Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

666 Park Avenue (ABC - US) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,454 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,590 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I like it.... I'll watch the first few anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I was about to close the thread upon noticing the trailer is in 3d which made me want to throw my monitor out a window. :pac: But then I spotted that Terry O' Quinn is in it which makes me somewhat hopeful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Nick Chinlund (Desperate Housewives) has been cast in a recurring role on ABC’s new thriller drama series 666 Park Ave, set at the Drake, a spooky Manhattan apartment building. He will play Victor Shaw, a powerful adversary to the building’s owner Gavin (Terry O’Quinn) who tries to take control of the Drake. Chinlund is with Gilbertson Entertainment and Innovative Artists.

www.deadline.com

Passing on this, don't like Rachel Taylor.

ENTER THE SEDUCTIVE WORLD OF THE DRAKE, WHERE YOUR DEEPEST DESIRES AND BURNING AMBITIONS WILL BE FULFILLED FOR A PRICE -- AND MAYBE YOUR SOUL -- ON THE PREMIERE OF "666 PARK AVENUE," SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 30 ON ABC

What would you do to have everything you desire? Step inside "666 Park Avenue," New York's most seductive address. We all have some burning need, desire and ambition. For the residents of The Drake, the premier apartment building on Manhattan's Upper East Side, these will all be met - for a price - courtesy of the building's mysterious owner, Gavin Doran. But be careful what you wish for, because the price you may pay is your soul. ABC's wickedly sexy and spine-tingling new drama about fulfilling our deepest desires, "666 Park Avenue," will premiere SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 30 (10:01-11:00 p.m., ET).

In the premiere episode, "Pilot," when Jane Van Veen (Rachael Taylor) and Henry Martin (Dave Annable), an idealistic young couple from the Midwest, arrive in New York City, the glamorous center of industry and media, they are offered the opportunity to manage the historic Drake by its wealthy owners, Gavin (Terry O'Quinn) and Olivia Duran (Vanessa Williams) - and the seduction begins. Jane, a small town girl with big ambitions, always knew she wanted to be an architect. Henry, a member of the Mayor's staff, is grounded, intelligent and tenacious. They are lured by the intoxicating lifestyle of New York's wealthy elite. But they soon wonder what they've gotten themselves into when they unwittingly bump into the dark embrace of the building's mysterious supernatural forces which endanger the lives of their residents.

Gavin, who has many skeletons in his own closet, is at the height of his world and commands the dark power of The Drake. Olivia, his beautiful but enigmatic, supportive wife, wears her elegance, wealth and position in society like armor... but cracks will slowly be revealed.

Jane and Henry are not the only ones to fall prey to the machinations of Gavin and Olivia. There are other residents, including Brian Leonard (Robert Buckley), a young playwright pining for his early success and promise. Brian's wife, Louise (Mercedes Masšhn), is a rising hot star in the world of fashion photography. Alexis Blume (Helena Mattsson) is a troubled young woman who is the picture of obsession -- what is her real connection to Gavin, and what part will she play in Brian and Louise's life? Tony DeMeo (Erik Palladino), The Drake's doorman, is the eyes and ears of the building. And then there is 14-year-old Nona Clark (Samantha Logan), who has a blossoming psychic ability, allowing her to look into the future of her fellow Drake occupants.

Sexy, enticing and captivating, home to an epic struggle of good versus evil, The Drake maintains a dark hold over all of its tenants in this new, chilling drama, tempting them through their ambitions and desires.

"666 Park Avenue" stars Rachael Taylor ("Charlie's Angels," "Grey's Anatomy," "Transformers") as Jane Van Veen, Dave Annable ("Brothers & Sisters," "Reunion") as Henry Martin, Mercedes Masšhn ("The Finder," "Chuck," "Three Rivers") as Louise Leonard, Robert Buckley ("One Tree Hill," "Lipstick Jungle") as Brian Leonard, Helena Mattsson ("Iron Man 2," "Nikita," "Desperate Housewives") as Alexis Blume, Erik Palladino ("U-571," "ER," "Over There") as Tony DeMeo and Samantha Logan as Nona

Clark, with Vanessa Williams ("Desperate Housewives," "Ugly Betty," "Shaft," "Soul Food") as Olivia Doran and Terry O'Quinn ("Lost," "Millennium," "Hawaii Five-0," "Alias," "The West Wing," "Jag") as Gavin Doran.

