Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

doggy videos.

• 15-07-2012 5:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭

it's my intention to put up more videos of my dog's working and the bit of training i'm doing with my new setter. hope you all enjoy them and feel free to comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭xchrisshana

fair play dog is hunting well how did you get the dog to hunt or was just in the dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

just take her out into the fields and let what comes natural.

a couple of minutes after i stopped this video she bumped a cock pheasant so still alot to learn

i like this clip as she works well and found the bird. i have to settle her to flush but good signs.

the setter is about eight months old at the minute. this is a field that has no wild birds in it, there are about three cocks and about three baron hens in it. (birds released by myself). the local lads use it for quads and scramblers so no wild birds would hang around too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Good looking setter, Dicky.
    She definitely has the instinct and the nose.
    Good luck with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Tommy87

This is a pointer I came across on YouTube- amazin dog!

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=WZ3K61lgLvs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Nice working dog Dicky82 would like to do the same with my Springer how do I load the Video up and well done again the dog is very keen,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

Great clips Dicky, keep em coming.. a cracker you have there;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Well done Dave. Dog looks well keen.
    Wouldn't worry about the flush. That's just excitement.

just a bit of exercise really, lots of rabbits bolting about but didn't get any on the clip.

just a bit of messing nothing too serious.

same as before nothing too serious.

so another bit of work with the setter. she stalked in on a hen pheasant but unfortunately i bumped it on her and didn't get it on the clip. . .

question to any hpr men. if this was a real situation on a cock bird would you have shot it given that she set it and stalked it, it was my fault that the bird was bumped. . . actaully it was because i was trying to get a good clip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

dicky82 wrote: »

question to any hpr men. if this was a real situation on a cock bird would you have shot it given that she set it and stalked it, it was my fault that the bird was bumped

If the dog is working & setting birds & you bump it which often happens I would shoot it.
    If the dog is unsteady & needs work then don't. From the video the setter is coming along nicely & will be ready to drop a bird come November.

cheers ep. ye she's starting to cop on a bit now, that was actually the first time she seemed to take the set and stalk very seriously.:D. still loads to learn for us both but i'm enjoying getting there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 hunter91

Aw crap...i expected sometin totally different when i seen the name of this thread...ha ah no good videos lad fair play

well once again i was out with the setter. she found and flushed three cock pheasants but due to some slack camera work on my part the clips aren't that great. she did do something that made my jaw drop. while she was is mid gallop she locked a scent and turned in the air so when she landed she was facing 90* from where she had jumped. . . pure class to see her find that bird but i was too late with the camera.

she did stalk this bird but i only got a few seconds of it on film.