Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you eat & drink

• 19-07-2012 7:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭

Guys,

Just wondering what ye all consume before, during and after a cycle?

How much/often should you eat/drink on a spin?

I did a charity 85k last w/e and had my cerial, a yogurt and 2 bananas in the morn. I had a bottle with those 'zero' tablets(2) in it, and diluted it more as the day went. I ate some sanwiches at the food stop and had 4-5 breakfast bars during the day.

I did get pain in my kidneys so started drinking more thinking i was dehydrating but this didnt help, so if takin in fluid wasnt improving the situation it was time to 'strain the spudz'. Thankfully this sorted me out.

Anyway, what do other people do, whats recommended?

Ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

For me around 100km, it's usually porridge before, banana, chocolate bar and jelly tots during and a meal or big sandwich after and possibly a beer or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Normally I'd have a pre cycle spin pint of power bar powder mixed with water and then a bottle or two on the ride depending on the distance. If I have bars or a banana I'll bring one with me. I really don't eat much when on the bike but after big spins I absolutely stuff my face like a pig! Another pint or two of the mixture after the cycle also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,103 ✭✭✭✭neris

When I was doing long spins over a hundred k last year id eat porridge with honey at home. On the bike id bring little packets of jellys, cereal bars, 1 or 2 energy bars. 2 bottles of water with bit of cordial & glucose powder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Fry. A big fry. Then tea. Lots of tea.

On the bike I drink powerbar mix or water, sometimes Nuun. I've started making those chocolate flavoured flapjacks that someone very kindly stuck a recipe up to recently. I'm toying with the idea of adding caramel to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

oh, I dotn take chocolate because I gave it up for a bet 3yrs ago ...

and there is no way I'm letting d'other berson win!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Before, Muesli, fruit juice, Brown Bread with marmalade and a Banana. While cycling Water, energy bar, few jelly babies, Lucozade sport the quantities depends on the distance. Afterwards Chicken stir fry with pasta and veg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Fry. A big fry. Then tea. Lots of tea.

On the bike I drink powerbar mix or water, sometimes Nuun. I've started making those chocolate flavoured flapjacks that someone very kindly stuck a recipe up to recently. I'm toying with the idea of adding caramel to them.

Would you mind posting that recipe? I just made peanut butter energy bars, going to try them at the weekend.

I am doing my first 100km next weekend so thanks for the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Pembily wrote: »
    Would you mind posting that recipe? I just made peanut butter energy bars, going to try them at the weekend.

I am doing my first 100km next weekend so thanks for the advice.

Credit to the original poster Queensgael, they are excellent. I threw in a bit of peanut butter ('cuz I likes it):

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77212693&postcount=2

QueensGael wrote: »
    Here's my mother's recipe - I made a few batches recently, and they turned out great, been scoffing them on my training spins the last few weekends! Sadly, Mamma is not a cyclist, and hence doesn't use the metric system, so apologies in advance for the oz and F. The last line is an actual instruction from her :)

Oatmeal Bars

6oz porridge oats
    2oz plain flour
    4oz soft brown sugar
    4oz butter
    2 tablesps. golden syrup
    5oz cooking chocolate

Combine oats flour and sugar. Melt butter and syrup together and pour over dry ingred. Mix well and press into greased tin. Bake 350Fdeg. for 20 - 25 mts. Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly. Melt chocolate and pour over, then cut into squares after the chocolate has hardened a little. Then eat them all up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Great, thanks. I will try them. I have a peanut butter addiction :o It's good with chocolate philadelphia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Konkers

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Credit to the original poster Queensgael, they are excellent. I threw in a bit of peanut butter ('cuz I likes it):

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77212693&postcount=2

Lads, add a few sunflower, pumpkin and linseeds to that for a health kick and long string carbs.

Do like the flapjacks or oatmeal cookies meself too:D.

BTW, anyone see panorama tonight on sports nutrition.

Conclusion: No scientific basis for energy supplements or drinks :eek:.