Guest starring are James Waterston as John Barlow, Lucy Walters as Mary Barlow and Steven Skybell as Malcolm Hartwell.

Based on the book series by Gabriella Pierce, "666 Park Avenue" was created by David Wilcox ("Fringe," "Life on Mars"), and is executive-produced by Matt Miller ("Chuck," "Human Target"), Wilcox, Gina Girolamo ("The Secret Circle," "The Lying Game") and Leslie Morgenstein ("Gossip Girl," "The Vampire Diaries," "Pretty Little Liars," "The Lying Game," "The Secret Circle," "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants"). The pilot for "666 Park Avenue" was written by Wilcox and directed by Alex Graves ("Fringe," "The West Wing"), who was also an executive producer. "666 Park Avenue" is from Bonanza Productions Inc. in association with Alloy Entertainment ("Gossip Girl," "The Vampire Diaries," "Pretty Little Liars") and Warner Bros. Television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,590 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Passing on this, don't like Rachel Taylor.

A bit narrow minded, no? It could be a really fun show, but you won't watch it because you don't like one of the actresses?

Just to put it in context, I wasn't a huge Glenn Close fan, but if I let that put me off watching Damages, I'd have missed out on one of the best shows of the last 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

Where are yous watching this??

girl2 wrote: »

The-First-Rule-is-fight-club-8474492-600-759.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

girl2 wrote: »

I thought Rachel Taylor was good in the Charlie's Angels remake and in Grey's Anatomy (was hoping Shonda would get her back full time after CA was cancelled)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭angelll

This was on last night in usa and online today,v creepy i thought,will def watch more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I really enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,031 ✭✭✭✭squonk

I liked it myself. It was definitely a very strong and egaging opener. The basement scene with the flickering light and the girl in the background was downright creepy. I hope they can keep this standard going. I think it's a great cast as well. I didn't realise Rachel Taylor was in CA last year. She's more memorable in this role. Pacific Heights is one of my favourite oldie movies for its creepiness and some great acting by Michael Keaton. I kind of got the same level of creepiness from this at times which is a very good thing indeed.

On a side note, we seem to be doing well on the Drama front this year. Lots of great new stuff like Last Resort, 666 and even Elementary didn't stink in the way I'd expected it to. Revolution seems to be the only dog so far, but we've a way to go yet admittedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,774 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

I'm burned out on haunted houses after Bedlam and American Horror Story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭DeWitt

I liked it a lot. It reminds me of the Twilight Zone and Rosemary's baby. I'm actually reading the book it's based on at the minute, and the writers have very much put their own spin on the story.
    Hoping America tunes in. I don't want to be sitting with my head in my hands crying my heart out over another cancellation in three months time.
    Off to watch it for a second time. Bye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭feelgoodinc27

DeWitt wrote: »
    I liked it a lot. It reminds me of the Twilight Zone and Rosemary's baby. I'm actually reading the book it's based on at the minute, and the writers have very much put their own spin on the story.

Is the book good?

I'm enjoying it so far, but I haven't got to the
    witchy stuff yet. Yes, you read that right. WITCHES!!
    The characters are different too. There's no Jane Van Veen & Henry Martin, instead we have Jane Boyle and Malcolm Doran. I'm starting to think Terry O'Quinn and Vanessa Williams are characters created solely for the series, but like I said I haven't got to the "good stuff" in the hotel yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Decent enough.

Will stick with it for a few more alright.

I wasn't massively scared by it. For the creep factor, the earlier seasons of Supernatural were absolutely wonderful for it, especially the first and second seasons, but I wasn't overly sold on the pilot episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Yeah - didn't find it creepy... but did wince at yer wan being hammered by the elevator door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭trendy88

Not Overwhelmed by it but will stick around for a few more eps-see if it improves!!

Help, I've fallen and can't get up. You guys I absolutely LOVE this show. The imagery, the classic horror feel, the cast, the score, EVERYTHING. 1x02 was even better than the pilot. It has the creepy factor.

