Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

thoughts on Saab 9-5

• 12-07-2012 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭

The wife is looking for a car, she likes big saloons, and the Saab 9-5 has caugt her eye. Don't know much about them, other than what I've been reading online since she suggested it. Would be looking at '07/08 model, petrol. I'm aware that that model was coming to the end of its life then, and had been around a long time. Was it miles behind fresher models by then?
    In terms of use, mainly in Dublin, a spin down the country a few times a year, and an annual trip home (for her) to northern Spain for about 4 weeks covering maybe 6k km. Maybe 12k km in total over the year.
    Prices seem to be reasonable, particularly on biopower models. I know you can't get e85 here any more, but with 6k or so put up through France/Spain each year it might be worth it. Can you even get e85 there anymore?
    So, any thoughts? Do they stack up against the likes of a similar age mondeo, mazda 6, octavia, or just a different era?
    Incidentally, would be going down the remap route, which i think should bring the 2.0t from 150 to about 180bhp, if that makes any difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

A buddy picked up an 07 95t recently and is delighted with it. They're a bit boxy and the interior is a little dated but he loves the drive, but then he came from something a lot smaller.

There's great value in them right now, but I'd worry about the on again off again Saab story.

Another option you might consider is a Volvo S80*. The design is fresher and if you get an SE-Lux it's loaded to the hilt. 07 2.5T models can be had cheap (high motor tax being the culprit, presumably). 197 bhp and pretty nippy:
    http://www.carfolio.com/specifications/models/car/?car=142956

This one is nice, low mileage and loaded with toys:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/S80/2.5-T-LU/6113332023047870/advert?channel=CARS

* Disclaimer: I recommend Volvos to everyone. I have an S40. If I drove only 12,000km per year I'd be in an S80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Id have the voltvo over the saab too. Fierce value in s60 and s80 and a much more modern feel to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Jackaroe

I like those volvos, and they look like cracking value too. Not sure if they're her cup of tea, but I'll show her the photos;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭v240gltse

hi jackaroe

definitely the Volvo s80 is the winner here . My wife has an 04 model packed full of goodies and in the 3 years she has had it , it only needed new tyres and a regular service as did teh previous S80 she had.

great great value for money and the 2.0T is very very punchy indeed

brendan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

I agree with the other lads, the 95 is dated on the inside for a new car, wouldnt be my cup of tea I have to say. Reliable wise, I think there grand

ok, I emailed her a link to a volvo, and she doesn't like it! But apparently the 9-3 is nice too, so what about that, is that any better a proposition thank the 9-5?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

Jackaroe wrote: »
    ok, I emailed her a link to a volvo, and she doesn't like it! But apparently the 9-3 is nice too, so what about that, is that any better a proposition thank the 9-5?

9-3 isn't exactly a big saloon. Interior is still dated.

I take it the Volvo would make her feel old? I'd love it, but I like big comfortable Dad cars, sounds like your wife wants something a little more sporty.

If a smaller saloon will do, what about an IS250?
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Lexus/IS250/2.5-%5B430/22713415708535960/advert?channel=CARS

Great value in big petrol 5-series e60s:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/525-I-SE/201210207272143/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

The 9-5s are noted for having problems with the oil turning into sludge - a full service history is essential so that you know it's had frequent oil changes. As the others have said though, if you want a big comfy barge, get the S80, but the old model, which is the last car designed by Volvo before Ford took them over (and is all the better for being a 'proper' Volvo too I might add).

I agree, think the 9-3 is too small, and she won't like it in the flesh.
    BMW could be an option. That one's knocking around a long time now, pretty sure I came across that a few months ago when I started searching for large petrols.
    MrDerp wrote: »
    9-3 isn't exactly a big saloon. Interior is still dated.

I take it the Volvo would make her feel old? I'd love it, but I like big comfortable Dad cars, sounds like your wife wants something a little more sporty.

If a smaller saloon will do, what about an IS250?
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Lexus/IS250/2.5-%5B430/22713415708535960/advert?channel=CARS

Great value in big petrol 5-series e60s:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/525-I-SE/201210207272143/advert?channel=CARS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

What about the parts issues? Apparently very fresh Saabs are being rendered useless due to a lack of replacement Immobiliser control units - GM has found it, apparently, impossible to decipher the changes Saab made to the standard GM item and cannot supply replacements. This, seemingly, is an issue which is coming to light with more and more Saab parts. Or am I wrong?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Gotta be the Volvo, that generation saab is just a tarted up Vectra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

The 9-5s are noted for having problems with the oil turning into sludge - a full service history is essential so that you know it's had frequent oil changes. As the others have said though, if you want a big comfy barge, get the S80, but the old model, which is the last car designed by Volvo before Ford took them over (and is all the better for being a 'proper' Volvo too I might add).

