Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Santa Ponsa

• 13-07-2012 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1

A few friends have booked a holiday in Santa Ponsa in September. Santa Ponsa wouldn't have been my choice but I just kind of went along with it. However I'm a bit worried now after reading some stuff on it. I heard its boring and just full of scumbags. Is it actually that bad? I don't plan on spending all of my time in Santa Ponsa. Its just some place to go back to at night. Has anyone been there in early September? How is it then? The nightlife, people etc. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 robd55

Hi

Was there 4 years ago. Its messy in the same way any Saturday night out is anywhere but saw not rouble there. In face had a good time there as these type of holidays go. As regards other activities there is a pleasant boat trip and going to the main city on the island is worth a look but not a large amount of non beach activites to do. Take a trip to Magaluf to see how the Brits do it. The actual place is grand as it goes and the beach is fine. I was there in peak (July) so cant say what it is like in September so maybe there will be more LCerts there? Overall heard bad things but was pleasantly surprised, enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

A few friends have booked a holiday in Santa Ponsa in September. Santa Ponsa wouldn't have been my choice but I just kind of went along with it. However I'm a bit worried now after reading some stuff on it. I heard its boring and just full of scumbags. Is it actually that bad? I don't plan on spending all of my time in Santa Ponsa. Its just some place to go back to at night. Has anyone been there in early September? How is it then? The nightlife, people etc. Thanks

Hey there girl_dublin,

I was there very recently.. as in june 16th-23rd..
    Its a lovely place to visit.. there are not as many scumbags there as there is in magaluf in my view.. you lll have a ball there..nightlife is very good and cheap also to eat out.. september will be a bit quieter as the season is nearly over..but you ll enjoy it none the less :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭QuantumP

I've been at that time of year on a few occasions. It lovely!

Yes there are the odd scrot here and there but its the same anywhere you go in the world, it's not 'full of scumbags' at all. Don't bother them and they don't bother you - simples. Magaluf would be a more concentrated centre of scum haha, but it's still not bad! I wouldn't let that put you off.

There's plenty to do in Ponsa. Scuba diving, boat trips etc.. I would definitely venture into Palma for a days shopping too, it's a crackin' city with lovely streets and nice shops. Night life in Santa Ponsa is decent, will be quieter at that stage though.

I'd recommend a taxi to Magaluf if you want a 'big night' out in BCM or Majorca Rocks if someone is playing. Taxi will run you about a score so it's not too bad between a group and it's only down the road.

Have a great holiday :)

''Believe none of what you hear, and half of what you see'' ;) :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Last time I was there was 10 years ago and I had a great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

I commented in another thread on Santa Ponsa:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=79777501&postcount=5

There are a few nice bars.... Most of the "Irish Bars" are the same. Not great. We did find a lovely bar beside the best western hotel where the main bus stop area is at the main roundabout. Seemed to be a good few locals in it. nice place to have a few beers etc....

It was not full of scumbags at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Ahh Bally Ponsa! Did my Comp. Crew there about three years ago so I was only in there at night. Thought it was grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Ahh Bally Ponsa!

Haha that's true!

Op it's a nice spot, beach is nice and the bars are good..not full of scumbags at all IMO. I find it's more of a family spot though, but you'll have a good time. You may bump into your neighbours though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭bazingaboom

Full of people who lie in the sun all day burning themselves beyond recognition and then getting hammered everynight. Lots of leaving certs and people who dont care about any culture or seeing anything except the bars and the beach.
    I went after my leaving cert and thought it was fine as all I wanted to do was great drunk. Would never go again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭Polygon_window

Hire a car and go around the hills/mountains, its actually qite a nice island, all beach resorts are the same, trouble usually only comes if you go looking, enjoy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭tonymontana82

i go there almost every year around september time, iv honestly never seen that much trouble, it seems to have got alot more family orientated the last few years which is nice, the night life is great i reckon & everything is within walking distance, there used to be alot of prostitutes in the centre a few years ago but are all gone now;) you will have a great time, enjoy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 90 ✭✭Leper

