Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One GAA Family United in Respect

• 25-07-2012 7:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.tyronegaa.ie/2012/07/one-gaa-family-united-in-respect/

Long after the thousands had left Fitzgerald Stadium last Saturday evening our Tyrone team was getting ready for a bitter journey home. Around 500 Kerry people remained outside the changing area – men and women, old and young. As our people started to board their coach a ripple of applause met them. That ripple grew and grew and for long minute after long minute just went on and on and on.
    When Mickey Harte appeared, a cheer of support went up. As the coach headed down through Killarney hundreds on the pavements took over where the others left off, warmly applauding Tyrone. There is no doubt that Ireland lost a lot and took a lot of wrong turns in the last few years. But if you wanted your faith in decency, respect, honour and dignity restored, then Killarney at about eight o’clock last Saturday evening was the place to be.
    Inspirational. Unforgettable. Classy.

What a lovely & emotional thing to do :) Fair play to you kerry folk :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Wow, must have been very emotional for mickey harte and team. Nice thing for them to do, good on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

From memory, after Dublin defeated Tyrone in last year's Championship, I'm sure I recalled a picture of Dublin supporters down at the front of the Hogan talking to Mickey Harte, and clearly sympathising with him and passing on some form of prayer / sympathy / Mass cards.

It's gestures like these that fill me with pride as a GAA man.

Well done the Kingdom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Had heard about this. Not through the media of course, much too postive and pro-community for our sensitive ears for the media to pick up on something like that.
    Fabulous spontaneous gesture of community strenght, which has never diminished in this country, despite the best efforts of the bankers and politicos. The very best of the GAA ethos on show too. Having been a member of a family on the recieving end of a similar show of respect, support and appreciation, I know just how much it means to Mickey Harte and family.
    A gesture of no econmic value what so ever, just people responding to devastated and worn down members of their community. Proud of my countrymen and women today, simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

that was a lovely gesture by kerry gaa fans. thanks for letting us know about it OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

Fantastic stuff, i can't really think of the right words but stuff like that restores your faith in other people.

As a Tyrone fan, there was always competitive respect before, but hopefully this gets out properly to all Tyrone fans. The Kerry contingent will deserve a warm welcome on our home patch, fans included.

Class is permanent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Yet in the papers today we have Barry McGuigan adding fuel to a fire:

McGuigan spits fury at Kerry duo

By John Fogarty

Friday, July 27, 2012

Tyrone’s Brian McGuigan has sensationally claimed Declan O’Sullivan exaggerated an injury to get him sent off last Saturday.

The Ardboe man, a second-half sub last weekend, said his opponent "smiled and sniggered" after David Coldrick dismissed him and compared the Kerry forward’s action to Cristiano Ronaldo’s wink following Wayne Rooney’s sending off in the 2006 World Cup.

McGuigan was scathing in his criticism of O’Sullivan who he believes, along with Colm Cooper, looked down on Tyrone. He recalled how O’Sullivan refused to shake hands with him after Tyrone beat them in a league game in Omagh in 2010.

However, it was last Saturday’s events in Fitzgerald Stadium which agitated McGuigan most.

"The one thing that is going to stick with me is the sight of Declan O’Sullivan smiling and sniggering when he got me sent off," McGuigan wrote in his Gaelic Life column.

"I suppose it was a bit like when Cristiano Ronaldo had the wink when he got Wayne Rooney sent off at the World Cup. That image will never leave me. People might turn around and say I got Gregory McCartan sent off in an Ulster final [2003], but as I’ve said before, I never wanted to get him sent off. I regretted that he was. Declan O’Sullivan, however, I felt was more than happy to have got me the line."

McGuigan went on to suggest O’Sullivan and Cooper are arrogant.

