Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thoughts on a High HC using Low HC Irons

• 10-07-2012 3:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭

Firstly, just want to clarify that I don't think I'm a tormented low handicapper trapped in the shanking body of a high handicapper!
    Ok I lie, don't we all :D
    I'm well aware that these irons wont solve my problems but feel like I'm taking the right steps elsewhere to improve (lessons, plenty of good practice etc) and I have begun to feel a lot more comfortable in my swing of late.
    Am playing to 18 the last few months (bar 1 or 2 disasters) and awaiting official HC, would have played to 21 last year

A friend that lives abroad recently left his clubs, Titleist 704CB, with me.
    Reviews I've read have said they are suitable for mid to low hc.
    I've taken them up to the range the last few nights and love the feel of them, hitting them as good/better than my set of Callaway BigBertha irons (high hc irons) that I got when I started.
    Since things began to click with my swing a few months ago, I've really noticed the weight of the head on my Callaway irons, the head seems dis-proportionality heavy in my swing.

Ok, so what exactly am I asking!
    A few questions I guess

1. Do you buy into the HC irons for HC'ers?
    2. If yes, when at what stage/HC do you recommend switching
    3. If no, curious to hear reasons, do they mask flaws that should really be addressed when starting out etc?

And finally

4. Should I just man up, shut up, and hope my mate takes his time returning from overseas? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Firstly, just want to clarify that I don't think I'm a tormented low handicapper trapped in the shanking body of a high handicapper!
    Ok I lie, don't we all :D
    I'm well aware that these irons wont solve my problems but feel like I'm taking the right steps elsewhere to improve (lessons, plenty of good practice etc) and I have begun to feel a lot more comfortable in my swing of late.

A friend that lives abroad recently left his clubs, Titleist 704CB, with me.
    Reviews I've read have said they are suitable for mid to low hc.
    I've taken them up to the range the last few nights and love the feel of them, hitting them as good/better than my set of Callaway BigBertha irons (high hc irons) that I got when I started.
    Since things began to click with my swing a few months ago, I've really noticed the weight of the head on my Callaway irons, the head seems dis-proportionality heavy in my swing.

Ok, so what exactly am I asking!
    A few questions I guess

1. Do you buy into the HC irons for HC'ers?
    2. If yes, when at what stage/HC do you recommend switching
    3. If no, curious to hear reasons, do they mask flaws that should really be addressed when starting out etc?

And finally

4. Should I just man up, shut up, and hope my mate takes his time returning from overseas? :)

As a man here who has a habit of chopping and changing clubs heres my 2c. First off, forget about the range, you need to go play rounds with these clubs. I got a set of MP 68 blades last year for the craic as i had spare cash and they were too sexy to not buy :)

I was hittin em great on the range with them, fades draws highs lows, on the course i could not hit them consistent AT ALL, one crap shot one good shot one crap shot one good shot etc etc. They werent helping me at all, bit the bullet, sold them on and invested in my new puppies

I got 712 AP2 which have helped me from 18 to 9 this year and i feel CONFIDENT with them, thats the main thing when standing on a par 3 200 yds with water ha.

I tried a few of the larger GI clubs like g20s and i thought they were horrible. BUT I can see how they would help guys with off centre hits and with guys who catch them heavy as with thicker soles you get away with a lot more.

You cant really put a hcap on irons as theres many many different type of ball strikers out there, only way to really find out is to hit diff irons and see what gets best results, its really as simple as that.

EDIT: Those cbs are a good club, but to be honest, to be hitting them consistent ur gonna have to know what you're doing aswell,you wont get away with much. Go play a few rounds then report back i reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Cheers Tones,

Yip, I'm aware about not reading too much into the range, weather has just meant that I haven't been able to get over the last week to try them.

The main thing I'm taking from you is confidence with club in hand, counter intuitively I have more confidence (maybe they just haven't had a chance to bite me yet) with the 704's. Mainly down to the more balanced feel I get from them when swinging.

