufficed to let you know she wasn't pleased but there's no point kicking someone while they're down!!

Just as someone else said, make a point the next time you're out with them to just be yourself and you'll be fine.

I generally manage to keep it reigned in but once every few months there's a messy night where some drama ensues and I spend days worrying about it. Honestly most of the time everyone is so worried about themselves the last thing they'll be thinking about is you!

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,907 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

As far as I can make out her friend didn't call her those things... The OP feels like she was those things.

OP forget it. Next time you go out don't act like that and it'll be forgotten. Or if someone brings it up, it'll be in a jokey way, and you can just laugh at "the state of me".. and move on.

Nobody is thinking about it as much as you are.

As far as I can make out her friend didn't call her those things... The OP feels like she was those things..

Ah right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thanks for the reassurance guys.

I've calmed down somewhat today!

Just to clarify, my friend didn't call my behaviour slutty or classless - those are basically my own words! She did have a strong word though about me being inappropriate and making everyone feel uncomfortable, me getting so sh1tfaced with wreckless abandon and losing the run of myself, potentially putting myself in danger etc etc. She'd veer a little on the conservative side anyway - but in fairness in this instance I think she's justified, it was her birthday, her friends, a few of whom I was meeting for the first time, I was her best friend that she had sort of talked up before I arrived and then I stumble in and make a holy show of myself!

I'm just mortified because I've worked so hard over here to do well for myself and take great pride in my appearance/actions/behaviours and there I was acting like an immature sixteen year old who'd never drank before in her life. I'm not much of a drinker ordinarily -can't handle much of it and know my limits - and I'm not much of a flirt either in the sober light of day so the fact that I was throwing myself at these guys that I'd only just met...jesus. I'm still cringing thinking about it.

It's more that at my age and in my social environment this is the sort of behaviour that I believed was firmly behind me and that isn't 'normal' anymore (I've had some fairly messy party years!) so the fact that I woke up with a serious case of The Fear the next day, couldn't remember a thing, immediately called my friend and got a bollicking off her and only had her word to go on has made the aftermath doubly awful!

Anyway. Onwards and upwards. Lesson learned for sure. I think I'm going to lay low for the next couple of weeks and once I get to the stage where I can think about that night without facepalming (!!!) I'll venture out again and keep a low profile.

OP that's happened to me lots of times. The best thing to do it laugh it off.

Sounds like your friend was being very insensitive to you though. Maybe she was put out that you were the focus of her night. I'd take no notice of her.

The worst thing to do is act ashamed. Sure, telling people "oh my god I'm so embarrassed, I'd never dream of acting like that usually!" is grand, but letting it show that you actually feel bad about it wont do you any favours. It will only reinforce your friend's idea that you were out of order and blow the situation up in other people's minds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

I thought you were going to say you'd done something really awful like verbally/physically abuse someone.

Well, we've all been off our trollies at some point! Thats for sure.

I guess the problem is that these people dont know you very well and you want to make friends with them. Id just tell them what you told us if it ever comes up again when you're hanging out. Maybe say it on the quiet to the person whos place it was. Its really no big deal. And they shouldnt make a big deal out of it either.

... The best thing to do it laugh it off....
    Given her friend's reaction to the events of the evening, that might be a very bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Zoria

Thanks for the reassurance guys.

I've calmed down somewhat today!

Just to clarify, my friend didn't call my behaviour slutty or classless - those are basically my own words! She did have a strong word though about me being inappropriate and making everyone feel uncomfortable, me getting so sh1tfaced with wreckless abandon and losing the run of myself, potentially putting myself in danger etc etc. She'd veer a little on the conservative side anyway - but in fairness in this instance I think she's justified, it was her birthday, her friends, a few of whom I was meeting for the first time, I was her best friend that she had sort of talked up before I arrived and then I stumble in and make a holy show of myself!

I'm just mortified because I've worked so hard over here to do well for myself and take great pride in my appearance/actions/behaviours and there I was acting like an immature sixteen year old who'd never drank before in her life. I'm not much of a drinker ordinarily -can't handle much of it and know my limits - and I'm not much of a flirt either in the sober light of day so the fact that I was throwing myself at these guys that I'd only just met...jesus. I'm still cringing thinking about it.

It's more that at my age and in my social environment this is the sort of behaviour that I believed was firmly behind me and that isn't 'normal' anymore (I've had some fairly messy party years!) so the fact that I woke up with a serious case of The Fear the next day, couldn't remember a thing, immediately called my friend and got a bollicking off her and only had her word to go on has made the aftermath doubly awful!

Anyway. Onwards and upwards. Lesson learned for sure. I think I'm going to lay low for the next couple of weeks and once I get to the stage where I can think about that night without facepalming (!!!) I'll venture out again and keep a low profile.
    Glad you're feeling a little calmer about things now, you've given yourself such a hard time over something we've all done at some time or other, it could have been a lot worse! :D

Your "friend" was really laying on the guilties if you ask me, and for no good reason. Just try to remember, it's only a minor blip. It's not like you do that on a regular basis.