"Two boys I have found who always had an opinion about themselves were Declan O’Sullivan and Colm Cooper. They always gave the impression they looked down on you. When we were on trips away with the All Stars, I got on like a house on fire with Tomás Ó Sé, for example. But not those two boys. That’s not sour grapes, because they’re class players. But there’s a way to go about things."

McGuigan even claimed O’Sullivan refused to shake his hand after Tyrone’s league win over Kerry two years ago. He also made reference to the Dromid Pearses man’s involvement in January’s ugly All-Ireland club JFC semi-final against Tyrone side Derrytresk.

"He was just pure ignorant. Fair enough, it was hard on them, the way they lost [to Colm Cavanagh’s late goal] but there’s still a way to conduct yourself.

"I think O’Sullivan and Gooch are from the same frame of mind as Pat Spillane, where they could never seem to accept that Tyrone could beat them... they didn’t like it when we came along and beat them not once but three times."

McGuigan qualified that there are "many great people in Kerry" and recalled Jack O’Connor wrote him a "get well" letter after his serious eye injury in 2007. He also praised Kerry supporters for the ovation they gave Mickey Harte last Saturday.

This appeared in the printed version of the Irish Examiner Friday, July 27, 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Classy stuff from Kerry as you would expect from them - amazing that this doesn't get highlighted by the media whereas Mc Guigan's piece will be highlighted.

Am very dissapointed with the comments by Mc Guigan - he deserved to walk - its was cynical and stupid what he done and he let his team down plain and simple. He should be out apologising to his team mates for his actions not trying to blame Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭uriah

Very bad form. Bad enough to complain about another player after he himself is deservedly sent off, but to rake up old personal resentments about an all-star trip is childish in the extreme.

If that is the way this man reacts to his team being defeatd, to being dismissed for striking a player, one could understand why people don't like him.

He has left himself and his team down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Classy stuff from Kerry as you would expect from them - amazing that this doesn't get highlighted by the media whereas Mc Guigan's piece will be highlighted.

Am very dissapointed with the comments by Mc Guigan - he deserved to walk - its was cynical and stupid what he done and he let his team down plain and simple. He should be out apologising to his team mates for his actions not trying to blame Kerry.

I have no personal problems with Kerry but the reports of abuse hurled at Tyrone supporters in the stands last Saturday was pretty horrific. No one is whiter than white, and definitely not Kerry in this situation. A few true supporters crowding around Mickey at the end doesn't mean there wasn't massive amounts of animosity on both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

That is a great story of the fans supporting Mickey Harte. As for the fans hurling abuse in the stands, there is good and bad fans in every single county, but the good ones always outweigh the bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭ohyesthefinest

Syferus wrote: »
    I have no personal problems with Kerry but the reports of abuse hurled at Tyrone supporters in the stands last Saturday was pretty horrific. No one is whiter than white, and definitely not Kerry in this situation. A few true supporters crowding around Mickey at the end doesn't mean there wasn't massive amounts of animosity on both sides.

You do seem to have a personal problem with them. Tyrone obviously see it as a nice gesture to praise Kerry fans but you come out ****e like 'a few true supporters'. Whens the last time you've praised the Kerry team who are the only team to make the quarter finals every year wheras you talk Roscommon up to the hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭ohyesthefinest

Also where are these reports of abuse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

they are not there, cos they didnt happen. usual bulls*it and begrudgary.

You only need to go to gaaboard.com and see the amount of bricking by the sides, over 57 pages deep, nevermind the reports of abuse by many Tyrone supporters against players and fans in general. If the game had been played in Omagh you can be sure the reports would be reversed. Are you looking for a news story highlighting fans being rude to opposition fans? On what planet would that be nationally note-worthy?

No one is saying it's a majority but if people want to paint McGuigan as terrible and small for ruining a feel-good moment they should really look at the last ten years between these counties, everything from AI finals to Derrytresk and Dromid Pearses will tell you this is a rivalry with more venom than any other in the modern era.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

I thought it was the Clones cyclone getting involved there for a while!

