Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traffic cone query.

• 20-07-2012 1:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭

I'm wondering if anyone knows the legality of putting cones on the road in front of your house to keep parking spaces. My parent's neighbours have taken to doing this and also knocking on the door to get them to move their car so that the neighbour can park in front of their front door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

For the sake of not annoying your neighbours I'd just not park there - but unless they own that part of the road there's no reason to be putting cones there or asking people to move.

Well open to correction on this as Land Law is a minefield - see what I did... never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭cgarrad

You dont own the public road in front of your house, that said you cant block access to doors or gates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

kylith wrote: »
    I'm wondering if anyone knows the legality of putting cones on the road in front of your house to keep parking spaces. My parent's neighbours have taken to doing this and also knocking on the door to get them to move their car so that the neighbour can park in front of their front door.

Could you clarify this bit OP, as it's a bit ambiguous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

The problem is that the parking is insufficient for the number of houses on the road (10 houses, space for 6/7 cars). My parents have been parking wherever is available, and parking on the other side if all the spaces on their side are full, so it's not like they're being malicious or causing problems; it's only that the neighbours are insisting on parking outside their own front door and refuse to park on the far side, where there's plenty of space because there are no houses there that's causing hassle.

Personally I think that the neighbours are bored since they retired, and a good hobby would give them something to take their minds off their cars.

Could you clarify this bit OP, as it's a bit ambiguous?

For example my mother parks her car in an empty space which might happen to encroach on the neighbour's territory, the neighbour will then knock on the door at 5:30pm and say 'My son is due home from work, move your car because it's in his space'. There are no delineated or numbered parking spaces on the road.

I'd say its first come first served - whether it's worth getting into a feud with the neighbours over is your call really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭tagoona

Depends on whether you want to make a stand with the neighbours.
    Legally though, what they're doing is rubbish.
    It's not their space, it's unassigned.
    Tell them take a hike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

As a public road any member of the public can park there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

If they want reserved parking tell them to buy or rent a space. Your parents have the same rights to park there as they do.

Thanks for all the advice, I'll pass it on. It's pissing me off because my mother has bad knees and can't walk far and yet would never tell anyone to move their car, so this neighbour's pettiness and childishness is irritating.

If it were me I'd ask him (the neighbour) when his son's accident was that left him unable to walk the five meters across the road, or just tell him to grow up, but then I don't have to live here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭tagoona

I wouldn't even engage with them.
    If there's a cone, move it.
    If they knock on the door to get a car moved decline politely.
    You won't reason with someone pulling those stunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

tagoona wrote: »
    Depends on whether you want to make a stand with the neighbours.
    Legally though, what they're doing is rubbish.
    It's not their space, it's unassigned.
    Tell them take a hike

^This.Your parent's neighbours have some neck! It's people like this with this arrogant sense of entitlement and self-importance that have this country on it's knees.:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭horslips

For example my mother parks her car in an empty space which might happen to encroach on the neighbour's territory, the neighbour will then knock on the door at 5:30pm and say 'My son is due home from work, move your car because it's in his space'. There are no delineated or numbered parking spaces on the road.

Who bothers answering the doorbell any more?

Thanks for all the advice, I'll pass it on. It's pissing me off because my mother has bad knees and can't walk far and yet would never tell anyone to move their car, so this neighbour's pettiness and childishness is irritating.

If it were me I'd ask him (the neighbour) when his son's accident was that left him unable to walk the five meters across the road, or just tell him to grow up, but then I don't have to live here.

Apply to the local council to have a space designated for your mother on those grounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Steal their cones and keep doing so until they learn their lesson. They can't complain to anyone because they have no business or legal reason to put cones outside their homes. Where did they get the cones anyway? Probably stole them from somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

The neighbours are littering by putting out the cone; make a complaint to the local authority. Also tell them to get a life, it's not like your parents are parking three cars on a small street and taking up a disproportionate amount of the available parking.

