Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone started ferretin yet

• 12-07-2012 9:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭

Anyone started their season yet
    I stopped in march when my Jill got pregnant
    Started back 3 weeks ago roughly as was gettin calls from farmers as crops are growing
    Its gettin harder tho as the grass is growing way to fast and the burrows are harder to net as the days go on and am missin rabbits all the time still gettin a few tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Never stopped but the grass around my way is high,so use the trusty strimmer haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Spunk84 wrote: »
    Never stopped but the grass around my way is high,so use the trusty strimmer haha
    Strummer ha won't be bringing that with me il bring the machete for ferretin but what'll I use for the grass lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

i used to bring a hedge clippers ..how about long netting i have one in the shed never used it if anyone wants in they are more than welcome to it although it might need un tangling

anthonyos wrote: »
    i used to bring a hedge clippers ..how about long netting i have one in the shed never used it if anyone wants in they are more than welcome to it although it might need un tangling
    Where you livin need one of them bad boys ASAP

dublin im failry sure it still there never used think its 20mtrs and i cut a bit of one time

Where bouts in Dublin I'm in tallaght myself I'm ferretin a golf course tomoro kinda need it
    That's be brill

Seen a video on YouTube and they had this little camera on his head showed him chasin the rabbits out
    Thinkin of gettin one anyone seen these

did you ever use the muzzles on them a bought them years ago but couldnt figure out how to fit them i was alway wondering

Na never bothered with them ferret needs to bite a rabbit if it won't budge like a big buck won't budge unless it's bitten
    I know of lads cuttin the teeth on a ferret so it won't kill but don't know anyone that uses the muzzle
    Pain in the bollox doin that id say

i wouldnt use them myself but i picked them up when orderin my ferreting gear a few years ago back i could never figure how to fit it on the ferrets head mind boggling stuff for i dyslexic like myself :)

Id put it on the Missus lol
    Been searching the web there can't find any of these little cameras
    Be deadly if I could see my ferrets actually hunting

how about maplin ...there is rabbit bones tangled up in the net

how about maplin
    What's that

its a shop that woild sell that sort of stuff there is one in blanchardstown

Didn't know that might give it a look tomoro

ye worth a look il talk ye when i see ye iv no sticks for the net so if you intend using it tomorrow you will need 10 or so 3ft sticks so get cutting:pac:

Got out to my land that I ferret an found 3 little scummers ferretin it with 4 dead rabbits and they couldn't even tell me who owned the land
    What to do in that situation?

Anyway went off to another land I have an tried it for first time got 2 rabbits and missed bout 12 couldn't see the holes netted loads obviously missed them tho but I know where the are now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭transit260

one thing to think about with muzzles,what happens if your ferret encounters a rat below ground.hes naturally going to try and eradicate the pest,with a muzzle on he gets eaten to bits himself.There is no place in this day and age for muzzles in the fiels.what happened if,say you lost the ferret.Maybe he slips out into the long grass and you dont spot him,he gets away and he cant eat or drink with a muzzle on,not a nice way to die is it?Forget the muzzles for the sake of having to dig a rabbit every now and then.With this time of the year the ferret is going to encounter young rabbits which,by size cant get away fast enough.Theres going to be a lot of kills underground.Do what should be done with all muzzles,bin the stupid things.