Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone remember For Reg?

• 21-07-2012 12:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭

Now we were poor in the late eighties/early nineties but many other people could still buy new cars

Buy your new car from September onwards and you didn't have to register until next January

Just stick on a plate FOR REG :D
    Shure it'll be grand, we Irish wouldn't get worried over things like this

You can't do this anymore
    Country is gone to a nanny state I tell ya

Do you remember For Reg?
    Did you get a new car and register it like this? :cool:
    Drive around for a few months with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭btb

It was a great way of saving a few bob and helped the poor old garages sell a few more new cars at a quiet time of the year. Wouldn't they have just been sitting on the forecourts anyway.
    I did it once, at the latter end of 1990 and registered it in Feb 91. (First time I was rich enough to buy new)
    A friend did the same but the man in the tax office wanted to know the mileage on his, something about if the mileage was too high, would be given the previous years reg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

This is up there with the driving licence amnesty.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,059 ✭✭✭✭looksee

And all the cars in the country being held together with baling twine. Blue, yellow, pink, holding doors closed, bumpers on, and random stuff on the roof. In fact you sometimes got the impression the entire country was held together with baling twine.

The the government took a notion and did some sort of a deal to get new cars on the road, I can't remember what it was? I think it might have been a trade in - no matter how bad your old car you could get money for it. It worked anyway, the standard of cars on the roads improved with startling speed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

I can remember the "Tax In Post" sign on the windscreen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭im invisible

And a coat hanger for an ariel..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭Alice1

Oh yessssss, and a furry cover on the steering wheel....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭thecommietommy

The thread takes me back to Cortina's, VW Beatles, Ford Capri's, Leyland Mini's etc Those were the days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭thecommietommy

Alice1 wrote: »
    Oh yessssss, and a furry cover on the steering wheel....
    I shot JR Ewing stickers - or was that a bit later ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,189 ✭✭✭jos28

My Dad and brothers all worked in the motor trade so we always had FOR REG plates in the house. I'd forgotten all about them until now. Best family car was a Vauxhall Victor RZC 801 (1959 I think). It was a massive car in grey and maroon with a bench seat in the front. We drove from Dublin to Kerry for the holliers in it - 7 people (including the granny) with loads of luggage. It has leaf suspension which broke on the way down. My Dad and brother held them together with their trouser belts - got us there in one piece !

We had one car that literally was held together with rubber bands! It was a - sheesh I can't remember what it was! But the links from the gearstick had a ball and socket joint somewhere along the line, which every now and again would pop out and leave you with no gears. So we fixed a couple of rubber bands round it so that it was flexible but stayed together, they would last a good few months, then you put on another one. We drove it a couple of years like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Just stick on a plate FOR REG

I remember watching a kids programme where they were trying to help a giant called Reg who kept getting into trouble for eating cars. So they told him they'd mark which cars were for him to eat by putting "For Reg" on them. :)

Did everyone's car have a hole in the floor and you could see the road flying by? Or was it just us??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

LittleBook wrote: »
    Did everyone's car have a hole in the floor and you could see the road flying by? Or was it just us??

Of course. It was used for pedalling, Fred Flintstone style!! :D Seriously, my friends, you all come from well-heeled families. We didn't own a car, we walked and bussed everywhere. Stop showing off in front of your poor relations!

When I was a kid there was only one car in the street, a massive yoke with running boards, belonged to a family that stood market and evidently made more money at it than anyone else in the street! My dad had a motorbike and sidecar, but we didn't have a car till I was 10, when he got a better job and bought a new (!) Ford Popular (1957), fawn coloured as far as I remember.

My parents never owned a car and my dad never learned to drive. He died when I was a child. First car in the family was my brother's when he was a working 20-something, then he emigrated to the UK so we didn't get to enjoy it for very long.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Ford Capri's

If you owned a passion wagon then you were guaranteed to have the ladies flocking. :D

Just occurred to me when I was driving this evening - you never see cars with those little strips hanging out of the back bumper any more. The ones that were supposed to prevent travel sickness. I wonder at what stage did everyone decide they were in fact nonsense?

Probably around the same time they stopped wearing copper bracelets! Although I know someone who still does. Did any of you hang giant furry dice in your car? Think I will check other cars tomorrow to see what they have hanging up.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 sunny2012

I shot JR Ewing stickers - or was that a bit later ?

Travellin' to Flavin!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Very important to make your for reg plate from good quality cardboard.
    and of course whilst that plate was in place, no need for a tax disc either.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭gtg60

LittleBook wrote: »
    I remember watching a kids programme where they were trying to help a giant called Reg who kept getting into trouble for eating cars. So they told him they'd mark which cars were for him to eat by putting "For Reg" on them. :)

Ha ha, I remember that, it was on Wanderly Wagon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭btb

looksee wrote: »
    Just occurred to me when I was driving this evening - you never see cars with those little strips hanging out of the back bumper any more. The ones that were supposed to prevent travel sickness. I wonder at what stage did everyone decide they were in fact nonsense?

There's a young lad up the estate from me who has one on his car, with a toy smurf fixed to it. So some hope there yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭dave45dave

Used to race cars in the late 80s against Reg Tuthill. He had a Ford Escort RS Turbo , and his number plates were For Reg.

Great at the time