Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aer lingus well done!.........NOT

• 23-07-2012 12:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭

Well done for making a complete c$$K up with the new check in, just back form Spain and was my first time in the new T2.

Well, they really have messed up with this pile of piss, the queue is nothing short of a disaster, i thought i seen a guy from the Guinness book of records measuring it.

Total chaos and pure panic from both staff and passengers. passengers from all flights queue up in what at first looks like one big Q but its two later on, one for people with boarding passes and other one not.
    Announcement's telling some passengers to get out of the Q and go straight to desk this was happening all the time.

When we got to the desks she asked for boarding cards and i said to her "aer lingus guy pointed us to this Q" it was only when we where half way through the Q did we see the place where you get the pass.

The one reason for this total mess up is that the place is too small to have individual Q's.
    I said to an aer lingus worker that this is worst than T1 and he fully agreed, the girl on the check in looked like she wanted to kill herself, i asked was it always this busy and she nearly started to cry as she said yes it is and that was at 5.30am.

So in short, this multi million euro pile of sh1t has too small a check in and too much for shopping and bars. mick o leary must be wetting himself laughing and i hate that pr1ck.

And the shuttle bus is another story, they can drop you off at T2 but you have to walk back to T1 drop off to go back:eek:

And the flight was 35min's late taking off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭phonypony

hope you had a nice holiday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Da phuck has this got to do wirh aer lingus? Your flying during the busiest time if year, what sdo ya expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

kona wrote: »
    Da phuck has this got to do wirh aer lingus?

Presumably Aer Lingus have some say in the working of their queues and check in desks, especially since they effectively own that side of the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭martinsvi

I use T2 quite often and I personally found it very good. I have never waited on Q, even at christmas when it was very busy... I don't know what happened there with you but don't let this one incident upset you. for what it's worth - at least you got on your flight. you might not be so lucky next time flying with certain airline from T1 when a screw-up happens and it departs without you onboard

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

In fairness, there's been a split between "Bag Drop" desks and "Derek Zoolander School For Kids Who Can't Check In Good And Want To Learn How To Use a Printer or Kiosk Too" desks for a couple of years now. It's not new with T2.

If only they put signs over every single one of the desks and at the entrance to both queues! :p:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

markpb wrote: »
    Presumably Aer Lingus have some say in the working of their queues and check in desks, especially since they effectively own that side of the airport.

Doesnt the daa own t2? I think the problem here was that it was very busy at the busiest time of the year. The ei staff can only handle so many people, sometimes a little bit of cop on helps. Maybe im missing the point but is it not a case of go to the desk with your destination above it, check in, go thru security, go to gate, board plane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

Maybe im missing the point but is it not a case of go to the desk with your destination above it, check in, go thru security, go to gate, board plane?

Nope, it's not like that at all. EI in T2 have two queues, one for people who've checked in online or at the kiosks (bag drop) and one for people who some reason, would still like to check in the old fashioned way. Every EI flight goes through those two queues.

Maybe im missing the point but is it not a case of go to the desk with your destination above it, check in, go thru security, go to gate, board plane?

Pretty much, except (unless they've changed it in the last month or so) there aren't separate desks for destinations. There are three queues, in order of increasing speed: a queue for people who have no boarding pass, a queue for people just to drop their bags off and one for Gold Circle/Premier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭KCAccidental

IRLConor wrote: »
    Pretty much, except (unless they've changed it in the last month or so) there aren't separate desks for destinations. There are three queues, in order of increasing speed: a queue for people who have no boarding pass, a queue for people just to drop their bags off and one for Gold Circle/Premier.

which is a good idea in theory until you get to the summer holiday rush, with big families coming in with no idea about printing boarding passes etc. Then confusion reigns!

The last time I flew was early on the Saturday morning of the May bank holiday. Aer Lingus had a person directing people into each queue. It worked well even though T2 was more full than I've ever seen it. I joined the "Bag Drop" queue on the far side of the elevators and it took about 15-20 minutes to get all the way to the front. That's pretty good considering the number of people who were there.