The flying scot Graeme Aubree was advocating water and jam sandwiches during and fish, spuds and broccolli after. That was all you needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Konkers wrote: »
    BTW, anyone see panorama tonight on sports nutrition.

Conclusion: No scientific basis for energy supplements or drinks :eek:.

The flying scot Graeme Aubree was advocating water and jam sandwiches during and fish, spuds and broccolli after. That was all you needed.

Jam Sangers!!! mmmmmhhhh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Chocolate spread or peanut butter sandwiches. Usually end up as compressed mush in my pocket.

Water to drink as I have too many fillings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

breakfast; toast or porridge and tea

50-100km cycles; just bring 2 x water bottle, generally stop for a coffee somewhere too but don't eat while cycling.

events: tend to bring along whatever free bars or gels they give but that's all. don't like carrying all that rubbish around once eaten the stuff, especially stick gel wrappers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,232 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Anything over 150km requires stopping for pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Before: porridge with honey and raisins mixed into it
    During: 1 bottle high 5 berry, 1 bottle water (for 100Km+ just the high 5 if less) jelly babies and maybe a gel or two if its a long ride or warm out.
    After: high 5 chocolate recovery shake and whatever is in the fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭One_Time

I like to have a bowl of cereal and a couple of slices of toast before with a big mug of coffee and orange juice before a long distance spin. During I'll take about a gel an hour (I have a thing for foods that taste artificial so I took to gels like a duck to water). If I'm going over 100k I'll have something solid like a sandwich or a slice of cake to settle the stomach. I'll go through about a sachet of High 5 4:1 per 100k and as much water as keeps me never feeling thirsty.

Afterwards I'll snarf whatever crosses my path :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

on bike half coke half water thats the energy drink sorted water in other bidon.
    rear pocket lega yip those wee biscuits you give to babys ;) hah bet you guys new nothing about these .
    banana some nice fruit cake .
    after you get home two boiled eggs couple slices toast good mug tea.
    jasus i know my stuff.
    oh yeah clean your bike.
    there ended the lesson.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭copperhead

on the bike i normally put some hot water into my bottle few spoons of honey then stir it around add cold water and top it off with some pure orange juice :D
    thats the energy dink taken care of and also carry a bottle with just water

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

For 100k+, porridge and tea before hand, a couple of bottles of high-5 4:1 during and some energy bars (torq ginger), bananas, and/or flapjacks. Coffee and cake halfway if its a long one, and maybe a refill of lucozade sport for the bottle. If I'm feeling truly wrecked coming in, I occasionally consider a recovery drink, but more typically a few recovery beers. Maybe a couple of fired eggs on toast if I'm ravenous, but can usually hold off until dinner.

FWIW, the only reason I use energy bars is laziness, and that they don't fall apart. Must really start doing less bought crap and more home made. Any good recipes for an energy drink to replace the high-5?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Anybody watch Panorama last night?

"Consumers could be wasting their money on sports drinks, protein shakes and high-end trainers, according to a new joint investigation by BBC Panorama and the British Medical Journal. The investigation into the performance-enhancing claims of some popular sports products found "a striking lack of evidence" to back them up."

At the moment I usually have cereal, toast and coffee before any ride over 100km - cereal bars & fig rolls on the bike with water (or fruit juice and water mixed 50:50) - followed by poached eggs & toast or tuna sangers post-ride.

generally if my spin is less than 100km I don't eat specifically for it and I take a few cereal bars out with me.

Long rides that finish after 18:00 - pizza and beer is my preferred post-ride meal!

Jawgap wrote: »

"Consumers could be wasting their money on sports drinks, protein shakes and high-end trainers, according to a new joint investigation by BBC Panorama and the British Medical Journal. The investigation into the performance-enhancing claims of some popular sports products found "a striking lack of evidence" to back them up."

At the moment I usually have cereal, toast and coffee before any ride over 100km - cereal bars & fig rolls on the bike with water (or fruit juice and water mixed 50:50) - followed by poached eggs & toast or tuna sangers post-ride.

generally if my spin is less than 100km I don't eat specifically for it and I take a few cereal bars out with me.