I'll get out on the course with them and let them have a nibble and report back.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I was on e-bay a few years ago (while having a few beers at home - BAD idea) and bid on a full set of Mizuno blades for the crack. A week later they were at my house waiting for me!! Tried them at the range a few times and not too bad, brought them to the course - christ they really penalise your mis-hits. Where with my clubs at the time you might get away with a few poor shots there was no room for error with these. I take out the SW every now and then and can get a much nicer chip than my Di9's but thats about it.

They are sitting gathering dust in an old bag in the kids play room!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭DEVOTION

Do it. If you're getting lessons at the moment then there's no reason why you can't learn to hit them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Interesting debate. Very hard to know what's best for you. While I know the GI clubs are better for off centre hits they feel heavier in my hands and I find are harder to swing.
    If between both, where do you go? GI or players club? It's a big decision for most including me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

After reading this thread I now want to change my clubs :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

1 yes
    2 10 or lower

Been there done that wasted the cash
    Bought mizuno semi blades a while back when off about 11 or 12 brought em back 10 says later after 4 rounds
    Couldn't hit 4 or 5 iron well enough
    Lost €100ish
    Bought Callaway pro series they got me to 6 still have them

After reading this thread I now want to change my clubs :pac:

I'll swap with ya the next day out and see what you think. Will bring the blades for myself for the crack!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

What clubs do have again?

Wilson Staff Di9's. Got them brand new at the end of last year. Love playing with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭DiegoWorst

As you are trying to improve with lessons, practice etc., it might not be a bad idea to play a few rounds with so called low h/cap clubs.
    If you're playing complete rubbish with them, put them aside.

The better player's clubs are more forgiving these days, unlike traditional blades, you dont't have to hit exactly on the sweet spot to get any distance.
    Also, these clubs will give you better feedback on slightly off centre hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I started playing with pure cast blades when i was in my teens, they were from the 1980's and i didn't have money or need to purchase anything else. After those i move to "mid to low HC" irons as anything bigger i just couldn't hit.

The Titlest CB's might not be the best iron for you but if you have the time to practice and are playing regularly they might get your HC down quicker than GI irons, after the initial learning to hit them phase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Handicap doesn't determine how strong your iron play is, you could be a 10 with your irons and an 18 in regards to short game or off the tee. Try them and see how it goes

Got to test the new clubs out on the course for first time last night.
    A quick 9 holes up at Glencullen GC.

Hoping it wasn't beginners luck, but the irons felt great.

Got off to an average (for me playing off 18) start.
    Was 4 over after the first three holes.
    Things started to click then and played the last 6 holes 3 over (with 3 pars & 3 bogeys).

Ended up with 20pts, my best 9 hole score to date.... (better score than my last two 18 hole rounds tbh :o )

Good stuff dude :D But be sure to Get in 3 or 4 18 hole rounds then see how they go, really cant gauge new irons but banging in 9 holes, short game and putting could have been on form.

Just remembering back to last year when i got the aul mizzys, my first few scores were within 1 or 2 strokes of my norm and i thought "yeah these are grand sure". But really i knew i was hitting feckin no GIR and my chipping and putting was saving my scores. Only one reason you want irons for, and thats to be making good contact and hitting GIR. Whether it be a blade or a hunkachunk, thats the one ;)

Tones69 wrote: »
    Good stuff dude :D But be sure to Get in 3 or 4 18 hole rounds then see how they go, really cant gauge new irons but banging in 9 holes, short game and putting could have been on form.

Just remembering back to last year when i got the aul mizzys, my first few scores were within 1 or 2 strokes of my norm and i thought "yeah these are grand sure". But really i knew i was hitting feckin no GIR and my chipping and putting was saving my scores. Only one reason you want irons for, and thats to be making good contact and hitting GIR. Whether it be a blade or a hunkachunk, thats the one ;)

Ah for F**k sake Tones, you said try them on the course, I did, now you want more.... Don't hit a man whens he's up!!! :D

I know what you mean though... I'll await final judgement for a few rounds. But positive start anyway.
    It definitely wasn't the putting that helped my score though, I 3 putt a couple of times and didn't nail anything outside of 6 foot.