If you're going to do Santa Ponsa, September is the time to go; weather not too hot, climate comfortable and most lager louts and most other white tracksuit bottom low-life thankfully already returned from whence they came. I look on Santa Ponsa akin to driving onto a huge busy roundabout, so dangerous that it is safe because everybody is on the look-out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Being on edge all the time does not sound appealing. I have booked to stay in Cal D'Or which may not be a fun drive after arriving on a late flight. Still thinking about resorts closer to Palma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 961 ✭✭✭TEMPLAR KNIGHT

Ive been to santa ponsa 4 times. 3 times with my family (stayed in the plazamar about 15 mins walk into town great family hotel) and once on a lads holiday(stayed in the sun beach right in the centre of town great spot), I love it there on all my trips never had any problems with anyone else lovely resort and a great laugh. I wasnt on edge there once to be honest, and the beach is beautiful aswell, and on the left side of the bay theres lovely resaurants to sit and watch the sun go down. magaluf is where the english mainly go and santa ponsa irish/scottish, but going to BCM in magaluf is well worth it great nights I had there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

It is full of Irish louts in GAA jerseys horsing back cheap jugs of whatever thay can get into them. Magaluf is a lot nicer visually, has better music, clubs, men, cheaper drinks and shots for free and is home to the biggest club in Europe. Not even a contest but it is easier for the Irish tour operators to send Irish to santa Ponsa as it is an Irish resort but to be fair it is a bit off putting. Taxi into Magaluf would be your best option.
    That is unless you like hoardes of drunk Irish lads, or off their head falling around Irish lads.

eternal wrote: »
    It is full of Irish louts in GAA jerseys horsing back cheap jugs of whatever thay can get into them. Magaluf is a lot nicer visually, has better music, clubs, men, cheaper drinks and shots for free and is home to the biggest club in Europe. Not even a contest but it is easier for the Irish tour operators to send Irish to santa Ponsa as it is an Irish resort but to be fair it is a bit off putting. Taxi into Magaluf would be your best option.
    That is unless you like hoardes of drunk Irish lads, or off their head falling around Irish lads.

magaluf is way worse than santa ponsa for drunken louts, iv been there enough to know, magaluf is nice during the day as there is more activities to do such as go karting, water park, pirate show etc.. but there is always alot of fighting in magaluf anytime iv been there. its basically full of guys wearing english jerseys in large groups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 961 ✭✭✭TEMPLAR KNIGHT

magaluf is way worse than santa ponsa for drunken louts, iv been there enough to know, magaluf is nice during the day as there is more activities to do such as go karting, water park, pirate show etc.. but there is always alot of fighting in magaluf anytime iv been there. its basically full of guys wearing english jerseys in large groups.

Totally agree with this to be honest, wasn't going to say it in my other post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭QuantumP

home to the biggest club in Europe
    ?

Ehhh, no it's not... wrong island

QuantumP wrote: »
    home to the biggest club in Europe
    ?

Ehhh, no it's not... wrong island
    Back in 2007 it was the biggest club and I have a right to my opinion and that is what I experienced over there. I thought Magaluf was friendlier but I am female so maybe that's why. I have always found the UK men to be nicer than Irish guys. Especially in groups.

thats fair enough, its just when you complained about irish guys drinking cheap jugs of alcohol in santa ponsa then said magaluf was better because the drink is cheaper, just abit confused as to your reasons. :) nothing personal. and by the way, you were right about it being the biggest club in europe although i dont think it is anymore.

What I meant about the drinking was that around Santa Ponsa I just saw loads of guys guzzling back drink until they literally passed out on the floor of the pub. In Magaluf it was like a free shot if you buy a drink, which is grand if you know what you are doing. It was more clubby orientated there with not so many totally drunk people. That is not to say that I don't get drunk or whatever, it just seemed like they were trying to outdo each other.
    The place where we stayed was really rough. There was a gang of lads from the north in the apartment over ours and one of the guys was pissing out over the balcony, you could see it going down. There was another gang across the apartment complex that had a loudspeaker and were roaring into it first thing in the morning. And also, one dude took it upon himself to take a dump in the lift just for the hell of it. I think we were unlucky in the pace we stayed though and the crowd. Although some of the other people staying there seemed ok. I just get the notion that Irish people go abroad to these resorts to drink as much as is humanly possible and treat the place like a tip. They should try and respect the culture and the country that they are a guest in. No wonder so many Spanish hate tourists.