I love how gung ho everyone is when it's not their neighbor.

OP has to live next to these people. There are concerns here that outweigh the legal merits. Not that anyone here is giving advice on the legal elements anyway as that's against the charter...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

OP has to live next to these people. There are concerns here that outweigh the legal merits. Not that anyone here is giving advice on the legal elements anyway as that's against the charter...

Why should they expected to put up with bullying by the neighbour just to keep the neighbour happy.

juan.kerr wrote: »

Why should they expected to put up with bullying by the neighbour just to keep the neighbour happy.

Sounds like an elderly couple who are very particular about certain things and maybe see what they are doing as perfectly neighborly and proper.

A quiet word over a cup of tea would be more effective than stealing a traffic cone or reporting them to the council

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Sounds like an elderly couple who are very particular about certain things and maybe see what they are doing as perfectly neighborly and proper.

A quiet word over a cup of tea would be more effective than stealing a traffic cone or reporting them to the council

Bullies need to be confronted, not pandered to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭jblack

If you really want to be an a$$, write to your neighbour revoking their licence to come onto your property.

Direct all future correspondence is to be by way of letter only.

You may also put them on notice that you will inform the Local Authority and potentially the Guards, depending on any how much obstruction is caused by the cone.

Yes that works so well the UK had to introduce legislation regarding bloody bushes after one neighbour killed another.

At the very top end of the scale OP I would simply get your parents to say something along the lines of "We don't mind moving our car as long as there are spaces available, however if there aren't any spaces we will not be moving our car."

A cup of tea and a chat, an attempt to get your parking designated, or simply ignoring them are the best options.

The worst thing you can do, if this ever ends up in court for what ever reason, is antagonise them.

One thing I dont quite understand OP is if there are 10 houses and only 7 spaces are the houses very narrow? If so I assume your neighbour is parking somewhat in front of your parents house as well?

You're not on the way up to Cork street are you by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭megafan

How about getting a third party involved.... If you can get a mate (unknown to your neighbour) to park their car outside your neighbours house for a few days & if your friend is confronted by them (your neighbours) he/she can make it clear they don't own the road!.... Hopefully they'll get the message & you can continue talking & if subject brought up can also let them know as an uninvolved third party (& in a friendly way) they've no right to road space outside their house....:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

I had a similar situation thst turned nasty quite quickly. I was parking on the road outside my house as the drive was always full and the next door neighbour had a van. There wasnt enough room for the car and the van and if I got there first he wouls have to park across the road. He was constantly telling me that i couldnt park there, which I knew wasnt the case. Anyway long story short he got abusive towards me and my sister, shouting at us as we walked into our house, and one morning I was leaving for work only to spot that 'someone' had left a load of broken glass under my tyres.
    I rang the gardai and they kindly came down and had a word with the neighbour about parking rights. Havent had much bother since. So maybe if you know someone with some authority, they might have a word with your neighbours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

I personally am for nicking them when there's nobody around. It seems like the funnest and least confrontational thing to do - why would you want to talk to neighbours like that anyway. Nobody will know you took them.

Alternatively you could throw them off the road and into their own property, but they probably would be outside again the next day then.

I really hate people who park in bad places. There's a place near me where the owners of a house literally park their car right on a fairly main road. A very high percentage of the time there is a car coming against you and somebody has to stop, it's absolutely ridiculous. Every single person has to check to see if there's a car coming against them and then stop if they have to. When you think of the time and effort that they cause over a whole day... they should be put in jail for doing it.

Only just today, I was going at a moderate speed only to see someone who was also going at a moderate speed on the side of the road the car was parked (so I had the right of way) - and no I am not someone who will say "moderate speed" for a fast speed. I had to push down quite hard on the brakes and stop quickly to avoid a crash... but it wasn't the guy who had to pass out the car's fault, it wasn't my fault, it was that ****ing car parked right on a main road.