If you merged the two queues, then there'd be no incentive to check in online since you'd end up getting stuck behind all the people who didn't/couldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

OP, I was in T1 last week at a similar time of morning and the ryanair Q was a nightmare too. Similar in that one large q to drop bags for all destinations. Its the busiest time of the year for airport traffic, no surprise that there was a crowd. People need to consider these things and allow themselves extra time, security was very busy too.
    I'm sure they've put some thought into what system works best for the busy period, if you think it could be improved, tell them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭jahalpin

I have only used T2 once and was very dissapointed

Everything about the terminal is poorly laid out. The check-in areas are far too small and the catering area is a total joke. The serving areas are tiny and there are very few seats. The large Spar in the centre of the terminal also looks a bit cheap and tacky

The choice of shops after security is a joke qw none of the shops that you would normally expect in an airport eg Boots, McDonalds, large duty-free shop etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

No to the destination above it, as the Q is for all of aer lingus flights, yes to the rest of your post.

But aer lingus quote they have some sort of family Q to skip the major Q.
    if you think it could be improved, tell them.

Maybe i will, and i will tell them to go back to T1 where it was good, as you walk in then there is boarding pass machines then separate Q's and separate bag drop's for separate destinations.
    jahalpin wrote: »
    I have only used T2 once and was very disappointed

Everything about the terminal is poorly laid out. The check-in areas are far too small and the catering area is a total joke. The serving areas are tiny and there are very few seats. The large Spar in the center of the terminal also looks a bit cheap and tacky

The choice of shops after security is a joke qw none of the shops that you would normally expect in an airport eg Boots, McDonalds, large duty-free shop etc

Something like what i was thinking.
    The arrivals part for the passengers is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭extraice

i flight to Barcelona airport , El Prat via T2 but still end up in T1 .... is this the ryanair walk off hell .....? i pay few Euros more ... like going to the gym in dublin airport ... have do this every 2nd week .....

sent many email to Ei and still have got any think back from them ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Boots

Didn't win the tender - there's a large pharmacy in Pure
    , McDonalds,

Didn't win the tender - there's a fast food vendor in BK
    large duty-free shop etc

There's ones selling all the useful stuff as it is; most airports that have a "large duty free shop" are either in a country with more permissive sales taxes than we have; or the shop is selling things that the other shops should be selling (e.g. newsagent items) or is selling extremely overpriced tat - and there's shops for that the other end of the area.

T1 does have a better range of shops but T2 isn't some wasteland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Last time I checked in on an EI flight (about three weeks ago) there were six people in the queue and three of them were us.

I therefore deduce T2 is the absolute puppy's privates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

markpb wrote: »
    Nope, it's not like that at all. EI in T2 have two queues, one for people who've checked in online or at the kiosks (bag drop) and one for people who some reason, would still like to check in the old fashioned way. Every EI flight goes through those two queues.

Hmmmm,as a T2 Virgin I havta ask,is there an oul Q for those who travel sans baggage...ie:hands in pockets ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Hmmmm,as a T2 Virgin I havta ask,is there an oul Q for those who travel sans baggage...ie:hands in pockets ?

No. Check in online or at the self-checkin terminals.

You can check in at a desk if you wish but there's no need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

i flight to Barcelona airport , El Prat via T2 but still end up in T1 .... is this the ryanair walk off hell .....? i pay few Euros more ... like going to the gym in dublin airport ... have do this every 2nd week .....

sent many email to Ei and still have got any think back from them ....

What do you expect in the mornings and nights there is around 30 aircraft which want to park at T2 (Pier E) and there are not enough stands as well as soime being T/A aircraft which can take up 2 stands. Remenber the walk to Pier B is the same as the walk to gate 426.

I flew with EI to AGP last week an afternoon flight. There were two queues at the Check-In desks and I spend no longer than 14 minutes queing and there were loads of people queing nearly all te rows were full leading to the desks, staff were directing passengers and extra desks were opened to get passengers through and I was at my gate witin 10 minutes after I dropped my bag.

This compares to a 35 minute queue in Malaga for the return flight with 4 desks open to check in only 212 passengers for the flight.

And as already stated there is a family check in desk which skips the queues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭MuffinsDa

I can confirm that EI family check in desk is no longer available, I flew on 29th of June and was told that it was only put on for a trial period and it didn't work out as the queues for it were longer than the normal check in area.

