Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

speeding?

• 05-07-2012 3:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭

just wondering, how far would the police let you go over the limit before they pulled you over?

for instance, if the speed limit for 50 km/h and i was doing 55, 60km/h would they pull me over for speeding?

cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

Jordan537 wrote: »

just wondering, how far would the police let you go over the limit before they pulled you over?

for instance, if the speed limit for 50 km/h and i was doing 55, 60km/h would they pull me over for speeding?

cheers.

Back home, the coppers allow 10% over the legal limit, camera wouldn`t even take picture in a 50kmh zone at say 54kmh.
    Don`t know how it works here, I have been only done twice for speeding, on both occasions over 100kmh in a 50 zone. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

cheers.

I would imagine that would depend on an awful lot of different things

- when was the guard last laid
    - what's the traffic like
    - time of day
    - what mood is mr guard in
    - what are the road conditions
    - sunspots
    - time of the month
    - colour of your car
    - is mr guard having a cuppa
    - does mr guard want a cuppa

I Don't think anybody can answer that. Either way, I recommend you don't do 60 in a 50 zone, just assume that you MAY be pulled over for it. Alternatively you might kill someone and end up with all kinds of bad karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

cheers.

If they're actually following you, it'll probably be far more to do with how you're driving rather than whether you're marginally over the speed limit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

I remember getting a speeding fine through the post and i was doing 5 over the limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

That's an automated fine presumably, different than the situation the OP is describing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

i rarely do them but usually i stop people for 130km/h in a 100 zone. i may go as low as 120 in a 100. but generally wouldnt do anyone for lower than that.

ill just stop the driver for that. if theres nothing else wrong with the car and no attitute problem i would probably just give a caution. i usually ask if you know why i stopped you. if the person says speeding then they are probably halfway towards getting off with the ticket.

but thats the system i operate. theres no set quidelines so technically i could do someone for 101km/h. its all down to whoever is operating the gun at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

audidiesel wrote: »
    ......technically i could do someone for 101km/h. its all down to whoever is operating the gun at the end of the day.

Read your hq circulars ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

i may go as low as 120 in a 100. but generally wouldnt do anyone for lower than that
    But what if one of the speeders you let off goes on to wipe out a family, how would you feel then? Surely you have a duty to intervene and deter this kind of behaviour before it ends in tragedy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

pa990 wrote: »
    Read your hq circulars ;)

Oooh I'd love if you could elaborate a bit on that. I know there's a crackdown today but are limits to be enforced more rigidly in future?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

Mr Magners wrote: »
    Oooh I'd love if you could elaborate a bit on that. I know there's a crackdown today but are limits to be enforced more rigidly in future?
    The existing softly-softly approach has not worked. It makes sense to properly apply the law so that speeders have their behaviour corrected or are put off the road if they can't change their ways.

Too many lives have been ruined by selfish driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

opti0nal wrote: »
    The existing softly-softly approach has not worked. It makes sense to properly apply the law so that speeders have their behaviour corrected or are put off the road if they can't change their ways.

Too many lives have been ruined by selfish driving.

Gay..is that you? Still spouting the same old shíte I see:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

I had a friend who was done for doing 31mph in a 30 mph zone

however , he was black , and this was the 80's in London , very different times. Basically the cops reckoned because he had a car he must have stolen it, they were so hacked off that he was legal that they did him for doing 31 !!

Considering most speedos overread , and are you not allowed to have 10% variance on your speedo ? ...... I always reckon 10% is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

i rarely do them but usually i stop people for 130km/h in a 100 zone. i may go as low as 120 in a 100. but generally wouldnt do anyone for lower than that.<snip>
    You obviously arent the guard so that was operating in Clones a number of years back who would hit you with the full fine if 1mph over the limit whilst passing the 30mph sign (back in the days before the limits were changed to km)
    The amount of lads on their way to work in the morning ended up basically working that day just to pay the fine was unreal. The guards earned no friends in Clones through that carry on.

