Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First 100k

• 17-07-2012 12:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭

Hi folks, looking for some quick advice. I started cycling about 3 weeks ago, got my first decent bike, a Specialized Allez, after much research on here and I'm loving it.

Only this evening I've been asked to do a 100k cycle by a friend for charity. It's on in 3 weeks time. To date I've only completed about a dozen cycles, 8 20-30k cycles, and a handful of 50k cycles. I completed my last 50k cycle on Sunday and was very comfortable for the first 40 but I tired considerably for the last 10. I also suffered from some mild chafing, which put a dampner on things.

With regard to the 100k spin, firstly, is it absolute lunacy to undertake it?
    Secondly, I'm just looking for some general advice as to best prepare, should it not be too late. What sort of distances should I be putting in between now and then? Should I be aiming for a couple of 60/80k spins? My recovery time after cycles is quite poor at the minute, I have very little in the legs for at least 2 days after a decent spin, so my opportunities are limited.

Ive never ridden in a group before either but I have read some great threads on here about etiquette and it's advantages. My query is though, what sort of average would I need to be setting to be able to amble along in the slower groups. For my last spin I averaged 26k. Would there be people at a slower pace than that or would I be Johnny last, completing 98k on my tod?

I've no idea of the terrain either! The cycle is from Drumquinn in Tyrone to Battlebridge in south Leitrim. If anyone as any tips or advice it would be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

1. it not lunacy
    2. if you can do 50 regularly you'll be able to do 100 as a one off
    3. I'd stick with the 50-60 km dist as prep
    4. riding in a group, just concentrate, mind your own business and stay away from anyone who look like they acting the bollix and you'll be fine. Personally I hate it (and kinda think it's cheating to an extent, but there ya go)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

I've done a number of 60 and 70km spins on my flatbar commuter which is suboptimal in that it has limited hand positions and a short top tube which makes standing useless. The worst effects are my hands and feet getting numb and a stiff lower back.

On an Allez you'll be able to shift hand positions, stretch out on the drops and pedal standing when you need to. You'll be golden.

Chafing wise a bit of strategic pre-applied vaseline is tried and trusted or an under armour type baselayer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

I'd say you'll be grand doing 100k if you can manage the distances you've done so far. I did my first 100k this time last year after doing similar to you and it was ok.
    Don't worry about the group part, people naturally split into groups of similar speeds as they go and soon enough you'll find yourself part of a group.
    I'm not a huge fan myself as I don't ride with a club so don't know what's really going on, and I prefer my own pace to the constant speeding up and slowing down you get in a group. That said, it is good for moving along with less effort, especially if it's windy.
    As to the chaffing, do you have proper shorts? They are essential for comfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

I'd agree with the others you'll be fine for the 100km. Try to work up to doing that distance in shorter spins over a week, if you can manage that on the day the effect of the adrenaline and the fact that it's easier cycling with company (though it feels hairy in a big group at first) will get you through the 100km.

As for the chaffing, get proper shorts, I use the DHB ones from wiggle.co.uk, not the most expensive but I find them great.

Come back after and let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Thanks for that lads. Regarding the shorts, I have a set of BBB bibs which I got with the bike, absolutely no idea whether they would be considered good quality or not but generally I do find them comfortable. At the minute Johnson's Baby Powder seems to be helping the chaffing, the vaseline may also help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Gallant_JJ wrote: »
    Thanks for that lads. Regarding the shorts, I have a set of BBB bibs which I got with the bike, absolutely no idea whether they would be considered good quality or not but generally I do find them comfortable. At the minute Johnson's Baby Powder seems to be helping the chaffing, the vaseline may also help.

Just don't mix them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭CillianL

I took up cycling properly over the winter so some pointers I can give are

Keep a comfortable cadence in a low gear such that the first 50 km nearly feel boring and allow yourself to get into the groove of it, so don't go hardest in the first two hours.