What I meant about the drinking was that around Santa Ponsa I just saw loads of guys guzzling back drink until they literally passed out on the floor of the pub. In Magaluf it was like a free shot if you buy a drink, which is grand if you know what you are doing. It was more clubby orientated there with not so many totally drunk people. That is not to say that I don't get drunk or whatever, it just seemed like they were trying to outdo each other.
    The place where we stayed was really rough. There was a gang of lads from the north in the apartment over ours and one of the guys was pissing out over the balcony, you could see it going down. There was another gang across the apartment complex that had a loudspeaker and were roaring into it first thing in the morning. And also, one dude took it upon himself to take a dump in the lift just for the hell of it. I think we were unlucky in the pace we stayed though and the crowd. Although some of the other people staying there seemed ok. I just get the notion that Irish people go abroad to these resorts to drink as much as is humanly possible and treat the place like a tip. They should try and respect the culture and the country that they are a guest in. No wonder so many Spanish hate tourists.
    Ya understand you totally, I have seen that aswell in some of the apartments there, from my exp I think sun beach which is just at the roundabout & verdamar are where all the younger crowds stay & can be rough enough depending on the size of the groups. What I will say is that because of the fact Santa ponsa is small compared to magaluf, then any slight bit of trouble will be seen alot easier as everything is located at a small roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Mervin J Minky

I went to Santa Ponsa in mid June with my girlfriend. We stayed in the Verdemar Apartments and I couldn't really fault the place. The beach and bay is quite small but it's perfect for swimming and sun bathing. The night life is okay but not as busy as Magaluf. There are some lovely restaurants around, especially Las Olas who do amazing paella.

What a hateful and ill-informed post. Do you really think that English men are better behaved then Irish men? Most people would say different. Also from what I observed the only people that we puking, screaming or passing out on the street in Santa Ponsa were young Irish women who couldn't handle their drink. That wouldn't put me off going back and I wouldn't hold it up as an example why people should avoid the resort unless I wanted to be really spiteful.

I went to Santa Ponsa in mid June with my girlfriend. We stayed in the Verdemar Apartments and I couldn't really fault the place. The beach and bay is quite small but it's perfect for swimming and sun bathing. The night life is okay but not as busy as Magaluf. There are some lovely restaurants around, especially Las Olas who do amazing paella.

What a hateful and ill-informed post. Do you really think that English men are better behaved then Irish men? Most people would say different. Also from what I observed the only people that we puking, screaming or passing out on the street in Santa Ponsa were young Irish women who couldn't handle their drink. That wouldn't put me off going back and I wouldn't hold it up as an example why people should avoid the resort unless I wanted to be really spiteful.
    I agree with you, I find English in general to be far more ignorant & off their heads when I'm on holidays, like I said above it's just cos Santa ponsa is smaller it's easier to spot any incident

How can somebodies personal experience be ill informed. I'm going by my experience and I saw no drunk women whatsoever there. It could only be ill informed if I hadn't actually gone there and made the whole lot up. Boards seems to have problems with people who voice their opinion.
    Furthermore I still believe UK men are nicer and more attractive than Irish men. And I suppose I imagined the guy pissing off the balcony too. This is what I experienced,, enough said.

How can somebodies personal experience be ill informed. I'm going by my experience and I saw no drunk women whatsoever there. It could only be ill informed if I hadn't actually gone there and made the whole lot up. Boards seems to have problems with people who voice their opinion.
    Furthermore I still believe UK men are nicer and more attractive than Irish men. And I suppose I imagined the guy pissing off the balcony too. This is what I experienced,, enough said.
    How often have you actually been to Santa ponsa? To be honest I don't see what attractiveness has got to do with anything, it's not like just because a guy is good-looking , he doesn't act like a piss head. That doesn't justify anything in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Mervin J Minky

I'm not going to bother debating this further with you as you are obviously trying to push your own little anti-Irish guys agenda here and I don't want to be part of it as it's totally ridiculous and completely off topic.

Also as far as I'm aware of Boards doesn't have problems with people who voice their opinions, but crass generalizations are obviously heavily frowned upon on these forums and useally only end up with infractions and locked threads.