Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NO GI Competition 29th July

• 12-07-2012 2:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭

Since the No Gi cup couldnt go ahead Spartan Training Centre has decided to host a no gi competition for all the competitors that trained for this and couldnt compete unfortunately.

The competition will be on Sunday the 29th of July

Entry Fee will be 20 euro

This will be a single elimination style competition and we will be running it as a points tournament

Weight Classes will be Ibjjf no gi ones for beginner and intermediate

http://www.ibjjf.org/nogiweightlist.pdf

advanced will be under and over 75 kilos

Beginners will weigh in at 10

Inter at 11

Advanced at 12

we will be looking for people to help out on the day, people who help out will have there entry fee covered and if not competing we will try pay you for your services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 TomHalpin

Any chance of having this as a round robin format again? It's great for the smaller tournaments not to have the pressure of losing and only getting one fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭StcIreland

TomHalpin wrote: »
    Any chance of having this as a round robin format again? It's great for the smaller tournaments not to have the pressure of losing and only getting one fight.

Hey Tom, i do see where u are coming from and we will keep to round robin for the sub wrestling competitions,

as this is a no gi points tournament we want to do it as a single elimination format, that being said if we have low numbers of entrants we might change the style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 DomBJJ

good idea.
    I attended the Sub Wrestling comp last year and it was a great craic, especially because a round robin style- no pressure or stress when the match is lost !! I will be there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭steviemac

So do you pay on the day ?? and when you REG. on your Spartan site is that it. or is that on the day to ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Bres

You can pay on the day, We prefer if you register before so we can get an idea of numbers and ensure the competition runs smoothly. But we also let stragglers register on the day too.

steviemac wrote: »
    So do you pay on the day ?? and when you REG. on your Spartan site is that it. or is that on the day to ??

For anyone looking to compete can register the following details to stcireland@gmail.com

Name

Weight

Experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭steviemac

So Bres Is it Ibjjf NOGI rules as well as weights ???

it will be points tournament

no leg attacks at beginner

straight foot lock only at inter

kneebars toe holds at advanced

Hope Daniel covered your question there... there are no advantage points though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

Bres wrote: »
    there are no advantage points though...

How come?

How come?

As we decided if matches are a draw then it will be first to score a point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 mark austin

Mark Austin (tuatha de danann portlaoise) I want to register for the no gi bjj competition on Sunday the 29th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 hiromatsu22

StcIreland wrote: »
    As we decided if matches are a draw then it will be first to score a point

Just wondering about the next score being the winner thing. Does the match stop and get stood up and then its next score, or does it continue from the position it was in when the time is up?

Cheers,

Just wondering about the next score being the winner thing. Does the match stop and get stood up and then its next score, or does it continue from the position it was in when the time is up?

Cheers,

it will get stood up and then begin, standing up is a neutral position so gives both competitors an equal chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Shane Fitz

Cheers,

it will get stood up and then begin, standing up is a neutral position so gives both competitors an equal chance

Cue the "rugby tackle" takedown fest!

Shane Fitz wrote: »
    Cue the "rugby tackle" takedown fest!

not necessarily as pulling guard is allowed so this element take away the take down fest

just bumping this as its tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 jay_wilson

have you had many entry's for beginners class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 GARR

Hi
    Any idea what time the first 'matches will get underway ??
    Is there a spectator fee ??

Cheers

garr

jay_wilson wrote: »

yes there have been about 10 or 15 registered but i would expect a good few on the day like there always is

GARR wrote: »
    Hi
    Any idea what time the first 'matches will get underway ??
    Is there a spectator fee ??

Cheers

garr

hopefully kick off as close to 10 as possible, we do not charge a spectator fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 michaelmouse

Today was a great show lads, thanks for organizing event, a lot of work required. fair play to referees and anyone involved. some good ability on display esp the younger lads.... and not a scumbag in sight

Disgusted I missed it !! Did many show up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 michaelmouse

good numbers, bout 30 competitors, maybe more.. decent crowd, well run and refereed... not many heavy lads though... surprising seeing as they're beside burger king

hahaha thanks again! Yeah Burger King is both a blessing and a curse! Really have to finish fitting the kitchen this week so i stop strolling over for lunch and waddling back! :)