Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft site in Galway

• 05-07-2012 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭

Myself and three of my mates have recently started playing a little bit of airsoft and set up a team (of sorts). I searched the forums and it seems since G-Tac closed a while back, that there is no dedicated airsoft site in Galway region.
    Is this still the case?
    What are the other options?
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭son-of-plunder

Theres still no site open in Galway unfortunately. Nearest I know of are Limerick Airsoft Camp in Limerick(obviously :p ), an Indoor place in Limerick somewhere, Adventure Weekend in Broadford, Clare and Tigerland(think thats the right name anyway) up in sligo. Hope that helps.

Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 TFNG

Hi all

maybe a bit late to get in on this thread but i also have just started out in the wonderful world of Airsoft :) and live in Galway, i have looked around on boards and can see a few people asking about airsoft in Galway, they also seem to be confused as to why there's a shop (G.A.S) and the theres was a club G-TAC and there's the population and some interest and yet there's nothing doing ? I am new to boards but as I see a fair bit of interest around the place asking about airsoft in Galway could everyone possibly get together and find a place to Skirmish???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 HipsterHunter

TFNG wrote: »
    Hi all

maybe a bit late to get in on this thread but i also have just started out in the wonderful world of Airsoft :) and live in Galway, i have looked around on boards and can see a few people asking about airsoft in Galway, they also seem to be confused as to why there's a shop (G.A.S) and the theres was a club G-TAC and there's the population and some interest and yet there's nothing doing ? I am new to boards but as I see a fair bit of interest around the place asking about airsoft in Galway could everyone possibly get together and find a place to Skirmish???

I am from Galway and have been thinking of opening an airsoft feild/course for the Galway and Connaught player base , I am really trying to gauge how many people would be interested in this as it would be a huge financial undertaking and possibly take a few months of work to get off the ground and have something up an running .

If you or your friends could put the word out that this is happening maybe I could get an idea of how many people would be up for this happening as I am very interested in starting this as a sideline business to my professional job working in the irish film industry . I just really need to know if I build it will they come or am I walking myself into a ton if debt for a very small player base it's impossible to tell how many are out there in the west !

Any feed back at all would be great
    Thanks for your time

Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

I just really need to know if I build it will they come or am I walking myself into a ton if debt for a very small player base it's impossible to tell how many are out there in the west !

Any feed back at all would be great
    Thanks for your time

The best advice I can give you is to search wider (facebook, airsoft sites and shops, etc) for an idea of the level of demand. Even in it's heyday Boards only represented a part of the Irish airsoft community, and these days it's a bit of a ghost town.

From a business point of view, do the research on your costs first so see how many players you think you will need to cover your setup and running costs. Be brutally realistic about whether you can attract that sort of interest, and whether you can offer people something they will keep coming back for week after week.

Most important is to try and contact people who were involved in G-Tac to find out why they are not there any more. They will be able to give you better information on the likely level of interest, and logistical problems with running a site than anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭thegrayson

I know 7 people that would like to have some place local. Speaking for myself I could only attend a site, local or otherwise once per month.

Thanks for the reply i shall be looking into this over the coming months . ie looking for a site and insurance and a player base . i will keep you all posted here on how its goin and hopefully i will have something up and running before next summer arrives . i have started to lean more towards an indoor course because of galways weather its just to damn wet all the time . outdoor would be better i know but its just not gonna work in the west .

all the best anyways

Brian

Thanks for the reply i shall be looking into this over the coming months . ie looking for a site and insurance and a player base . i will keep you all posted here on how its goin and hopefully i will have something up and running before next summer arrives . i have started to lean more towards an indoor course because of galways weather its just to damn wet all the time . outdoor would be better i know but its just not gonna work in the west .

all the best anyways

Brian

Hi there

sorry for the long pause i have been away for a while but its good to see there are people out there looking into this, please please though do look into and outdoor venue, whilst indoor is dry and you do have a point about the Galway weather ( I have been part of other clubs in Galway that were outdoor..rain stopped play a lot of times) skirmishing in the open is great and nothing really recreates the feeling of jumping in and out of ditches, or running for cover behind a tree (that looked a lot bigger before you got to it!!!:)) anyway maybe someone could have a chat with the lads in G.A.S and see if they can help? even put up a poster where people can leave a name and contact number to gauge interest? Brian I could ask around when wouldn't mind helping out (as long as the Squad leader herself says I have time:D) and drop into them this weekend?