Eamonn Dunphy would be proud of you. Who said they were bullies? You are assuming that. If the cup of tea and a chat doesn't work then you have other options. If you act like an arsehole because of some misguided notion that you "won't be pushed around by bullies" then you'll have some frosty neighbors to contend with.

Also, you are assuming I meant pander. What I meant by the cup of tea was telling them in a friendly but firm way and in a nonconfrontational setting that there were realities about the parking and that you couldn't always move your car but, where possible, you would respect their space as you know they would respect yours.

That's not pandering, it's acting like a mature adult.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

I'll tell you a story. A friend was living next door to an arsehole - the parking spaces were the public road. I was visiting and we're coming back from the pub. And on the window of my friends car there was a sign stuck with tar - saying this is a private parking area blah blah blah blah. What was worse was my friend was parked outside his own house, and not his neighbours - this is typical fat bellied Irish bollox trying to make a grab for something that he didn't even have a need for, let alone a right to.

So, we banged on your man's door - no sign - so we shouted and banged even more. Nearly kicking his door off the hinges. He would not come to the door. Like a Black and Tan. He would not come to the door like a man.

So, we went over to his sign - he'd got a plastic sign from somewhere that he'd pinned up on the parking sign (the council sign that said free parking) saying the spaces were private. We took out our cigarette lighters and set fire to it - we're still shouting at your man's house, no sign of him. When it had burned down a bit,we ripped what was left off the post, and shoved the smouldering plastic through his letter box.

And that was the end of the problem.

Apart from my friend having to pay a garage to remove the tar sticker from his window - don't cry for his neighbours.

Well, I can guarantee you, that if he stands up to them, he'll have quite neighbours and a quite life.

A few fire lighters around the traffic cones in the middle of the night, and that'll be the end of it. And sure there's no law against it - and if there is the law is an ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Wow. Someone wasn't listening during criminal liability.

Or maybe it was too quite to hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭whiteonblu

krd wrote: »
    I'll tell you a story. A friend was living next door to an arsehole - the parking spaces were the public road. I was visiting and we're coming back from the pub. And on the window of my friends car there was a sign stuck with tar - saying this is a private parking area blah blah blah blah. What was worse was my friend was parked outside his own house, and not his neighbours - this is typical fat bellied Irish bollox trying to make a grab for something that he didn't even have a need for, let alone a right to.

So, we banged on your man's door - no sign - so we shouted and banged even more. Nearly kicking his door off the hinges. He would not come to the door. Like a Black and Tan. He would not come to the door like a man.

So, we went over to his sign - he'd got a plastic sign from somewhere that he'd pinned up on the parking sign (the council sign that said free parking) saying the spaces were private. We took out our cigarette lighters and set fire to it - we're still shouting at your man's house, no sign of him. When it had burned down a bit,we ripped what was left off the post, and shoved the smouldering plastic through his letter box.

Apart from my friend having to pay a garage to remove the tar sticker from his window - don't cry for his neighbours.

Well, I can guarantee you, that if he stands up to them, he'll have quite neighbours and a quite life.

A few fire lighters around the traffic cones in the middle of the night, and that'll be the end of it. And sure there's no law against it - and if there is the law is an ass.
    no law against seeting fire to cones in a public place at night? And what would happen had the smouldering thing through the letterbox caughtv fire and burnt his house down

Let me get this right krd:

You and some friends came home at night having taken drink, tried to kick someone's door in while shouting and acting aggressively, set fire to a sign and recklessly shoved it through a mailbox with total disregard for the safety of the people inside and somehow the other guy is the asshole?

Sounds to me like your mate is an utter nightmare to live beside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭jblack

Your nose nearly went through the screen of my computer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Ask the council to designate it a disabled space for her. Wouldn't you love to see the look on the neighbours face?

i think you need a history lesson. it was the Black and Tans who came hammering on mens doors and wrecking the place. So if you want to make comparisons you would be more similar. anyway, I doubt that you would answer the door if a load of drunk lads were banging on it and screaming.

