Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Climbers

• 16-07-2012 9:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭

Just out of curiously does anybody know what weight these guys are & how are they compared, weight wise, to the sprinters say.

Allez allez allez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭downwiththatsor

Just out of curiously does anybody know what weight these guys are & how are they compared, weight wise, to the sprinters say.

Allez allez allez

As far as i know Wiggins has dropped 10kgs in the last 2 years to get to c. 72kgs to allow him to compete in the mountains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

48kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Mr. Grieves

I read a rule of thumb somewhere of 2 lb per inch. It was based on the average height to weight ratio of past KOM winners in the Tour. So a 6 ft tall climber would weigh about 65 kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I read a rule of thumb somewhere of 2 lb per inch. It was based on the average height to weight ratio of past KOM winners in the Tour. So a 6 ft tall climber would weigh about 65 kg.

I need to lose 25 fuppin kilos. Huckin' fell..

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

RT66 wrote: »
    I need to lose 25 fuppin kilos. Huckin' fell..
    Depends - you're actually just about the same weight as Chris Hoy ...

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

6'3 and 63kg here.

Close but no cigar. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

awec wrote: »
    6'3 and 63kg here.

Close but no cigar. :(

Pics or GTFO!

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Pics or GTFO!
    Pics of what? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

awec wrote: »
    Pics of what? :D

Pics of someone your height only weighing that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Here's a video. Don't watch it.

http://www.ebaumsworld.com/video/watch/462463/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

there ya go

stick_man.bmp

could be bradly wigggins though (ah no it isnt, cant see the sideburns)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭neris

That might explain why i cant get up a hill without puffing n panting. 5'10 and last time i checked was close to 90kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭maloner

Going by the 2lbs/inch metric, I need to be over 7 foot 6.

I've some growing to do...

Ah I do like.

6'3" and 10 stone which is 63kg I believe.

Handy for going up hills. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

I am 6.1" and I used to be 65kgs, I looked extremely skinny and didn't cycle at all. Now I am 75kgs and I cycle a lot. Life is not fair.

I'm trying to put on a stone. Really struggling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

6'2 and 74kgs at the last check. I do ok on the hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'm 6ft and 83kg and hills kill me. I could cycle forever on the level.

The plan is to lose another 7 or 8kg (already lost nearly 6kg in the last 2 months) and maintain that weight. I dont want to be too skinny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭C-Shore

It's not just a height to weight ratio, the power to weight ratio is more important along with body fat percentage.

80kg at 5' 10" with 8% bf is a lot different to 75kg at 5' 10" with 19% bf.

It's the balance between that power and for sprinting and weight carried over the hills that is hardest to balance. It depends on what you'r doing I suppose - a lot of races in Ireland don't have steep enough climbs to get over that you would need to sacrifice a lot of muscle weight (for sprinting) in order to challenge any race.
    That way you can be a good enough all round rider - well I think so anyway.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

5'9 and 62kg :D

pretty much bang on the pounds to inches ratio. Having said that I was nearly last at the boardsie hill climbing championships..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

6'3" at a shade under 70kg.
    When I was at my (self perceived) fastest on the hills I was about 65kg, but I was also getting sick a lot. The 70kg version is definitely stronger than the 65kg version, and with the effective training he was doing he was all set to be a whole lot faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Allez allez allez

1. Pick a rider
    2. Check out their WikiPedia entry
    3. Read their weight
    4. Weep in jealousy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

ahhh feck it anyway, 6 and 85kg.....its all muscle though :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I win.

5'8" and 89kg.

Starting a cycle in the Pyrenees on Monday so I am in for a world of pain and suffering.

However on the upside, according to Strava, I am an absolutely superb climber for my weight. Regularly have top spot in my weight category over many of the climbs that I do.

Last week I hit 24m40s on 6Km Cruagh Kilakee hill climb in Dublin. Last year I did 30mins at same weight.

EPO is great stuff altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭bogmanfan

6'2" and 96kg. I actually quite like the hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Afaik Dan Martin is around the 58Kg mark.

Raam wrote: »
    The 70kg version is definitely stronger than the 65kg version

Yea, but he talks too much though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Just a shade under 79kg here at 178cm (closer to 5'11" than 5'10").

I'm a middling climber - I won't win any medals, but I can get over any hill in a respectable time. But then I did 2 years of riding and climbing at 90kg+, so the drop to 79kg felt like I'd suddenly been given a ****load more power. On the long stuff like Stocking Lane, I can usually hold most wheels, but I do still find myself getting wiped on the really tough climbs (like slieve Mann) by skinnier people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭mahoo

wiggins is an inch taller than me and 17kg lighter!.....but then ill enjoy my steak tonight while he eats lentils :D he may be faster up the hills, but he sure looks like skellator these days

but i do find it interesting that on strava i can see where my power/weight ratio is at its best.. im well up on the wicklow gap (think im about 14th) because its a longer easier gradient compared to cruagh where im about 50th! so i guess im a good climber at about 5%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭lalorm

6' @ 80kg. 14.4% BF. Would like to get down to 74kg by the start of next season, but it's a big ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

I'm 5'11'' and about 72kgs. I'm decent in the hills and I used need a hilly course to have any chance. I haven't worried much about weight this year and have done very little sustained climbing in training. I have been trying to get better in the areas in which I was weak. Initial signs are good. I appear to have developed a decent TT, I have been hitting the breaks well and now have the power to give myself a good chance of staying away. The extra power should make me a better climber too but the jury's out on that.

Still can't sprint though - my fast twitch muscles seem to be in a permanent slumber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭get on your bike

Me I'm 12.5 stone at 5 ft 9 & a touch. Quite like the hills but always going to be someone faster as they say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Im 73kg, 6 foot and 10.4% body fat.

A well known boardsie once told me about a big fella. 12 stone he was!!!

Lusk Doyle wrote: »

Fatty-fat-fat-fat, we used to call him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Has this thread gone a bit off topic ?! :pac:
    .........or is on some kind of related tangent :confused::eek::p

Fatty-fat-fat-fat, we used to call him.

Man, he could climb with the best of them though!

6'3" at a shade under 70kg.
    When I was at my (self perceived) fastest on the hills I was about 65kg, but I was also getting sick a lot. The 70kg version is definitely stronger than the 65kg version, and with the effective training he was doing he was all set to be a whole lot faster.

Why does "he" refer to himself in the third person? Is that an affect of the weight loss :D

He wouldn't know, he put on weight.