Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a car/jeep. ANY ADVICE

• 23-07-2012 9:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26

Im legal to drive now, just gone 17 there not long ago. Provisional and all.

I'm going the route of getting insured under my dad's policy. **** insurance and independence! joke joke, I just couldn't be bothered cashing out this year, or next few years.

He needs a different car as his is practically ''scrap metal'', and will drive anything (legendary <3) so we are going 50/50 on a car.

Budget: €10,000/€11,000

Want a car that has good MPG , say 30/40.
    A car with good take off, and gets to 60 fairly fast.

Thanks for any help.

I was thinking a Audi A3 1.9 or Audi A4 2.0? :)

Thanks in advance lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You can use your 5 grand for insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 farmerpaddy

colm_mcm wrote: »

HAHAHA.

Hilarious.

You're a sack :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

HAHAHA.

Hilarious.

You're a sack :)

Great way to go about getting good advice from people here.

Seriously though, check insurance, cousin of mine in exactly same situation as you, you wouldn't believe the insurance quotes his dad got for adding him on his policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Insurance companies are not dumb, they will have limitations on the type of car that a 17 year old with a provisional can be added to as a named driver.

You will be better off in the long term buying a cheap run around for now, insuring it yourself and building up your own No Claims Bonus, then do your test. You have to crawl first before learning to walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I was thinking a Audi A3 1.9 or Audi A4 2.0? :)

That lovely budget will get you nowhere near buying either of those cars and insuring them, as the insurance will bum you silly due to your age.

The only audi you will realistically insure for a reasonable price would be this
    a2_2002.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Fuh Q

The OP can drive what he likes, he probably wont have any insurance, road tax, nct, or wear his seat belt, there will be seven of his mates in the car when he drives like a **** off the lights on the phone to his bird, he will be grand when he sticks the car on its roof on a back road some night coz he is 17, he knows everything and is invincible..

Seriously though, check insurance, cousin of mine in exactly same situation as you, you wouldn't believe the insurance quotes his dad got for adding him on his policy.

I know man :( , any way you could post an est. here?
    bazz26 wrote: »
    Insurance companies are not dumb, they will have limitations on the type of car that a 17 year old with a provisional can be added to as a named driver.

Funny thing is, I'm not dumb either. I've been driving all my life as I'm from a farming background, yet a 70 year old man would get a quote more than a quarter mine. Ireland is great.

You will be better off in the long term buying a cheap run around for now, insuring it yourself and building up your own No Claims Bonus, then do your test. You have to crawl first before learning to walk.

Yeah I know lad, just want a decent car.
    Great way to go about getting good advice from people here.

Ah lad, I'm only messing! :)
    dgt wrote: »
    That lovely budget will get you nowhere near buying either of those cars and insuring them, as the insurance will bum you silly due to your age.

The only audi you will realistically insure for a reasonable price would be this
    a2_2002.gif

Hahaha, looks like an Opel Meriva, nearly got sick, haha

So what will I be looking for? Any decent 1.6 - 1.8 cars that are decent enough?

**** IRELAND.

Assuming much?

Fuh Q wrote: »
    The OP can drive what he likes, he probably wont have any insurance, road tax, nct, or wear his seat belt, there will be seven of his mates in the car when he drives like a **** off the lights on the phone to his bird, he will be grand when he sticks the car on its roof on a back road some night coz he is 17, he knows everything and is invincible..

YOLO!!

(You Only Live Once)

Haha joking.. Cop on lad, lads in my class that aren't half as bad as you, grow up! :cool:

So what will I be looking for? Any decent 1.6 - 1.8 cars that are decent enough?

This is becoming repetitive, repetitive, repetitive... Start with something small, work up your ncb. Then when you are about 19 - 20ish get something bigger. We all had to do it

Ok thanks. Looks like I'll have to do that so, always kinda knew in the back of my head this was going to be the outcome. :(

1.2 or 1.3 , that okay? :rolleyes:

Smaller, smaller !

YOLO!!

(You Only Live Once)

Haha joking.. Cop on lad, lads in my class that aren't half as bad as you, grow up! :cool:

Only taking the piss..

As stated already, you would be better off starting small and getting your own NCB built up. Its a pain having to start this way but we all have to start somewhere. Your first policy will be a financial nightmare but it will be worth it in the long run.

Ok thanks. Looks like I'll have to do that so, always kinda knew in the back of my head this was going to be the outcome. :(

1.2 or 1.3 , that okay? :rolleyes:

Still too big to handle at 17 :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Smaller, smaller !

NOOooooooooooooooooooooooooooOoOOooOoOoOo!

