Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monitor Artifacting.

• 08-07-2012 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭

So in the last week I've started getting these two, thin, blue parallel lines fixed on the left hand side of the screen. I'd embed an image but for some bizarre reason the lines don't show up when I use print screen. :confused:

Anyway, I've tried the monitor on two different PCs (so that's issues with vram and motherboard out) with two different VGA cables, two DVI's and a spare HDMI I had lying around. Not to mention the usual updating of drivers. It's a grand monitor and money is tight...so I'd hate to scrap it. As it stands the problem isn't too invasive, it's barely noticeable when browsing, but for stuff like gaming and movies, it's plain as day.

Any ideas lads?

Here's the model btw:
    http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/popupproductdetail.aspx?sku=320-6095&?~lt=popup&c=us&l=en&s=dfh&cs=22

edit: I got a new GPU last month, but it's not overheating or anything, and it works fine with other monitors.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Lines of what appear to be dead pixels or stuck pixels are typically the fault of the display, not video card. You can try running a "unstick pixels" type video but i'd say at this stage the monitor needs replacing

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Alactric

yoyo wrote: »
    Lines of what appear to be dead pixels or stuck pixels are typically the fault of the display, not video card. You can try running a "unstick pixels" type video but i'd say at this stage the monitor needs replacing

Nick

Jaysus :( and it's only 6 months out of warranty and all...what's this about "unstick pixels" though?

Alactric wrote: »
    Jaysus :( and it's only 6 months out of warranty and all...what's this about "unstick pixels" though?

You can use JScreenFix (Free version available I think) to try unstick the pixels. If in warranty though go back to Dell and request a new display if the problem is serious

Nick

You can use JScreenFix (Free version available I think) to try unstick the pixels. If in warranty though go back to Dell and request a new display if the problem is serious

Nick

Interesting link there, did you read the first comment on it though? He was on about "applying physical preassure and pusing the on and off switch" :pac: worth a punt?

edit: I had a look at there site they said; "Stuck pixels sometimes start working again with time unless they appear black on a white background, these are known as dead pixels"

Mine appear as blue on a white background? That sounds promising yeah?

Interesting link there, did you read the first comment on it though? He was on about "applying physical preassure and pusing the on and off switch" :pac: worth a punt?

edit: I had a look at there site they said; "Stuck pixels sometimes start working again with time unless they appear black on a white background, these are known as dead pixels"

Mine appear as blue on a white background? That sounds promising yeah?

It can be, a line of them in a row usualy means lcd failure though. Use the but of a pencil (the rubber) and gently press against the problem area while turning the screen off, hold for 2 minutes, turn on the screen again and see if it improves. Be gentle though, don't put the pencil through the screen :pac:

Nick

It can be, a line of them in a row usualy means lcd failure though. Use the but of a pencil (the rubber) and gently press against the problem area while turning the screen off, hold for 2 minutes, turn on the screen again and see if it improves. Be gentle though, don't put the pencil through the screen :pac:

Nick

No luck. tried Jscreen, nothing, tried the "pixel massage" nothing there either.

If the monitor is in warranty send it back to Dell. Anything over a certain ammount of dead pixels manufacturers should replace them, it sounds like there is a fair few so that is probably your best route now :)

Nick