EDIT: There is a law against arson by the way. Comes with a hefty sentance too.

You and some friends came home at night having taken drink, tried to kick someone's door in while shouting and acting aggressively, set fire to a sign and recklessly shoved it through a mailbox with total disregard for the safety of the people inside and somehow the other guy is the asshole?

No, you're leaving out a crucial detail of the story. The neighbour started this. They tarred a "private" parking sign to the window of my friends car.

Have you ever seen one of these things. It's not a sticker - it's heavy thick tar. You can't roll your window down.

So, the neighbour starts this with an act of vandalism.

Well, I wouldn't vandalise his car on a night his been out on the beer.

Okay, I wouldn't do this sober - or do it again. But if you arrive back at your house and you find that your neighbour has plastered a no parking sign over your car window with tar, it's the kind of thing that would make most normal people lose their temper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

No, you're leaving out a crucial detail of the story. The neighbour started this. They tarred a "private" parking sign to the window of my friends car.

Have you ever seen one of these things. It's not a sticker - it's heavy thick tar. You can't roll your window down.

So, the neighbour starts this with an act of vandalism.

Well, I wouldn't vandalise his car on a night his been out on the beer.

Okay, I wouldn't do this sober - or do it again. But if you arrive back at your house and you find that your neighbour has plastered a no parking sign over your car window with tar, it's the kind of thing that would make most normal people lose their temper.

You advocated putting burning paper through someones letter box.

You think that escalating a dispute over a parking spot is worth escalating to the point of potentialy killing someone.

I certainly wouldn't want to live next door to you.

So your rationale is "he started it!!"

If someone vandalized your car you call the Gardai. You don't try and kick their door down and then shove burning paper into their mailbox.

As anyone here who has ever studied criminal law will be aware there are quite a few cases involving shoving burning items through letter boxes!

You advocated putting burning paper through someones letter box.

You think that escalating a dispute over a parking spot is worth escalating to the point of potentialy killing someone.

It wasn't paper. He had erected his own private parking sign (right on the council parking sign). Some plasticky thing he'd bought at some flea market. We kind of set that on fire. Then we pulled it down. And it wasn't quite smouldering when we shoved it through his letter box. More strong smelling freshly burned plastic.

Yes, I know it was all a bit excessive. But it seemed like a good idea at the time. In the cold light of day,,,,it does sound a little on the edge of insane.
    I certainly wouldn't want to live next door to you.

Well, the harmoniousness of our co-existence would be purely down to you.

You want to hear a neighbour from hell story?

I knew someone who lived in Cowpers Downs when Martin Cahill was alive. Cahill had a party, and the gaurds came around to tell them to be quite. The next day, two of Cahill's family come around to my friends house. They ring the door, out comes my friend. They accuse him of calling the guards. My friend denies this (he hadn't). Then they throw acid over my friends car and tell him, the next time someone calls the guards, they're going to come around and throw acid in his face.

Now.......Those are the kind of people you really do not want to live beside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The problem is that the parking is insufficient for the number of houses on the road (10 houses, space for 6/7 cars). My parents have been parking wherever is available, and parking on the other side if all the spaces on their side are full, so it's not like they're being malicious or causing problems;
    Are we talking space for 6-7 car on each side of the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭whiteonblu

Now.......Those are the kind of people you really do not want to live beside.
    you sound like you would ideal neighbour for mc

whiteonblu wrote: »
    you sound like you would ideal neighbour for mc

Come on now.....You're being a little hard on Martin.

Not like he was a member of the Quinn family.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

I think people are just picking on krd now, lots of people are just having a go.

You're totally exaggerating what he did. Shoving a burnt piece of plastic into someone's mailbox after they had tarred it onto your car, is not (paraphrase) "shoving a smoldering piece of ash into his mailbox when it could have burnt down the whole house". Knocking loudly on the door isn't the same as "trying to kick down the door in the middle of the night".