Indeed its not the guards fault. Hes only applying the law (which politicans who are too busy attending funerals and whatnot to notice is broken).
    Unfortunately the law isn't graduated so you get the full rigors of the law if the guard simply does his job. Its the law thats broken and leaves the enforcers in an unenviable place. The law should be clear but flexible and not rely on a guard ignoring it to a point to gain public acceptance !

Funny enough, how you are policing in practice is very similar to how the sliding scale german laws are written.
    There there is relative leniency for speeding up to 20kmh over the limit (small fine + no points) but THEN the real fines kick in with points and all once you are properly speeding. And its sliding so theres automatic disqualifiation when 40kmh over, and no need to take up court time like would happen in Ireland.
    Heres the speeding fines for anyone who wants to see what I'm on about:
    http://www.bmvbs.de/SharedDocs/EN/Artikel/STB-LA/schedule-of-fines.html?nn=68908#16

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

To be fair....if you do get caught speeding these days (especially today) IMHO you've more than deserved it. Crack down widely announced on all media and if the 'speedtraps' (if you can call them that) on the N11 were anything to go by this morning you'd have to have been blind to still get caught.

2 marked cars out in the open, lights on and 3 guards in full hi-viz standing in front of them. You haven't seem them at this stage you've no business operating a vehicle.

(Now if only people would realise that it's perfectly okay going past a speed camera/guard/van doing 98km/h or even 100 km/h rather than slowing down to 60:mad::mad::mad:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Speed camera calibration cert

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Gay Bryne is at it again this morning..........

Donegal people are "lunatics".

Well done Gay,make freinds with the people of Donegal by saying that live on TV.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056693400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

cheers.

I love these types of threads, invariably the usual caught doing X+5 in an X zone makes an appearance. Of course there is a tolerance, but I would advise not aiming for this number. Common sense works as in don't take the piss and please stick to 50kph as it's there for a reason.

We're all adults who hopefully have passed the driving test, we all drive in slow moving traffic and so therefore know how to use our car's gears correctly, again hopefully. Our cars will not self destruct because we have to stay at a 50kph limit in much the same way they don't fall apart because we moving in 1st/2nd or 3rd while in slow moving traffic. If people find it impossible to drive at 30kph or 50kph, then might I suggest they re-sit their tests.

Might I answer your query this way, there is a lower limit for 'mechanical' measurements but common sense and experience comes into the 'human' side of it. Don't waste your time trying to figure the latter, piece of string etc and as for the former, well to coin another phrase; you can't be a little pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

wexie wrote: »
    (Now if only people would realise that it's perfectly okay going past a speed camera/guard/van doing 98km/h or even 100 km/h rather than slowing down to 60:mad::mad::mad:)

Tut tut, speed limits aren't a target....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Most speedo's over read by 10%, I've only ever seen one that didn't and the owner made a point of showing off his calibrated speedo. 115kph on my Puma is just over 100kph, similar on my motorbike.

So when I hear of getting a ticket doing 55kph in a 50 zone or 66kph in a 60 zone, they were doing 60kph and 70kph respectively to their knowledge.

Even the gardai who said he would pull for 130 in a hundred zone. Those people are doing 140+ on the speedo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Reg'stoy wrote: »
    We're all adults who hopefully have passed the driving test, we all drive in slow moving traffic and so therefore know how to use our car's gears correctly, again hopefully. Our cars will not self destruct because we have to stay at a 50kph limit in much the same way they don't fall apart because we moving in 1st/2nd or 3rd while in slow moving traffic. If people find it impossible to drive at 30kph or 50kph, then might I suggest they re-sit their tests.

As a honest appraisal of my driving, I find it very very difficult to stay driving at 30kph in general, and 50kph in most open roads. I become distracted easily, my awareness suffers and I continually find myself slipping into a mindless "follow the bumper of the car in front of me" attitude.

I prefer to raise my speed and remain more alert to my surroundings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

paddy147 wrote: »
    Gay Bryne is at it again this morning..........

Donegal people are "lunatics".

Well done Gay,make freinds with the people of Donegal by saying that live on TV.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056693400

He's not entirely wrong and I speak as a Donegal native. Some total lunatics all right.

