Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take your point

• 15-07-2012 5:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭

Im a Kerry fan just back in Dublin after the game today and had the misfortune of listening to this tripe on the way home and I'm sure there are 3 or 4 thousand on the M7 home who have the same opinion. Tommy Carr goes on a rant about the ref even though he claims to have only seen the 2nd half. He was giving out about the lack of injury time saying Kerry took off Darran O'Sullivan (which they didn't) to eat into injury time and this time wasn't added at the end. He also says referees are afraid of Kerry becasue they are full of high profile players and therefore give them easy decisions. If he had watched the full game he would have seen Paul Galvin get a yellow for a shoulder.

I won't be listening again and I don't think people should be allowed on it to give opinions on games they didn't see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

I think Tommy would have been better concentrating on meath during the week, trying to get his own team in better shape since meath hammered them.
    Maybe if he won an all ireland himself he would be better suited to comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭wonga77

Tommy Carr is a pain in the h0le to listen to at the best of times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

So you hear something you didn't like and you condemn the whole programme. Here's your rattle back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

Flukey wrote: »
    So you hear something you didn't like and you condemn the whole programme. Here's your rattle back.

No, its very amateur for RTE to have someone passing comment on a referees performance when they only saw half the match, say that Kerry took off a player in injury time to eat into time even though he was taken off before injury time and say that because Kerry players are high profile refs are afraid to give decisions against them, he was passing this comment not knowing that Paul Galvin had been booked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

paddy978 wrote: »
    Im a Kerry fan just back in Dublin after the game today and had the misfortune of listening to this tripe on the way home and I'm sure there are 3 or 4 thousand on the M7 home who have the same opinion. Tommy Carr goes on a rant about the ref even though he claims to have only seen the 2nd half. He was giving out about the lack of injury time saying Kerry took off Darran O'Sullivan (which they didn't) to eat into injury time and this time wasn't added at the end. He also says referees are afraid of Kerry becasue they are full of high profile players and therefore give them easy decisions. If he had watched the full game he would have seen Paul Galvin get a yellow for a shoulder.

I won't be listening again and I don't think people should be allowed on it to give opinions on games they didn't see.

If he saw the second half then it seems perfectly reasonable for him to comment on the amount of injury time added on at the end of the second half :confused:

His point on injury time was Kerry took off Darran O'Sullivan in injury time to waste time which was never added on but Darran O'Sullivan came off about 10 minutes previously.

paddy978 wrote:
    No, its very amateur for RTE to have someone passing comment on a referees performance when they only saw half the match, say that Kerry took off a player in injury time to eat into time even though he was taken off before injury time and say that because Kerry players are high profile refs are afraid to give decisions against them, he was passing this comment not knowing that Paul Galvin had been booked.

He saw what was apparently the key incident, the dubious free that led to the goal. He acknowledged he had not seen the 1st half right from the start and mentioned what he'd heard of what was going on. The key point was that big teams do often get the benefit, and we've all witnessed that.

If we are talking about Kerry, they've had their fair share of ones that went for them, and yes, some that went against them. They are cute enough at doing things when it suits. Colm Cooper never gets his 69th minute cramp when Kerry are a point or two behind for example. The scoreboard, not the amount of energy he's expended seems to be the determining factor as to when or if he gets cramp in the closing minutes. It is cynical. If he wants to waste time, go and try to get another score. It'll kill time and it will make their position more secure. As someone once commented, he does the adverts for the energy drink giving him that extra energy and the ability to last longer, but still goes down with cramp when the scoreboard demands it. I've never seen him get it when Kerry are a couple of points down, but often when they are a few up.

Galvin gets watched closer by refs, it is true, but he has history. People always say players shouldn't be judged on their reputation. It would be more important to say that they shouldn't get that reputation in the first place. Galvin wouldn't be judged on his reputation, rightly or wrongly, if he hadn't got one. Referees don't give players reputations. Players do it them themselves. Even then, they can't be judged if they don't do something close to the edge. Players have done bad things and then never been in trouble again, and so not got a reputation. Galvin can be a great player, as he has proved, particularly the year after the "notebook" incident when he concentrated on playing the game and got player of the year. Maybe he did or didn't deserve a card today, we'll see later. Word is, he didn't. Word also is that Kerry should not have got that free. It seems more critical than Galvin's card in changing the game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Tommy Carr just hates Kerry, I never had no time for him after what he did as Dublin manager back in 2001, run up along the sideline, spitting on the ground and hurtling abuse at Maurice Fitzgerald, Fitzy kicked a famous point which went down in history and ultimately sealed that little wind-up Carr's fate as Dublin manager. He won nothing as a player and his managerial prowess would be tested on an U-12's Junior b team.

He is a GAA troll who just likes to mouth off, and he makes Kevin McStay look good, that is how bad he is.

Flukey wrote: »
    He saw what was apparently the key incident, the dubious free that led to the goal. He acknowledged he had not seen the 1st half right from the start and mentioned what he'd heard of what was going on. The key point was that big teams do often get the benefit, and we've all witnessed that.

If we are talking about Kerry, they've had their fair share of ones that went for them, and yes, some that went against them. They are cute enough at doing things when it suits. Colm Cooper never gets his 69th minute cramp when Kerry are a point or two behind for example. The scoreboard, not the amount of energy he's expended seems to be the determining factor as to when or if he gets cramp in the closing minutes. It is cynical. If he wants to waste time, go and try to get another score. It'll kill time and it will make their position more secure. As someone once commented, he does the adverts for the energy drink giving him that extra energy and the ability to last longer, but still goes down with cramp when the scoreboard demands it. I've never seen him get it when Kerry are a couple of points down, but often when they are a few up.

