Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sean Kelly Tour on Ireland AM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 kphelan

Less than six weeks to go to the 6th staging of the infamous
    Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford
    an event not to be missed for leisure cyclists across the country

Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford takes place on
    Saturday 25th & Sunday 26th August

for online registration vist www.theseankellytour.com

STRICTLY NO ENTRY ON THE DAY
    ENTRY CLOSES AT 5pm on TUESDAY 21st AUGUST

FOLLOW THE SKT ON FACEBOOK
    http://www.facebook.com/Seankellytour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Big fan of this event, it was my first ever sportive (the 100km route) and I hope to do it again this year.

However, my major gripe is why it has to be on a Sunday? Plenty of other sportives are run on saturdays and it means that you can relax in the town or surrounding area after the cycle rather than hopping straight back in the car and driving back home for work the next day.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I think it should be mid-week so I can go :D

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I'm doing the 100km in both the Meath Heritage and Sean Kelly tours, looking forward to both in all honesty. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭imola94

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Big fan of this event, it was my first ever sportive (the 100km route) and I hope to do it again this year.

However, my major gripe is why it has to be on a Sunday? Plenty of other sportives are run on saturdays and it means that you can relax in the town or surrounding area after the cycle rather than hopping straight back in the car and driving back home for work the next day.

Would agree with that. I don't bother with Sunday sportives unless they are situated close and without having to drive for ages afterwards. Nothing worse that doing a 100k plus cycle and then having to jump into the car straight away to go home. It a preference really and I'm sure plenty of others prefer the Sunday arrangement

The SKT Team have looked at the Saturday option before. The two main issues for us from an organisers point of view are; busier roads on a Saturday & availability of volunteers as alot of our core volunteers are involved in the bike trade locally, local sports shops and other traders and Saturday is their busiest day!!.

We do take on board all comments and over the six years of the Tour to date have tried to make improvements aloing the way to make sure that participants have the best possible experience on the day!

So all comments and suggestions are most welcome - please, keep them coming!!

kphelan wrote: »
    The SKT Team have looked at the Saturday option before. The two main issues for us from an organisers point of view are; busier roads on a Saturday & availability of volunteers as alot of our core volunteers are involved in the bike trade locally, local sports shops and other traders and Saturday is their busiest day!!.

We do take on board all comments and over the six years of the Tour to date have tried to make improvements aloing the way to make sure that participants have the best possible experience on the day!

Fair enough and thanks for the reply. I would have always considered Sunday to be the busiest day for drivers on "back roads", lots of people out for a Sunday drive after mass, etc.

As for the volunteers, totally understandable, however it might be worth pitching the idea that as it is a local trade, hauling cyclists from all over the country down on a Saturday, promoting your shop/service at the event and then opening for a few hours on Sunday when those cyclists are well rested and looking to wander around a few bike shops or convincing them that a new pair of wheels will make them go up Mahon falls faster next year might be an option?

Case in point, my second SKT and first 160 my rear tyre blew out and Barry from WWC very kindly stopped, replaced tube and tyre and sent me on my way with a smile. If I had been staying down I would no doubt have hopped in the car the next day and gone out for a visit to the shop in Clonmel. Instead I went home and a trip to Clonmel is still something I have been meaning to make, some 3 years later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭-K2-

No Seskin this year. :(

Anyone know about the new route?

Yes no Seskin, the new 160k route has a new challenge instead of Seskin for 2012 - Tickincor
    Check out the top of the climb on this You Tube Clip -
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wpSKPh-_uDo&feature=relmfu

We will have a map of the route in the next few days!

Yes no Seskin, the new 160k route has a new challenge instead of Seskin for 2012 - Tickincor
    Check out the top of the climb on this You Tube Clip -
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wpSKPh-_uDo&feature=relmfu

We will have a map of the route in the next few days!

Is this one of the climbs that was on the Carrick Wheelers Sportive? If so, then not so big a deal to lose Seskin.

Yes, that's the one featured in their 2011 event!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Could yis install some ski lifts at the bottom of Mahon Falls? Nothing fancy, like.

Come on! we can't make life too easy for you guys - just think of the free massage and tea and sarnies at the finish!!

Here is the map for the 2012 160k Kelly Comeragh Challenge
    http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/embedded/115115045

Here is the Map for the all new 100k Kelly Heritage Route
    http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/embedded/113929011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭-K2-

Here is the map for the 2012 160k Kelly Comeragh Challenge
    http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/embedded/115115045

Sweet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Is it going all the ways up the climb or are ye just turning them back down the mountain road to clonmel ? If so then there's no point in watching that video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

Junior wrote: »
    Is it going all the ways up the climb or are ye just turning them back down the mountain road to clonmel ? If so then there's no point in watching that video.

Back down the mountain road to Clonmel afaik (just the strava segment posted by K2). It'd be too difficult with routing if they sent everyone up over the top of Powers the Pot from the north side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭ShatterResistant

Do we know what colour the jersey is this year? Tis' usually kept well under wraps...

hooli07 wrote: »
    Do we know what colour the jersey is this year? Tis' usually kept well under wraps...
    Is the guy not wearing one in the video? Or is that last years?

The girl talking about Meath is wearing this years Meath jersey.

awec wrote: »
    Is the guy not wearing one in the video? Or is that last years?

The girl talking about Meath is wearing this years Meath jersey.

We'll give you a sneak preview in the next couple of weeks
    Jerseys in production as we speak
    Will suits the lads & ladies alike!

Can we tempt some of your Boardies onto our Facrbook Page??
    http://www.facebook.com/Seankellytour?ref=hl#

Can we tempt some of your Boardies onto our Facrbook Page??
    http://www.facebook.com/Seankellytour?ref=hl#

Liked it there.

So this 100km route, how much of a killer is it? :D

Liked it there.

Cheers for the 'Like'

Check ot the elevation chart on the Map Link

Max avg gradient is 3% no climb longer than 3k - a few drags but general consensus is that it's not as tough as the old 90k Kelly Coast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Liked it there.

Cheers for the 'Like'

Check ot the elevation chart on the Map Link

Max avg gradient is 3% no climb longer than 3k - a few drags but general consensus is that it's not as tough as the old 90k Kelly Coast.
    How beginners fair on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Is there a cut off point on the new 160 Km route, last few years if you were not by Mahon bridge by a certain time they put you in the "Broom wagon".