Bring two bottles with a carbohydrate drink in them and sip them regularly and bring adequate food, so eat every hour to half hour. I find fruit works the best but chocolate or sugary sweets work fine, however don't bring anything your body's not used to so forget gels and all that crap if you've never used them.

Draft as much as possible. To practice this sit in on a club spin in your area. A lot of people do this with the Dublin Wheelers which is my club and I'd imagine most others would be supportive.

On another note, for recovery always each carbohydrate and protein after you train and stretch before and after training if possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

You'll be grand, did the Wicklow 200 6 weeks after buying my first bike, a trek 1000, 6 years ago.
    The company on sportive will make it easier
    Hi folks, looking for some quick advice. I started cycling about 3 weeks ago, got my first decent bike, a Specialized Allez, after much research on here and I'm loving it.

Only this evening I've been asked to do a 100k cycle by a friend for charity. It's on in 3 weeks time. To date I've only completed about a dozen cycles, 8 20-30k cycles, and a handful of 50k cycles. I completed my last 50k cycle on Sunday and was very comfortable for the first 40 but I tired considerably for the last 10. I also suffered from some mild chafing, which put a dampner on things.

With regard to the 100k spin, firstly, is it absolute lunacy to undertake it?
    Secondly, I'm just looking for some general advice as to best prepare, should it not be too late. What sort of distances should I be putting in between now and then? Should I be aiming for a couple of 60/80k spins? My recovery time after cycles is quite poor at the minute, I have very little in the legs for at least 2 days after a decent spin, so my opportunities are limited.

Ive never ridden in a group before either but I have read some great threads on here about etiquette and it's advantages. My query is though, what sort of average would I need to be setting to be able to amble along in the slower groups. For my last spin I averaged 26k. Would there be people at a slower pace than that or would I be Johnny last, completing 98k on my tod?

I've no idea of the terrain either! The cycle is from Drumquinn in Tyrone to Battlebridge in south Leitrim. If anyone as any tips or advice it would be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Well was going well over the last week or so. Was doing as a couple of lads here were saying, trying to get around 100k in for the week. Completed a 60k on fri and was thoroughly enjoying it apart from minor discomfort in my behind. Was averaging about 28 and had plenty more in the tank but I said I wouldn't do any more for fear of over cooking it.

Anyway, played the second half of a challenge game for my club yesterday and with the very last kick of the game went down in a heap. My knee completely gave. A couple of lads around me heard a snap. Fortunately the Physio reckons it not the cruciate, probably the medial. Very relieved it's not the cruciate, but the snap is very worrying. I won't know the extent of the damage till the swelling goes down.

The 100k is a fortnight yesterday, gutted to be honest. I guess I just have to aim for something later in the year. Really annoyed I won't be able to get up on the bike for a while as I was enjoying it so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Sorry to hear of injury

Playing football and cycling together can give rise to a few issues.

Used to try and do both, quit the football this year and cycling has come on a bit. 37 though so probably time for me anyhow..
    Well was going well over the last week or so. Was doing as a couple of lads here were saying, trying to get around 100k in for the week. Completed a 60k on fri and was thoroughly enjoying it apart from minor discomfort in my behind. Was averaging about 28 and had plenty more in the tank but I said I wouldn't do any more for fear of over cooking it.

Anyway, played the second half of a challenge game for my club yesterday and with the very last kick of the game went down in a heap. My knee completely gave. A couple of lads around me heard a snap. Fortunately the Physio reckons it not the cruciate, probably the medial. Very relieved it's not the cruciate, but the snap is very worrying. I won't know the extent of the damage till the swelling goes down.

The 100k is a fortnight yesterday, gutted to be honest. I guess I just have to aim for something later in the year. Really annoyed I won't be able to get up on the bike for a while as I was enjoying it so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I found I couldn't play rugby and train for triathlon at the same time. Too easy to pull a muscle in rugby training when you have all that endurance training going on. Tag rugby was even worse than regular rugby, deadly on the hamstrings.