Galvin gets watched closer by refs, it is true, but he has history. People always say players shouldn't be judged on their reputation. It would be more important to say that they shouldn't get that reputation in the first place. Galvin wouldn't be judged on his reputation, rightly or wrongly, if he hadn't got one. Referees don't give players reputations. Players do it them themselves. Even then, they can't be judged if they don't do something close to the edge. Players have done bad things and then never been in trouble again, and so not got a reputation. Galvin can be a great player, as he has proved, particularly the year after the "notebook" incident when he concentrated on playing the game and got player of the year. Maybe he did or didn't deserve a card today, we'll see later. Word is, he didn't. Word also is that Kerry should not have got that free. It seems more critical than Galvin's card in changing the game.

IIRC no Kerry player including Gooch went down with cramp today.

He must have taken an extra swig on his energy drink so.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Stinicker wrote: »
    Tommy Carr just hates Kerry, I never had no time for him after what he did as Dublin manager back in 2001 He won nothing as a player and his managerial prowess would be tested on an U-12's Junior b team.

You must have lots lots of time for him so if you never had no time for him?? And what to fcuk is an u-12 Junior b team??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,736 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

You are far too sensitive.
    They said bad things about Mayo too, but I am not going to bother opening a thread about it.
    Media anyalists will criticise teams, get over it.
    Or would you prefer to re-iginte the Kerry whing fest we had in 2010 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

ah now lads, i know that we have exacting standards on this here forum, but asking radio phone in shows - including their experts - to only comment on things they have actually seen, read, played, or experianced themselves will leave a lot of dead air on RTE1 and newstalk.

"well joe, i didnt actually hear that lads comments but..."

"well george, i didnt actually see the pictures you're on about, but...."

"well pat, i didnt actually read the book, but...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭Dirkster

I heard it and it was in response to a text into the show asking to talk about the refereeing decsions. The question was then asked "Did any of ye see that" and Carr's response was "I got in for the 2nd half..." so he commented on that. What's wrong with that?
    Ah who cares, Tyrone are going to put ye to the sword anyway.

Stinicker wrote: »
    Tommy Carr just hates Kerry, I never had no time for him after what he did as Dublin manager back in 2001, run up along the sideline, spitting on the ground and hurtling abuse at Maurice Fitzgerald, Fitzy kicked a famous point which went down in history and ultimately sealed that little wind-up Carr's fate as Dublin manager. He won nothing as a player and his managerial prowess would be tested on an U-12's Junior b team.

He is a GAA troll who just likes to mouth off, and he makes Kevin McStay look good, that is how bad he is.

Before you start going on about Tommy Carr bear in mind that your very own Mickey Ned O'Sullivan got a bit fresh with Davy Power on the line last week during the Munster minor final.

Now granted i suppose we should just be reasonable and interpret it as Mickey Ned being a passionate football man who probably got caught up in the heat of battle but apparently he asked Davy 'What the f**k would ye know about football?' and that 'last year was a one off. a fluke'. He got his answer and his side were beaten for the third time consecutively by the mighty Premier

ah now lads, i know that we have exacting standards on this here forum, but asking radio phone in shows - including their experts - to only comment on things they have actually seen, read, played, or experianced themselves will leave a lot of dead air on RTE1 and newstalk.

"well joe, i didnt actually hear that lads comments but..."

"well george, i didnt actually see the pictures you're on about, but...."

"well pat, i didnt actually read the book, but...."

I agree. Further to that, maybe we should have a rule here that only if you were actually in the radio or television studio or there when a journalist was actually writing his article, are you allowed to come in here and complain about the media. Therefore Paddy978 as you were only "listening to this tripe on the way home" and not actually there to witness it and see things like what the facial expression of Tommy Carr was or if his fingers were crossed, then you have no right to comment.

You also said "I'm sure there are 3 or 4 thousand on the M7 home who have the same opinion." So does that mean that those that took a different route or maybe the train, or stayed over after the game are not allowed express an opinion? Fair enough so. If Tyrone do win in Killarney, and there is a problem on Take Your Point, unless you drive up to the M7 (maybe popping into the Kildare Village Outlet, even though it would be closed) and hear the comments there, don't come in here on Monday to complain. :rolleyes: Next caller please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Tommy Carr more then likely didn't even see the second half, based on his comments on RTE.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2012/0715/329275-tommy-carr-feels-referee-denied-westmeath/#idc-container

This bit is my favourite:
    "Players went for the ball, as they do, physical contact happened...and there was a free given," Carr told RTÉ Radio's Take Your Point.

"Now, you ask me why was the free given. I don't know, and I'd say there's 7,000 or 8,000 people don't know, only the referee knows.

"But I actually wonder does the referee even really know, because he saw a Kerryman going to the ground.

"The Westmeath players turned, arms out in dismay, and the ball was kicked quickly and Darran O'Sullivan went in and got the goal. That really was the turning point of the game.

He is of course referring to the incident before Kerry score the goal
    I now refer you to the incident on RTE player if you weren't at the match:

http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=10037849
    1:19:10 should get you to the incident.

I'd love to see where the Kerry player "goes to ground", or where the "physical contact" happened.

It was given for overcarrying, it happened right in front of me, and no-one around us was wondering what it was for.

Carr is a bluffer and just fanned the flames of controversy with his comments. Also his comment that Heslin should have been told it was the last kick of the game, because if he knew he would have gone for goal made me laugh.

1) Its not a referees job to inform the players how long is left etc. That call should come from the sideline.
    2) He was miles out. From the way Carr was talking, it seemed like he was told Heslin was on the 21 yard line and could have had a crack for goal himself. Even If he was talking about a high ball into the square, Kerry had enough back there to cover in all probabilty.