In that case, all you can do is apologise and move on. If she's a good friend, she'll understand. It'll take a while for the cringing to pass but it will. Don't be too hard on yourself though. People make mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I am early 40's female too and in a high enough profile job. Last year went out with a work group (who would be my friends) and drank too much. At the end of the night, me and one guy decided we would do shots( I never drank them before) and were downing 2 at a time. Seemed like a great idea at the time. I think after about 5 or six we decided to have a different one. I dont remember this happening, but I went down like a sack of potatoes and got sick everywhere. The guys in the group were very protective and were trying to get up me to go home and I just kept saying...".eff off, get away from me you perverts".....when they were only trying to help.

The next day I looked a lot the worse for wear. Took a bit of a slagging, but the most thing that I picked up was their concern and that they wanted to make sure I was allright! That's what friends do. I was a bit embarrassed at the time but now laugh my head off at it. I've done this I reckon 3 times in my life and so what. Dont tend to flirt with people though, more drink a wee bit much, get sick and go home to bed. The guy I did the shots with said recently, oh we will have to have a shots night soon and we both just laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Straight out with it the next time you are with the group. Either individually or person-to-person, say what you said above. Keep it short.
    If they are real mates it will be the end of it.

By-the-by, if a friend of mine was clearly incapacitated and acting the maggot in a really inappropriate setting, acting way out of character, I'd be inclined to make sure they are ok & thinking about putting them into the leaba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I hate when friends sit you down for 'chats' after you get locked (granted it hasn't happened in a few years). Fair enough if you were doing it every night out, or in an inappropriate setting where nobody was drinking (like a movie night etc), but especially if it's uncharacteristic then they should just give you a bit of slagging and move on. It says more about how insecure they are and worried about how others perceive them than anything you may have done wrong. The fact that you mention that her concern was how much she talked you up indicates this.

She chose to be embarrassed by her friend when a good friend would see that you obviously needed to go on a wild one, that it was uncharacteristic etc. I'd tell her to worry about her own problems, tbh, her obviously need to portray a certain image in front of other people she calls friends (who she obviously fears will judge her lightly if, god forbid, somebody enjoys themselves at a party). But it looks like it's all water under the bridge now that she's got her chance to sit on her high horse for a while.

Either way, don't feel to ashamed. You've done nothing wrong. It's a bit cringey to wake up and have messy nights out recounted to us, yes, but that's a part of living.

It seems to me that OP is socialising with people for whom her sort of behaviour is not the norm, and OP herself makes it clear that it is not her own norm.

I don't think it is helpful to pass negative judgements on people who dislike the sort of behaviour OP described. They are entitled to their views. If you want to be on friendly terms with a social group, you need to fit in with their ways, not to demand that that they all change for you -- especially when you don't actually like what you have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

No, I think it's perfectly right to question people who don't allow their friends to stray from the norm and lecture them for doing so without asking questions or understanding. That's not a case of it being 'the nature of the group', it's a case of 'being a poor friend'. If you feel as if you can't let loose once in a while, make mistakes or have to restrict yourself for the sake of 'fitting in', as you seem to suggest she should, that's a negative relationship and needs to change, one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Gooner111

Oryx wrote: »
    All you can do is apologise sincerely to your friend, and explain how out of character this was. When you do meet those other people, acknowledge what happened and apologise for embarrassing them, too.

Then draw a line under it. Yes, its cringeworthy, but nothing you can do now but get through the embarrassment. Youre not the first, you wont be the last!

Explain that you don't usually drink and apologise. If they truely want to be your friend then it will all be water under the bridge! They have probably had their own cringeworthy moments in life so should understand.

Don't be too hard on yourself either.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I think it's more the fact the OP caused a scene in her friend's house at her birthday that's the issue. She'd have no right to judge what the OP got up to in a bar or other public place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭CommanderC

You've basically just described the last Monday night I had out.

Was out with my GF, her mate and another friend of hers who has just come back from Dubai.

The girl that just got back from abroad is a light weight, just had a few chips for dinner (not purposely) drank a bottle of wine before we went into town, then continued to drink in town (€2.50 a pint) plus we did shots.

By the end of the night we had to basically surround her because THE CREEPIST guys ever, were coming up to her. I swear they were like flies on ****e. Various guys kept trying to lead her away from us and one guy, even after seeing how blatantly drunk she was, bought her another drink :confused: !!

This, as far as we were concerned was the only issue we had with her getting that drunk- its very dangerous.

Apart from that, it was a great night. She added to the night, jumping around like a mad thing :D !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

The best thing to do is have rules- have only 1 or 2 drinks max. and leave early-ish. If people pester me to drink more I make up an excuse. I always have a reason at the beginning of the night why I have to go early and I use it. Going forward, resolve not to get drunk in front of work colleagues, apologies to the host, if anyone brings it up turn the situation into a joke. Don't worry in time the embarrassment will fade :)