TFNG wrote: »

Hi there

sorry for the long pause i have been away for a while but its good to see there are people out there looking into this, please please though do look into and outdoor venue, whilst indoor is dry and you do have a point about the Galway weather ( I have been part of other clubs in Galway that were outdoor..rain stopped play a lot of times) skirmishing in the open is great and nothing really recreates the feeling of jumping in and out of ditches, or running for cover behind a tree (that looked a lot bigger before you got to it!!!:)) anyway maybe someone could have a chat with the lads in G.A.S and see if they can help? even put up a poster where people can leave a name and contact number to gauge interest? Brian I could ask around when wouldn't mind helping out (as long as the Squad leader herself says I have time:D) and drop into them this weekend?

Hey there mate how are you . I have been chatting to the guys in g.a.s or Shane to be exact nice chap had a lot to say on the issue ,he gave me some sound advice ie location ,rent and layout of said site so was helpful . If you had time in the new year I would gladly meet up with you and have a chat on the issues faced and any help at all and someone's else's input would be great ! So if you're up for that we could go from there and see where it takes us , pm me your number if your up for it and ill be free in the new year as ill be back from Dublin where I'm working at the moment . Thanks for the interest I can really feel people are up for this and want it to happen so hopefully in the next few months we can get something great going that airsofofters old and young can enjoy . Promote this amazing sport to its full potential in Ireland An keep it going .thanks for the reply Chat soon TFNG all the best

Brian

Hey there mate how are you . I have been chatting to the guys in g.a.s or Shane to be exact nice chap had a lot to say on the issue ,he gave me some sound advice ie location ,rent and layout of said site so was helpful . If you had time in the new year I would gladly meet up with you and have a chat on the issues faced and any help at all and someone's else's input would be great ! So if you're up for that we could go from there and see where it takes us , pm me your number if your up for it and ill be free in the new year as ill be back from Dublin where I'm working at the moment . Thanks for the interest I can really feel people are up for this and want it to happen so hopefully in the next few months we can get something great going that airsofofters old and young can enjoy . Promote this amazing sport to its full potential in Ireland An keep it going .thanks for the reply Chat soon TFNG all the best

Brian

Hey Brian

No hassle will PM you in the new year and see what is happening, cheers TFNG :)

well folks was there any further movement on this ?? I bet you all got shiny new AEG'S and want to get out and use them:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 adriangalway

Hi.
    I just wanted to say that if you are looking to open a new site i can guarantee you that i will be able to get at least 5 people including me to go airsofting and we will be able to do that 3-4 times a month. So yeah i think that if every airsofter that you know got his friends with guns we propobaly will be able to make an airsoft battle in one of the woods in Galway sometime when the weather get better. In summer 2012 there used to be multiple airsoft battles in Knocknacarra Galway. So if anyone is interested PM me and i will tell you all of the details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Hi.
    I just wanted to say that if you are looking to open a new site i can guarantee you that i will be able to get at least 5 people including me to go airsofting and we will be able to do that 3-4 times a month. So yeah i think that if every airsofter that you know got his friends with guns we propobaly will be able to make an airsoft battle in one of the woods in Galway sometime when the weather get better. In summer 2012 there used to be multiple airsoft battles in Knocknacarra Galway. So if anyone is interested PM me and i will tell you all of the details.

And was this playing legally on a site or on ground with no permission no insurance and therfor illegal gaming?

andy_g wrote: »
    And was this playing legally on a site or on ground with no permission no insurance and therfor illegal gaming?
    Well this might be the problem. Its up to you to choose where you want to play ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Well this might be the problem. Its up to you to choose where you want to play ;)

Not really if you play illegally you run the risks of being arrested, placing the sport/hobby in danger for everyone else, etc.

Also may i ask if someone gets injured what you intend to do?

andy_g wrote: »

Not really if you play illegally you run the risks of being arrested, placing the sport/hobby in danger for everyone else, etc.

Also may i ask if someone gets injured what you intend to do?

No one got injured yet so were sound and the guards never go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Dogwatch

Promoting unlawful airsofting is not what we are about. When your "site" is legal, come back and tell us about it. Thread closed