On that day on an 11am flight there wasn't much of a queue. I have a gold circle card so we didn't have to queue, but the normal queue lines were really short, and I wouldn't think anyone would've waited more than a couple of minutes.

Also, not all those having to do an old-fashioned check in are imbeciles and idiots. On my last two occasions I was forced to do a checkin at the airport as the online/kiosk check in weren't available. These were for a Aer Lingus / United code share flight to Dallas and an Aer Lingus / KLM flight to middle east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭keroseneboy

I am happy with T2 for many reasons. I use it 1 every 4 weeks and have never experienced the kind of queues both for bag drop and security which were the norm with the old terminal back in 2005-2006 when it was necessary to turn up way in advance.

T2's short term parking("STP") is also a great improvement over the old arrangment. The olny critisism I would make is of the lifts in the STP which are rather slow. DAA are on to it and are building more lift capacity.

I would be courius to know what major international airport experience the author of the blistering critisism at the top of this thread is comparing DUB T2 and Aer Lingus to baring in ming that Dublin T2 handles the buisest international air route in the world (DUB LHR) and is the 11 busiest airport in Europe. Maybe he should try out Gatwick on a similar day for size.

LAX,
    JFK,
    SYD,
    Heathrow,
    Schiphol,
    Munich,
    Hamburg,
    Rome international,
    Malaga,
    Barajas,
    Charles de Gaulle,
    Faro,
    Brisbane,
    Cairns,
    Heraklion,
    Corfu,
    Kos,
    Lanzarote,
    Burgas International,
    Palma Airport,

Enough place's to know aer lingus have made a right c0ck of it.

Considering it cost over 600 million euro's of tax payer's money to build it from scratch, don't you think it should of being better suited to cater for peak times in summer, it's not like they were extending T1 and had to put up with limited space.

I have never being in a Q as big as that one in T2. It's a step backwards.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

robertxxx wrote: »
    ....Enough place's to know aer lingus have made a right c0ck of it.

Considering it cost over 600 million euro's of tax payer's money to build it from scratch, .....
    So yet again we have a disgruntled customer blaming the airline for the airport. EI did not design or build T2, they merely use it as do AA, UA, DL, US, EK, EY.

Now the longest I have ever queued for EI at T2 was 25 mins, compared to my last flight out of ALC which had me standing for 90 mins. I am not calling you a liar but am asking how many times have you used T2 and is every experience the same? As another poster pointed out EI have staff keeping the queue moving, now this is also what I saw in my experience.

I would agree with you that the shops/food seems a bit better in T1 but I'm not going to get all hot and bothered over not getting my Boots meal deal before my flight. (You should try ORD, now there's an airport that needs facilities, any facilities!!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭runway16

robertxxx wrote: »
    LAX,
    JFK,
    SYD,
    Heathrow,
    Schiphol,
    Munich,
    Hamburg,
    Rome international,
    Malaga,
    Barajas,
    Charles de Gaulle,
    Faro,
    Brisbane,
    Cairns,
    Heraklion,
    Corfu,
    Kos,
    Lanzarote,
    Burgas International,
    Palma Airport,

Enough place's to know aer lingus have made a right c0ck of it.

Considering it cost over 600 million euro's of tax payer's money to build it from scratch, don't you think it should of being better suited to cater for peak times in summer, it's not like they were extending T1 and had to put up with limited space.

I have never being in a Q as big as that one in T2. It's a step backwards.

If you are going to rant on, at least inform yourself.

No it did NOT cost 600m euro of "tax payers money". The tax payer does not fund the DAA, it is funded in the normal commercial way.

Secondly, Aer Lingus didnt build the airport.

Use often - never a problem. Some people just love to bitch.

runway16 wrote: »

Secondly, Aer Lingus didnt build the airport.

Some people just love to bitch.

Yes that's right I never said they did, but they did set up the check in with ALL flights going through two Q's which really is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

This feels just like a rant against an airline that you don't like. Pretty boring stuff for most of us, its like blaming Ryanair for the lack of spaces in the T1 carpark.