Loved the second episode also. Quickly becoming my new guilty pleasure!

this show any good ? AS GOOD AS REVENGE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Devil in the detail

In the second episode when yer one walks into the room where the murder has taken place there is a recording of I only have eyes for you by the flamingo's playing. This version of that song was released in 1959, she later discovers that the murder took place in 1956. This is sloppy and could have been avoided by playing the Peggy Lee version recorded in 1950.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Shinaynay

Just finished watching the 2nd ep, have to say seems like it was done on a really low budget and the lack of continuity in the scenes just annoys me. I'm thinking of it as a poor mans American Horror Story and continuing in my wait for The Walking Dead.

just on tv line ratings are bad ill skip it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Shinaynay wrote: »
    Just finished watching the 2nd ep, have to say seems like it was done on a really low budget and the lack of continuity in the scenes just annoys me. I'm thinking of it as a poor mans American Horror Story and continuing in my wait for The Walking Dead.

Alot of the pilot was shot on location at The Ansonia in New York and the it will mostly be soundstages for subsequent episodes. It's incredibly harsh to lambast them for those sorts of practicalities, the show certainly looks anything but cheap.

A solid and enjoyable start to the show. Doubt the idea has much legs beyond a season or two but it could be a fun ride if done correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Shinaynay

Syferus wrote: »
    It's incredibly harsh to lambast them

i hardly 'lambasted' it!
    i just said the lack of continuity annoys me. things like someone having bright red lipstick on one second, then its gone, then its back, then gone again in a scene thats about one minute long.
    that kind of stuff, to me, is amateur in this day and age.

ITV2 has picked up 666 Park Avenue

Loved this weeks ep! This show is reeling me in! Why do I always fall for the ones that end up getting cancelled. Happy Town, Flashforward etc

I see the Smoke Monster has reappeared. Getting a lot of Lost vibes from this.

Up to ten minutes ago Deadline were reporting that ABC had cancelled both 666 Park Avenue and Last Resort, but now the report has suddenly disappeared from their website.

**Update**
    Here we go: http://www.tvguide.com/News/Last-Resort-666-Park-Canceled-1056488.aspx

At least they're airing the remaining episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Aw man, that sucks. I was liking 666 Park Av. Last Resort is understandable however, I couldn't see how they could possibly extend it beyond a season anyway.

The final 4 eps. will air soon in Australia, and no doubt be online: http://www.spoilertv.com/2013/01/666-park-ave-unaired-episodes-airing-in.html

The unaired episodes of I Hate My Teenage Daughter have also started appearing online as they are airing in NZ.

episode 10 and 11 are out there....

Indeed. Quite unhappy that this show was cancelled. It's actually very good imo! Just getting interesting too.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Getting ready for Ep 10 & 11 . I too am disappointed at this been cancelled.
    Loved Terry O Quinn in this.

Episode 12 + 13....the final two, are now out there if you want to see how it ends, the producers did say they had time to give the show closure.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

It was a very rushed ending with very few answers.

Watching episode 12 atm. It's very.. strange. It feels like it was edited together from scraps of other episodes with no story development. Maybe even some of it re-dubbed!

Redisle wrote: »
    It's very.. strange. It feels like it was edited together from scraps of other episodes with no story development. Maybe even some of it re-dubbed!

Yeah , especially Olivas hair going from straight to curly & back again.

Well, that was a major disappointment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Compak

DeWitt wrote: »
    Well, that was a major disappointment.

So bad, so looking forward to it, and now wish it had been cancelled at ep 11

I think it was probably cancelled after production and editing of episode 11 was completed because ep. 11 was a normal episode to the same standard as 1-10 while ep 12 and 13 came across as random mishmash editing together of bits and pieces. Shame really, I thought it was a very good show. Silly ratings system...

Cant be bothered watching the end! Anyone want to give a brief summary in a few sentences. Watched up until the Halloween one i think. Had potential. Such a Shame!

trendy88 wrote: »
    Cant be bothered watching the end! Anyone want to give a brief summary in a few sentences. Watched up until the Halloween one i think. Had potential. Such a Shame!
    Detective Cooper was part of some warriors against demons brotherhood. Gavin zaps him into the walls.
    Jane's "father" shot Henry, but it turns out her father isn't her father as Gavin was having an affair with her mother while they lived at the drake. Gavin uses his devil powers to bring Henry back to life. Jane sides with Gavin and goes dark. Time jump and she's pregnant with her very own Damien/Adrian/ insert devil spawn name here.

THE END.