Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Price of Superstitions

• 23-07-2012 4:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭

"When you believe in things that you don't understand,
    Then you suffer,
    Superstition ain't the way." - Stevie Wonder

Superstitions are beliefs we hold that are not based on knowledge or reason yet they impact our decisions and our behaviours. Why is this? And what superstitions do you hold onto?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I don't know, but I've got a sudden urge to watch The Thing!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,674 ✭✭✭DirtyBollox

Sure you dont want to be buying into all that superstitious stuff, its bad luck you know!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

The man knows what he's talking about

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

The price of superstitions, eh?

Will I get banned if I say "About Three Fiddy"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I always touch wood.....

tee hee

• Registered Users Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Im not superstitious at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

They guy behind the hood and mask in Scary Movies ...he's real right ? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'm not superstitious but I have one pair of boxers that I consider to be my 'lucky briefs'.....I've not shat in them....yet :pac:

kfallon wrote: »
    I'm not superstitious but I have one pair of boxers that I consider to be my 'lucky briefs'.....I've not shat in them....yet :pac:

Don't jinx yourself! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

Diapason wrote: »
    The price of superstitions, eh?

Will I get banned if I say "About Three Fiddy"?

no, just an anti thank. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Superstitions bring bad luck

chin_grin wrote: »
    Don't jinx yourself! :pac:

Clenching tightly as we speak :(
    Defo not gonna attempt that fart I've been holding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I still wont walk under a ladder ...fcuk no

I do actually touch wood a lot, but id purposely walk under a ladder.
    I definitely wouldnt put new shoes on the table either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Life, oh life, oh life, oh life
    doo do do doo

syndeyfife wrote: »

:confused: Is that supposed to bring bad luck???

I do actually touch wood a lot, but id purposely walk under a ladder.

Never heard of this one! I wouldn't think that a table is for shoes anyway, quite unhygienic!

If you go out and buy new shoes, they are in a box and a bag, you come home, put the bag on the table. Queue mother 'Is that a schuh bag???? GET IT OFF THE TABLE!!!!' Its meant to be bad luck....

Oddly enough worn shoes is fine, just new shoes bring bad luck.

Hmm, wonder where that originated? You'd think new ones would be grand! Just love the mentality of these things.

Oh....wait....got it!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shoes_on_a_table

Jaysus I better get home and get me runners off the table, no wonder I was losing all the time at football ffs!!

Hmm, wonder where that originated? You'd think new ones would be grand! Just love the mentality of these things.

Oh....wait....got it!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shoes_on_a_table

http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080229084329AAA4EKa

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 307 ✭✭CodyJarrett

I have Hexaphobia and I make at least a half dozen decisions based on this fear every single day. Sometimes I get close believing that it's all a nonsense but then something really f**ked up will happen and I just know that number was involved.

Like the day I heard the bus ploughed into those people on the quays - I immediately said to the person I was with: "I bet it was the number **". There have been many other more personal instances of the number showing up when negative stuff happens in my life.

I am intelligent and of course I understand that if you're looking for these things, then you will be more likely to notice them when this number is involved but there have simply been too much negative occurrences for it all to be a coincidence at this stage.

When I was born the doctor found the number in triplicate on my scrotum also

Okay, I made that bit up but the number is evil I'm telling you.