I think what happens on the field, barring physical violence, should stay there.

As a Tyrone fan, i'd easily admit that we have some ignorant fans who enjoy shouting mindless abuse at both opposition players and fans, the majority of the rest of us cringe. And if i was a 6ft wall of muscle, i'd tell them to shut up and sit down!

I've no doubt that most counties have the same, there's always a few.

The wonderful thing about gaelic games is that the fans aren't segregated and i hope it always remains that way.

This thread was started to acknowledge the wonderful gesture of Kerry fans to a losing Tyrone team in mourning.

I think it should be left at that, anything else should be in a seperate thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

I think what happens on the field, barring physical violence, should stay there.

As a Tyrone fan, i'd easily admit that we have some ignorant fans who enjoy shouting mindless abuse at both opposition players and fans, the majority of the rest of us cringe. And if i was a 6ft wall of muscle, i'd tell them to shut up and sit down!

The wonderful thing about gaelic games is that the fans aren't segregated and i hope it always remains that way.

This thread was started to acknowledge the wonderful gesture of Kerry fans to a losing Tyrone team in mourning.

I think it should be left at that, anything else should be in a seperate thread.

Well said - every county - my own included - has an element of moron fans - no exceptions.

Sad state of affairs here that what was a postive thread has been dragged down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭toxicity234

I don't think that this is just in the GAA, I go to a lot of Club Rugby and Soccer both here and England and its the same everywhere. There is always a few idots shouting rubbish.

Its is great to see kerry fans giving support to Micky Harte after the year he has had. Its must be a nightmare getting up in the morning.
    Everything else is just sport.

I don't think that this is just in the GAA, I go to a lot of Club Rugby and Soccer both here and England and its the same everywhere. There is always a few idots shouting rubbish.

No definitely not just in GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Syferus wrote: »
    You only need to go to gaaboard.com and see the amount of bricking by the sides, over 57 pages deep, nevermind the reports of abuse by many Tyrone supporters against players and fans in general. If the game had been played in Omagh you can be sure the reports would be reversed. Are you looking for a news story highlighting fans being rude to opposition fans? On what planet would that be nationally note-worthy?

No one is saying it's a majority but if people want to paint McGuigan as terrible and small for ruining a feel-good moment they should really look at the last ten years between these counties, everything from AI finals to Derrytresk and Dromid Pearses will tell you this is a rivalry with more venom than any other in the modern era.

Theres your first problem, don't post there, but anytime i've looked at it, its full of lads, mainly from the North Trolling and Wumming each other. Then there is the odd Kerry "supporter" who will do the exact same thing and all the Armagh/Tyrone/Down supporters gang up on that poster! Its a joke of a forum. The lead up to the Kerry vs Tyrone game, had pages of jokes about handbags, and soft Kerry players etc. Not worth the pixels on the screen IMO.

I was on the halfway line deep in the terrace for the match, and there was a large crowd from Kerry, and a few pockets of Tyrone supporters. There wasn't a bad word said between the supporters, despite what was being shouted at the players on the field. There was banter, and a lot of jokes about how Kerry were stuggling to live with Tyrone's pure football, but no venom. At the end of the game, they chatted with Kerry fans on the way out, gave their opinion on the match, and (halfheartedly perhaps) wished us luck in the later rounds.

Im not speaking for all Kerry fans, but from what I witnessed, and from what others in the stand have said, there was no animosity between the fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

GAAboard isn't that bad tbh, you get used to the names to scroll by and there are a couple of great contributors there. The vast minority of people claiming to have been heckled by Kerry supporters were overwhelmingly told to GTFO by the rest over there.

keane2097 wrote: »
    GAAboard isn't that bad tbh, you get used to the names to scroll by and there are a couple of great contributors there. The vast minority of people claiming to have been heckled by Kerry supporters were overwhelmingly told to GTFO by the rest over there.

At least the rose-tinted glasses are still working.