Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car boot sale - 7pm Monday 23 July, Lamb Doyle's Car Park

• 03-07-2012 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭

Two years ago we ran a car boot sale up at the Blue Light (Dublin Mountains) one evening (this was my post - http://ryansherlock.blogspot.ie/2010/05/biking-car-boot-sale-june-1st.html).

Do Monday evenings work for most clubs/folk? Just trying to find a team that suits most people - I would think about doing it next Monday (6 days from now).

Me, I have tons of stuff, new and used: wheels, stems, saddles, posts, tires, tubes, BBs, cranks, bikes, clothing. Probably half a bike shop to sell!

I would propose Monday - somewhere close to the Dublin mountains in one of the pub marking lots (Taylors/Blue Light etc...).

What do folks think?

Day you think will get most numbers for buy/sell 43 votes

Monday
    0% 0 votes
    Tuesday
    58% 25 votes
    Wednesday
    30% 13 votes
    Thursday
    6% 3 votes
    Friday
    4% 2 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Great idea, but being purely parochial here and having no idea of the space requirments, is there any scope for organising it in the city centre - down around Grand Canal Quay or somewhere around the Point or IFSC.

What about at or in the vicinity of the Rothar Cafe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

id love to go but cant do mondays because of the club league. Would wednesday be a better night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

Wednesday is the track league...

For me, Mondays or Tuesdays would be good, although I haven't THAT much to sell...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Jaysus, if this goes ahead I can see me living off beans on toast for the rest of the month.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Great idea, really hope it goes ahead. It's been almost a week since my last unnecessary bike purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,150 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Thursday 8.30pm, at Lamb Doyles, easy to get to, loads of parking :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭silvo

Yep, I have loads of bits to get rid of. I would be well up for this. Monday is good for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

Monday sounds good to me Ryan!

any day except Monday :)

Ryan, can you add a poll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Thursday is Club League night for a lot of folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,150 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Your never gonna suit everyone... :rolleyes: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

why not wait till the racing season is over and do it at on a weekend day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

a tuesday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭ryan_sherlock

granda wrote: »
    why not wait till the racing season is over and do it at on a weekend day

Because race season needs to be funded :)

Can do it again - I'm sure there would be a market for one of these once per quarter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Is this likely to go ahead? I see that Monday is winning by quite a bit, which suits me well too.

Yeah - we will do it - not this Monday though, way too short notice - I think the following Monday and I'll put something up on the other forums.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Ryan, if you confirm date and location I can amend the thread title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Ryan.Monday week 16th is stage 1 of Leinster 3 day which is probably the worst possble Mon night for you and youll ossibly want to ride anyway?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,516 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

wav1 wrote: »
    Ryan.Monday week 16th is stage 1 of Leinster 3 day which is probably the worst possble Mon night for you and youll ossibly want to ride anyway?

+1 will be heading for the 3 day but have a load of quality goods to part ways with :eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

I'm away in France from 14th to the 31st so will prob miss it. If it was delayed i'd be delighted ! otherwise could we run a Northside one later on in the "summer".

I had forgotten about the 3 day. I may not do it but I'll hold off one further week I think. Just going to check if the pubs mind us using their parking lot (I'm sure they would be happy too). I must catalogue all my stuff for sale too. As Mel and I have switched to 29er MTBs, we have a hell of a lot of 26er stuff!

So, after calling around a few places with reasonable size carparks - it will be Lamb Doyles Pub carpark on Monday the 23rd of July - say, from 7pm.

Pub Website: http://www.lambdoyles.com/
    Pub Location: http://www.lambdoyles.com/index.php/contact-us

The folks in Lamb Doyles are happy to help out (they have been working with the MTB folks recently - hose currently installed out the back and they are putting in a power washer!) - any trade afterwards would obviously be greatly appreciated.

Let folks know on other forums etc... I'll put together something and get it out too.

Me, I'll have a ton of 26er stuff, tires etc... bars, stems, seatposts, saddles, forks - lots.

cr@p, ill miss it. :(ah well, ill catch the next one

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

So, after calling around a few places with reasonable size carparks - it will be Lamb Doyles Pub carpark on Monday the 23rd of July - say, from 7pm.

Pub Website: http://www.lambdoyles.com/
    Pub Location: http://www.lambdoyles.com/index.php/contact-us
    Thread title amended to include details

(I resisted the temptation to state location as Lusk Doyle's gaff ...:D)

Okay - I have a post about it but there is no more added info - spread the word! http://ryansherlock.blogspot.ie/2012/07/dublin-cyclists-car-boot-sale-july-23rd.html

^^^ Do you think you'll get in trouble for being so misleading with your stock photo there?
    Sunshine?
    1000+ people?
    I love the enthusiasm, only 5 minutes up the road from me so I should be there.

• Administrators Posts: 54,419 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I might pop up to this, see if I can pick anything up on the cheap. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Mr. Grieves

This is a great idea, I hope to head along. Don't have anything much to sell but a few things I need that people might be selling.

Mods, would it be an idea to sticky this for a few days? Also maybe people could post what they have/need to encourage people to head along. For example, I'm on the lookout for a turbo, a race cape and maybe some road shoes if anybody's selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Ill come along to this myself, wouldn't mind having a look around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭ryan0380

is this still going ahead tomorrow????

It better be, i promised the missus to clear out a load of junk high quality but affordable cycling merchandise from under the stairs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Looking forward to it!

ryan0380 wrote: »
    is this still going ahead tomorrow????

yip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭seven stars

Also maybe people could post what they have/need to encourage people to head along. For example, I'm on the lookout for a turbo, a race cape and maybe some road shoes if anybody's selling.

I'm on the lookout for lightweight touring gear - a very light rack for a road bike, Carradice saddle bag, that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

I'll have some Shimano training wheels, 105 shifters, MOST carbon compact cranks and some Campag stuff for sale. Looking for some decent but reasonable wheels!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

Also maybe people could post what they have/need to encourage people to head along. For example, I'm on the lookout for a turbo, a race cape and maybe some road shoes if anybody's selling.

Good idea Mr. Grieves, it'll help people have some idea as to what might be on offer.

I'm looking for a set of canti's for a cx / tourer build myself should anyone have them...

I'm going to call up on my way home from work. Not sure if I really need anything but will have a quick browse anyway.

Keep an eye out for the confused looking nordy. :)

I have an album up with lots of the stuff I have for sale here: https://picasaweb.google.com/111642730436367015877/2012ForSale

Everything is new unless I mention otherwise.

Lots of tires, tubes, 9s MTB cassettes & clothing. Jerseys etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭g0g

Stopped by this during a spin earlier on. Defo worthwhile and interesting looking through random cycling stuff! Probably around 10-15 cars at that stage. Had cash burning a hole in my back pocket so picked up road shoes and SPD-SL pedals for € 41.70 in total - bargain! :)

g0g wrote: »
    Had cash burning a hole in my back pocket so picked up road shoes and SPD-SL pedals for € 41.70 in total - bargain! :)

and cleats and a free black bag ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭g0g

CramCycle wrote: »
    and cleats and a free black bag ;)
    Very valid point - even better bargain! Said black bag did the job fine from there to Kilmainham! Now I just need to figure out if these cleats work differently to my current ones! Hope ou managed to sell a bit more of what you had!

Wanted to call up but before leaving the office I checked with the bank balance and it screamed at me not to go :D