Long rides that finish after 18:00 - pizza and beer is my preferred post-ride meal!

Yeah saw that. The full extent of my expense on energy drinks / supplements has been in the relm of electrolyte replacement / isotonic. But even that is total nonsense. Liked the Graeme Aubree diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Jawgap wrote: »

of course they could be...

post 2 is interesting...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056705598

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Konkers wrote: »
    Yeah saw that. The full extent of my expense on energy drinks / supplements has been in the relm of electrolyte replacement / isotonic. But even that is total nonsense. Liked the Graeme Aubree diet.

If you can stand it then I reckon a good pre-ride meal is something we were encouraged to eat when playing rugby - chunky brown bread banana and jam sandwiches.

In the case of the bread and the bananas - the browner the better:D

I hated them - bananas, yes - brown bread, yes - bananas and brown bread, NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Breakfast - bowl of porridge/honey/sultanas

On the bike a banana/a nutigrain bar or similar every 45 mins or so with a few jelly tots/jelly beans thrown in.

If it's a long spin (100-150k+) I'd add another bowl of porridge and some very dilute high 5 in the bottles plus two or three gels plus a sandwich/cake or two at a foodstop - I seem to eat more than others but if I don'd I tend to bonk at the 120k mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭thebourke

So are you better of staying away from supplements then like Whey protein...after a workout..I currently communte about 120km's a week but do the odd 50 - 60k on the weekends...

I never used power bars or gels....are they good if you are feeling tired and exhausted half way through the weekend cycle....
    i cycled up sally gap from rathfarnham on a hybrid bike last weekend and it nearly killed me...time to upgrade to a racer i reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

For a spin that distance I would eat and drink normally before and bring a bottle of water. If it's a warm day I might drink the water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Brown bread with Nutella laid on thick is my choice (as I can't/won't cook) prior to a long spin. I just can't bring myself to eat porridge - even thinking about it makes me feel sick.

(I left work the other night at midnight for my 16km spin home. I had been very busy and my mind was addled with a particular problem. A few kms up the road I began to feel very weak and realised that I hadn't eaten anything since lunchtime. I was barely able to turn the pedals and it seemed to take ages to get home).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

thebourke wrote: »
    I never used power bars or gels....
    The only scenario where I would contemplate eating food in gel form would be during space travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Palytoxin

Water, a few flapjacks, and a bit of fruit. Sometimes I blend up a few kiwis, an orange and a few other things into sort of a smoothy yoke, never turns out too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Before : Good bowl of porridge made with water as milk makes my stomach cramp.. Mixed in with Hi8 museli... Jam sandwich with white bread just before start

During - Fig rolls - Turkish delight - Nature valley bars - Hi 8 berry drink as its refreshing... I burn a fig roll every 20mins - 30 mins dependent on load !

After - Good dinner and a few pints .... and best of all a bit of craic and banter !

I forgot to mention I am a diabetic and its all about keeping my sugars about 8-10mmol ... I have to half my insulin before during and up to 24 hrs after as your liver dumps glycogin into your system to keep you motoring during times of work .. afterwards your liver replenshes its stores of glycogin by taking it out of the bloodstream .. This will lead to hypoglycemia...

I usually use the system on 10g of Carbs = 1 carb point.. As I am about 75kgs I will try to have 7.5 carb points on board before I start and 7.5 carb points at least at the finish...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Before: Low sugar Alpen with fruit and low fat milk.
    During: Up to 100 KM, 2 bananas..more than 100km.. banana, peanut butter and nutella wraps
    After: Chocolate or Vanilla milkshake later followed by a cooked dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Before: porridge made with milk, yogurt, banana, apple, toast with nutella and a bucket of tea, with ~2 litres of water

During: bananas, fig rolls, jellies, cake, whatever's going, water and sometimes high5 zero if its a hot day

After: recovery shake ( 2:1 glucose:protein), shower, pasta and beef/chicken/fish/etc