Ah for F**k sake Tones, you said try them on the course, I did, now you want more.... Don't hit a man whens he's up!!! :D

I know what you mean though... I'll await final judgement for a few rounds. But positive start anyway.
    It definitely wasn't the putting that helped my score though, I 3 putt a couple of times and didn't nail anything outside of 6 foot.

9 holes,20 pts, +4 for the first 3, so 2 pars and a double then 3 pars and 3 bogeys. No up and downs and a few 3 putts? That would mean you hit like at least 6-7 out of 9 greens??? If you did that then ur handicap wont be long coming down and also ur hitting those irons well so far. Never seen an 18 hcapper shoot 20 pts for 9 holes with a few putts lol, thats the job though :D

EDIT: That last part is actually somewhat incorrect, as thinking back to the start of the year, ive done that myself with maybe 1 3 putt, not many though lol

9 holes,20 pts, +4 for the first 3, so 2 pars and a double then 3 pars and 3 bogeys. No up and downs and a few 3 putts? That would mean you hit like at least 6-7 out of 9 greens??? If you did that then ur handicap wont be long coming down and also ur hitting those irons well so far. Never seen an 18 hcapper shoot 20 pts for 9 holes with a few putts lol, thats the job though :D

+4 for the first 3 = 2 bogeys (not pars as above) and a double.
    (Maybe you should be at scratch at this stage if that's the way you've been marking your card :D )
    Didn't hit a GIR on the first 3, but went onto hit 3/6 of the remaining.
    With 1 of the missed GIR coming on a Par 3... landed just off the fringe.

Don't want to sound like a nob, but I am very confident that I'll be reducing my hc over the next year or so.

Have been at it just over 2 years, just joined a club (still waiting on official GUI) , but I'm delighted with the way things have "clicked" this year.
    Starting to play to 18 the majority of the time, and with that, something always seems to let me down. (putting, course mgt, hungover, driving to lesser extent)

Course wouldn't be the hardest test I've played either so that may make it look a bit better than norm.

Should really start to track my stats.

Couple of 3 putts = Two 3 putts in my book... Not crazy really???

+4 for the first 3 = 2 bogeys (not pars as above) and a double.
    (Maybe you should be at scratch at this stage if that's the way you've been marking your card :D )
    Didn't hit a GIR on the first 3, but went onto hit 3/6 of the remaining.
    With 1 of the missed GIR coming on a Par 3... landed just off the fringe.

Don't want to sound like a nob, but I am very confident that I'll be reducing my hc over the next year or so.

Have been at it just over 2 years, just joined a club (still waiting on official GUI) , but I'm delighted with the way things have "clicked" this year.
    Starting to play to 18 the majority of the time, and with that, something always seems to let me down. (putting, course mgt, hungover, driving to lesser extent)

Course wouldn't be the hardest test I've played either so that may make it look a bit better than norm.

Should really start to track my stats.

Couple of 3 putts = Two 3 putts in my book... Not crazy really???

I cant count,dunno what i was thinking there man, what an idiot lol. Sorry about that yeah. Ul be down to 13/14 before september hopefully eh?? Start kickin ass in some singles man

September next year maybe!!!

Don't be thinking like that!! 2 good comps and ul be at 14 dude

2 good rounds in a row seems to be my downfall at the moment.

Got the irons out again on Saturday morning, Dublin City GC (now if there ever was a misleading name it's that).
    Only scored 26 points of 18... can't blame the irons though, was hitting them pretty well.
    Scratched 5 holes and a lot of putts missed!

Really building the confidence with the irons at this stage.... I'm giving up hope on my course management ability, it's as if I want to defy my logical side by taking out the driver when not needed.
    Putting green needs to be visited too!

Was unlucky on 2 of the scratches though, pretty decent drives ended up just off the fairway and ball was nowhere to be seen.
    Extremely muddy out there, balls seemed to have sunk rather than just plugged....found 5 balls on one hole as I searched for my own, they were just a few yards off the fairway in extremely swampy rough.