What's more worrying is that on two occasions this year, I have become dangerously close to being knocked of my bike, once by the Garda Traffic Corps car and once by a Speed camera van. So much for law engorcement :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

what about it ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Reg'stoy wrote: »

As a honest appraisal of my driving, I find it very very difficult to stay driving at 30kph in general, and 50kph in most open roads. I become distracted easily, my awareness suffers and I continually find myself slipping into a mindless "follow the bumper of the car in front of me" attitude.

Good Christ, how can you be allowed drive!?

You can't pay attention to the road so you drive faster?

Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

If youre trundling slowly along you get distracted by stuff wheras if you're driving at a pace that isnt mindnumbingly slow you're focusing on the road.. Its pretty simple really..

Good Christ, how can you be allowed drive!?

You can't pay attention to the road so you drive faster?

Seriously?

Someone, please, think of the children!

Greyfoot wrote: »
    Someone, please, think of the children!

herbert.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Since there is no legal requirement for the Gardaí to prove their equipment is calibrated you (or your solicitor) can request a cert till you're blue in the face but they don't have to produce one.

Just a quick reference here, taken from the RSA`s website from 2010:

"In 2010, the number of fatal collisions between the hours of 9.00pm and 3.00am, the hours
    most strongly associated with drinking and driving, was 60 with 72 people killed in these
    collisions. This time period accounted for 32 per cent of fatal collisions and 34 per cent of
    fatalities in 2010.
    The number of persons killed during the later hours of darkness (between 3.00am and
    6.00am) was 20. Fatalities that occurred during these hours accounted for approximately
    nine per cent of all road collision fatalities in 2010.
    The worst days of the week for fatalities during 2010 were Sunday and Saturday. These
    two days together accounted for 94 fatalities, or 44 per cent of the total."

"Driver error accounted for 91 per
    cent
    of all contributory factors identified in fatal collisions, while the next most listed
    factor, pedestrian error, accounted for five per cent. Road factors accounted for three
    per cent and vehicle factors accounted of one per cent of all listed contributory
    factors"

Also:

"In two-vehicle fatal collisions - see Figure 9 - the most frequently cited contributory
    action is ‘went to the wrong side of the road’ (61 per cent) followed in turn by
    exceeded safe speed limit’ (17 per cent), ‘other action’ (17 per cent) and ‘improper
    overtaking’ (4 per cent)."

Strange thing is that the RSA does not list-or does NOT want to-the reasons of single vehicle collisions, while this can be easily identified given the current forensic technology available.

Here is what RSA has to say about speeding in single vehicle collisions:

"This collision type, which involves no other road user, is most probably associated
    with a number of causal factors, including excessive speed, fatigue and/or
    alcohol/drug consumption. Single vehicle only collisions accounted for 26 per cent
    of injury collisions."

Sorry for the OT.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Since there is no legal requirement for the Gardaí to prove their equipment is calibrated you (or your solicitor) can request a cert till you're blue in the face but they don't have to produce one.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1961/en/act/pub/0024/sec0105.html

Road Traffic Act, 1961

Evidence of speed.
    105.—Where the proof of the commission of an offence under this Act involves the proof of the speed at which a person (whether the accused or another person) was driving—

(a) the uncorroborated evidence of one witness stating his opinion as to that speed shall not be accepted as proof of that speed,

(b) the onus of establishing that speed prima facie may be discharged by tendering evidence of indications from which that speed can be inferred which were given by a watch or electronic or other apparatus, and it shall not be necessary to prove that the watch or electronic or other apparatus was accurate or in good working order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

I admire your honesty but please tell me you're being facetious considering that these limits apply to urban areas. Does your radio distract you, seriously do you have to drive alone because a passenger would talk to you! seeing as you are so easily distracted.
    If youre trundling slowly along you get distracted by stuff wheras if you're driving at a pace that isnt mindnumbingly slow you're focusing on the road.. Its pretty simple really..

Sweet mother divine, I know that Irish drivers are supposed to be poor, but if you can't drive out of a housing estate or through a village without being distracted, then how on earth can we expect drivers to concentrate at higher speeds.

Claiming that your concentration increases with speed should be a given, but to say your concentration decreases as your speed does is frankly quite scary.