The sludge issue won't affect the cars the op is looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Gotta be the Volvo, that generation saab is just a tarted up Vectra

Ah come on. They don't share anything really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I don't know about '08 and onwards cars (I'd probably pick an '08 Volvo S80 over an '08 Saab 9-5 myself), but an '07 or older Saab 9-5 is the best value for money decent large petrol car by a long shot

Yes the car is old fashioned and looks dated (it came out in '97 and is based on the platform of the '88 Opel Vectra - but the engine and most other parts are from Saab), but it is comfortable, luxurious (most have leather) big (with massive boot) and when it came out first, it was the safest car ever tested by Euro NCAP

I bought a 10 year old Saab 9-5 myself last year in excellent condition with massive Saab history and 78k miles for just over a grand. Crazy value for money. Everybody is buying small diesels, nobody wants big petrol cars anymore :)
    The 9-5s are noted for having problems with the oil turning into sludge

That problem doesn't apply to '04 and newer 9-5...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

unkel wrote: »
    nobody wants big petrol cars anymore :)

I wouldn't say "nobody" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

I wouldn't say "nobody" ;)

Lol so true :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭JAMM222

That sludge problem was well sorted by 07/08
    I have a 07 95 and it's a fantastic car I would highly recommend it

And the spares issue?

What spares issue?

Whenever a make goes down, there's always the kneejerk reaction / assumption that there will be no parts available

People should understand that spare parts have very, very high margins, so as long as the make is somewhat mainstream, there is a lucrative business to be started by someone even if the original supplier is out of action

When Rover was Over the same remarks were made here and parts are still widely available and no more expensive than for other makes. Many years later. Search for the Rover threads here for the craic ;)

What spares issue?

Whenever a make goes down, there's always the kneejerk reaction / assumption that there will be no parts available

People should understand that spare parts have very, very high margins, so as long as the make is somewhat mainstream, there is a lucrative business to be started by someone even if the original supplier is out of action

When Rover was Over the same remarks were made here and parts are still widely available and no more expensive than for other makes. Many years later. Search for the Rover threads here for the craic ;)
    Hmm, ok, but the issue with Saab is that they would take a GM part, modify and Saabify it, fit it and alls good. Problem now is, ie with the immobiliser scu, GM can not for the life of them work out what the feck Saab did with the software mods, hence while the GM part will fit, is outwardly identical, it won't work. The Security control unit for almost new 9-5 's is NLA and GM cannot remanufacture them to help owners out as they apparently cannot replicate the part. So, if your SCU fries(and they do), your car is parked up. It is not pub talk, and it somthing to be aware of if contemplating buying a Saab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Pottler wrote: »
    What spares issue?

Hmm, ok, but the issue with Saab is that they would take a GM part, modify and Saabify it, fit it and alls good. Problem now is, ie with the immobiliser scu, GM can not for the life of them work out what the feck Saab did with the software mods, hence while the GM part will fit, is outwardly identical, it won't work. The Security control unit for almost new 9-5 's is NLA and GM cannot remanufacture them to help owners out as they apparently cannot replicate the part. So, if your SCU fries(and they do), your car is parked up. It is not pub talk, and it somthing to be aware of if contemplating buying a Saab.

Some ex-Saab engineer will open up an online business cracking those units. Look at old 928 so-called outdated electronics.......20 years later.....and it's now easier, not harder, to sort. And there's a lot more 9-5's than 928's.....big market for someone....

I just traded down from a 9-3 to an older 9-5, and I love it. And I'm quids ahead, as well. Win-Win for me.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    Some ex-Saab engineer will open up an online business cracking those units. Look at old 928 so-called outdated electronics.......20 years later.....and it's now easier, not harder, to sort. And there's a lot more 9-5's than 928's.....big market for someone....

I just traded down from a 9-3 to an older 9-5, and I love it. And I'm quids ahead, as well. Win-Win for me.

Ooh I love you talking about 9-5 and 928 in the one post :)

Tell us about your glorified Vectra!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,386 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Saab 9-5 a gorgeous car especially in metallic black. Keep it waxed.

They're reliable, roomy. Thinking about one myself

What engine does yours have? And how do you find it? A lot of the ones I see are the 2.0t, 150bhp, and I wonder how it copes? I believe it remaps to about 180 anyway so that should help I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Jackaroe wrote: »

What engine does yours have? And how do you find it? A lot of the ones I see are the 2.0t, 150bhp, and I wonder how it copes? I believe it remaps to about 180 anyway so that should help I suppose.

I changed from one diesel to another: from the 150bhp 1.9 to the older 120bhp 2.2 , but I changed for the car, not the engine. Bought a 9-5 Estate, in auto, with all the toys, leather etc. Half the price of a comparable A6 estate....

My brother is on his 3rd 9-5, and has never had any issues: and all of them petrol turbos. Mind you, his current one is a 3.0 petrol turbo, so not exactly common....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road”