Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

does your car pass the shoe test?

• 17-07-2012 9:32pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭

I realise mine needs eibach springs. :p

I am getting new 17" rims this week but im stalling on the springs for a bit, i need to call my insurance. should be ok though.

I am half thinking of doing them myself... save me 200quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Don't get it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Don't get it ?

20120501_152546.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Them runners could use a wash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Are those actual brembos or those awful fake covers.... :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

20120501_152546.jpg

right, that would be lovely going over speed bumps.

id rather put eibach springs into my eyes than lower it that much

dgt wrote: »

fake id say.

That's nothing. Imagine how I feel... :eek:
    Image1198.jpg
    Image1199.jpg

That's nothing. Imagine how I feel... :eek:
    Image1198.jpg
    Image1199.jpg

is that a bravo.:confused:

must handle like a ferrari with that set up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

They are very fake.

Anyway, low is when you can't see the tyres at all and can barely get a sheet of paper into the wheel arch, never mind a shoe.:P

well considering a set of 'real' brembo calipers,discs & pads for a 2.4 honda costs almost 2,000gbp im sure they are fake too.

is that a bravo.:confused:

must handle like a ferrari with that set up.

Yes, a van at that...

Roll is completely eliminated. FK coilovers all round with uprated arbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭cplwhisper

OP - I'd recommend checking insurance limit before investing Euro's in Rims & springs - Modification without disclosure may Null your policy.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Last time I checked (my current) insurance company defined a modification that must be declared as;

"an adaption or change which increases the top speed and/or acceleration capabilities of the vehicle"

So,

Sit it on it's bolix :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

right, that would be lovely going over speed bumps.

A good suspension setup can be low and still compliant over bad ground. I wouldnt consider speed bumps representative of road driving anyhow though, some of them are grossly oversized for use against trucks and pretty much not going to be nice for any car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

God I so love that my scooby is on standart shocks and you can fit your mum in there, not a damn shoe!
    I got so sick of those stiff suspension and low rides.

*i must be getting really old now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

not a shoe, but a lucozade bottle.

please pay no attention to my shamefully budget brand tyres :pac:

before :

28ko4si.jpg

after :

photo06602.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I thought those tires were branded as runaways! Hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Here I can fit a whole chicken in there. like a boss!!!

cf79756f.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

I thought those tires were branded as runaways! Hahaha

nah, but they certainly act that way... great craic in the wet so they are, driving any way hard and theres no real grip until 3rd :pac: in a car thats not especially powerful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

"an adaption or change which increases the top speed and/or acceleration capabilities of the vehicle"

123.ie are a completle joke when i comes to anything non standard. I phoned to change over to an MR2, the conversation when like this;
    -any modifications
    yes the exhaust is aftermarket
    -then we cant insure the car
    Grand, i'll put a standard exhaust back on it (was going to do that anyway)
    -we'll need an engineers report to say its back to standard
    ??????
    -any other modifications
    (sarcastic) well its got different alloys than factory
    -we cant insure you with those either. We need an engineers report to say the exhaust and alloys are standard before we can insure the car
    Hung up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Last time I checked (my current) insurance company defined a modification that must be declared as;

So,

Sit it on it's bolix :D

Acceleration isn't just going forward faster.

Any change of momentum is accelerating. Bigger brakes means that you accelerate from speed faster, stiffer suspension means you can accelerate quicker when turning.

It's always best to inform your insurance company of modifications.

cplwhisper wrote: »
    OP - I'd recommend checking insurance limit before investing Euro's in Rims & springs - Modification without disclosure may Null your policy.....

Getting Honda alloys, no need to tell about them.

The springs I will see what they say.