While I didn't agree it was the model example of behaviour in such a situation that krd was initially making it out to be, let's not be so dramatic and exaggerative about it. Some people seem to love to have a pariah... and it's not fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

IYou're totally exaggerating what he did. Shoving a burnt piece of plastic into someone's mailbox after they had tarred it onto your car, is not (paraphrase) "shoving a smoldering piece of ash into his mailbox when it could have burnt down the whole house". Knocking loudly on the door isn't the same as "trying to kick down the door in the middle of the night".

While I didn't agree it was the model example of behaviour in such a situation that krd was initially making it out to be, let's not be so dramatic and exaggerative about it. Some people seem to love to have a pariah... and it's not fair.

I don't see the exaggaration you apparently see. He said they were banging on the door, not knocking as you put it. In fact, he said they were 'Nearly kicking his door off the hinges'.

In addition, it wasn't that they put a burnt piece of a sign through the postbox. They 'shoved [] smouldering plastic through his letter box'. There are all too many cases of people starting house fires which resulted in tragic consequences by putting things through letterboxes which they claimed were only intended to give someone a scare. It shouldn't be done and you shouldn't excuse it.

I think people are just picking on krd now, lots of people are just having a go.

You're totally exaggerating what he did. Shoving a burnt piece of plastic into someone's mailbox after they had tarred it onto your car, is not (paraphrase) "shoving a smoldering piece of ash into his mailbox when it could have burnt down the whole house". Knocking loudly on the door isn't the same as "trying to kick down the door in the middle of the night".

i think you haven't read the full thread.

BornToKill wrote: »
    I don't see the exaggaration you apparently see. He said they were banging on the door, not knocking as you put it. In fact, he said they were 'Nearly kicking his door off the hinges'.

Excuse me. But this man had committed an act of criminal damage to my friends car.

We tried ringing his door bell, that didn't work. We tried knocking, it didn't rouse him. Then we knocked on the door with our feet. And shouted up to him " come oush ya whore.....come oush" And he wouldn't come oush. I'm sure he was awake at that point.

In addition, it wasn't that they put a burnt piece of a sign through the postbox. They 'shoved [] smouldering plastic through his letter box'. There are all too many cases of people starting house fires which resulted in tragic consequences by putting things through letterboxes which they claimed were only intended to give someone a scare. It shouldn't be done and you shouldn't excuse it.

You're being melodramatic.

This neighbour committed an act of deliberate and outright provocation. Ultimately I do not know what he was trying to achieve. My friends car was parked outside his own house, not the neighbours. And they both had lived there for years.

There was no excuse for what he did. He knew who owned the car. If he had a problem with where it was parked why didn't come around and ring the doorbell of my friends house, there was someone in. Instead he tarred up the window of my friends car, and placed his own parking notice on it.

The neighbour behaved with gross incivility and it's possible that's the only language he understood.

To cross threads here but now I see why people aren't allowed to import swords...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

Excuse me. But this man had committed an act of criminal damage to my friends car.

Then the appropriate course would have been to report it. As to melodrama; not at all. Have a read of Hyam v DPP [1975] 1 AC 55.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I have a neighbour with this attitude, she used to keep the space outside her house for her son, when he moved away she insisted that her husband move his car from their drive to outside the house to keep the parking space, it lasted about 5 days until he was the victim of a €4,000 hit and run.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Then contact the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ifiwasonlyrich

As a standard house, with public road way, beyond their gate, the term is "all the roads and services abutting the property have been taken in charge by the local authority", this effectively means, it is council property/property management area. So, in short, no, its not there land to claim. If you fell over the cone and say, broke your face (:P) you would sue them, however I'm sure they'd then say it was council property - being the road. If your that bothered about it (which is fairly crappy if they're knocking on your door) ring the city council/county council and report the cones, they don't want a potential litigation case