Oh **** this.. :p

It's a dose, go to insurance company and find out what's cheapest, then work your way up,

If it wasn't for the fact they're jdm they'd be insurance friendly

This is the nocturnal emission of most 17 year old boys.... Turn up in the playground with this and the badboys will be all over droolin' :cool:

That video is funny, it's 10 seconds long, what speed you reckon he's doing after 10 seconds?

I'd say about 67kmh... Breakin the law :cool:

Although with all that sh*te stuck on.... I think Dublin busses accelerate faster :pac:

This is the nocturnal emission of most 17 year old boys.... Turn up in the playground with this and the badboys will be all over droolin' :cool:

Savage !! :p

State of that yoke..

I just need a car for going to town, and going to the farm. That looks half decent and is fairly fast.

State of that yoke..

I just need a car for going to town, and going to the farm. That looks half decent and is fairly fast.

Calm down, 17 and fast dont go well together..

State of that yoke..

And with that I am going to bed, in stitches laughing. Some of us have work to go to...

With that attitude I wouldn't bother with a car just yet and focus on ceilí's, junior discos, getting the shift and the leaving cert :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Im legal to drive now, just gone 17 there not long ago. Provisional and all.

A car with good take off, and gets to 60 fairly fast.

Don't be in such a hurry lad. Going fast when your a new driver is not big and not clever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I wouldn't worry to much about insurance prices they are only high if you want your own policy not to bad if you are going on as a named driver we got a brand new skoda octavia last year 1.6 tdi and I was only 17 and i didn't pay huge money to get insured on it granted the 1.6 engine probably lowered it a good bit.

How much was the insurance, just curious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,628 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Presumably it needs to be diesel with you being so green and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

It cost me 1400 but that's not too bad for a new car still alot of money for insurance I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Take your €5k

check the bangernomics section on this forum

spend €1200-1500 on a SMALL engined car, should easily get tax/test for that money.

Insure yourself on your own policy with the change.

Get plenty of lessons, practice your driving and hopefully pass your test.

Then, and only then, come back on here and look for advice on a fast car!!

Happy motoring :D:D:D

And with that I am going to bed, in stitches laughing. Some of us have work to go to...

With that attitude I wouldn't bother with a car just yet and focus on ceilí's, junior discos, getting the shift and the leaving cert :pac::pac::pac:
    Calm down, 17 and fast dont go well together..
    Don't be in such a hurry lad. Going fast when your a new driver is not big and not clever.

lad .. okay.

I have work to go to too? Whats your point?

I knew ye would take it that way as if I was a f'er of a boyracer, but jaysus ye assume things so quick.

I'm 17 , I hardly want a car to go 0 - 30 or 40 in 5mins. Nobody does, if a 22 year old said what I said ye'd be like ''Oh yeah I get you.''

I'm no idiot..

Take your €5k

check the bangernomics section on this forum

spend €1200-1500 on a SMALL engined car, should easily get tax/test for that money.

Insure yourself on your own policy with the change.

Get plenty of lessons, practice your driving and hopefully pass your test.

Then, and only then, come back on here and look for advice on a fast car!!

Happy motoring :D:D:D

Thanks looks like I'll be doing that! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭thefa

lad .. okay.

I have work to go to too? Whats your point?

I knew ye would take it that way as if I was a f'er of a boyracer, but jaysus ye assume things so quick.

I'm 17 , I hardly want a car to go 0 - 30 or 40 in 5mins. Nobody does, if a 22 year old said what I said ye'd be like ''Oh yeah I get you.''

I'm no idiot..
    You bring it on yourself with acceleration/speed being such a key factor in your car choice. Making an exaggerated point to try and make it sound like it makes sense is neither here or there. There should be more important things to look for in your first car.

I don't know why you imply that you should be considered equal to a 22 year old. A large proportion of 22 year olds will have a full licence and up to 5 years driving experience under their belt. You have neither.

thefa wrote: »
    Making an exaggerated point to try and make it sound like it makes sense is neither here or there.

You just made no sense.
    I don't know why you imply that you should be considered equal to a 22 year old. A large proportion of 22 year olds will have a full licence and up to 5 years driving experience under their belt. You have neither.

Why shouldn't I be treated like a 22 year old you baxterd? I have years of driving experince? Every summer I drive a machine for upto 16 hours if not longer a day. I know they aren't on the road but it should be worth something. I've been driving tractors on the road legally last year.

I worked hard for my €6000 I saved for a car,

fup off, you fuppin pederfile.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

You just made no sense.

Why shouldn't I be treated like a 22 year old you baxterd? I have years of driving experince? Every summer I drive a machine for upto 16 hours if not longer a day. I know they aren't on the road but it should be worth something. I've been driving tractors on the road legally last year.

I worked hard for my €6000 I saved for a car,

fup off, you fuppin pederfile.

Banned for 1 week.