Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend an estate

• 02-07-2012 5:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys,

I currently have a citroen berlngo van but what with the kids and maybe having to do more travelling im thinking of selling the van and buying an estate.I have been looking around for quite a while and still am unsure.I think i have it narrowed down to a 1.6hdi engine and have been looking at Peugeot 307 sw's.I had considered bringing one in from the uk but i dont think i will make that much of a saving but then agian maybe.I am open to suggestions so my budget is 8-9K and any advice is very welcome.
    Thanks in advance.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭cozzie55

Redriddick wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

I currently have a citroen berlngo van but what with the kids and maybe having to do more travelling im thinking of selling the van and buying an estate.I have been looking around for quite a while and still am unsure.I think i have it narrowed down to a 1.6hdi engine and have been looking at Peugeot 307 sw's.I had considered bringing one in from the uk but i dont think i will make that much of a saving but then agian maybe.I am open to suggestions so my budget is 8-9K and any advice is very welcome.
    Thanks in advance.;)

Something along the lines of a Volvo v50 possibly?

Far better looking estate than the peugeot, and way better equiped. You'll probably have to go back a year or two more for your price range over the equilivant peugeot assuming your looking at around an 08/09 Peugeot. The other plus side is that the volve shares the same 1.6 diesel hdi engine, granted its not badged as a hdi. Same engine is also in the ford focus and Citroens.

Something along the lines of this one, with some good haggling could be got for close to 9k
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/V50/1.6-D-SE/6213340598324310/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You'd easily get an 08 Hyundai i30 1.6 crdi for budget, there's no way I'd buy a combination on the 1.6 hdi engine and a 307

1.6 crdi is a cracking engine, and there are plenty i30 and Kia ceed estates in the uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Skoda superb Estate ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Redriddick

Nice looking car the volvo alright.What about the milage? Is 92000 alot for the age?? Maybe not, the Peugeot i was looking at had 60000 on it.I like the look of the volvo.I am going to hold on to this car for quite a while so need something reliable and will be maintaining it myself too.The volvo seem to hold there value quite well too.thanks for the advicemuch appreciated!!

Jesus lads fair play to ye.Colm, was it yourself that brought in an i30 for your mam or was i just dreaming??? Any examples you could point me too?Also would i have it home and all for my budget.
    Mugs,
    had a feeling that the skoda would come up,Fairly popular here on boards!!!!
    Will take a look.

Colm,
    Thanks a mil for the examples but its an estate i am really looking for.But will have a look around for a ceed or i30 in an estate!I know they are probably out of my budget in an estate but ya never know.

Oops, I filtered estates, obviously didn't work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭cozzie55

MugMugs wrote: »
    Skoda superb Estate ?

For 9k? I'd be doubtful you'd get one at that budget.
    Granted the skoka estate would be about the same size as two 307's put together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Volvo V50 estate is pretty small actually, nice shape and design but it suffers on the inside. If you've got a couple of kids you'll need the space some time in the future.

Octavia estate is worth considering too as is a Golf or Passat estate, if you really want space you could consider an older Merc or BMW estate as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,627 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Presumably you use the Berlingo for work? Do you carry much stuff? The Pug you cited is fairy low powered at 90bhp, 161lb/ft.

Hi Marcusm,
    I dont use the van for work at all,the only reason i bought it was when i was building our house to carry the odd bit of stuff.The only thing in the back of it for the last 6 years is my golf clubs!!
    Its in great nick and the only reason i would be selling it is the fact i have 2 kids and with school starting back in september and bringing them here,there and everywhere i can only bring one at a time!

Sorry meant to say i realise that the pug is only 90bhp but there is no dpf in that model but then again that may not matter!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

A Ford Focus estate would be hard to beat for what you are looking for I'd say.

Some say the 1.8 diesel is a better job than the 1.6. You'd get a fresh one from the UK for your budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You can buy 307 SWs here for similar money. I really don't see the point in travelling to the UK for one given the exchange rate, travel and VRT, etc.

For example:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201209207152277

Hi guys.
    I cant believe its been this long.Well anyway I did buy but only the other day.I bought (wait for it) ..... A kia ceed auto 09 with small mileage.Nearly pulled out when we were doing transfer of ownership as it transpires that the road tax is 570 euro for the year.I could not believe it was this high and herself was saying go up a few years for cheaper tax.
    Lovely car so will just have to suck up the tax,would be cheaper on the old system.
    Going to change the head unit and do a bit more with it over the coming weeks so will let ye know how I get on.
    Thanks a mill (any idea how to get cheaper tax ha)
    Redriddick

Stick up a few pics of it sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Hi guys.
    I cant believe its been this long.Well anyway I did buy but only the other day.I bought (wait for it) ..... A kia ceed auto 09 with small mileage.Nearly pulled out when we were doing transfer of ownership as it transpires that the road tax is 570 euro for the year.I could not believe it was this high and herself was saying go up a few years for cheaper tax.
    Lovely car so will just have to suck up the tax,would be cheaper on the old system.
    Going to change the head unit and do a bit more with it over the coming weeks so will let ye know how I get on.
    Thanks a mill (any idea how to get cheaper tax ha)
    Redriddick

Don't get all hung up on cheap tax. €570 is not the end of the world when forking out thousands to buy a car in the first place. People focus too much on cheap tax and forget about the other ownership costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 dustyie

bmw 318d touring would be my choice . A car with good resale value plus low tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

bazz26 wrote: »
    Don't get all hung up on cheap tax. €570 is not the end of the world when forking out thousands to buy a car in the first place. People focus too much on cheap tax and forget about the other ownership costs.

Yeah like I'm paying the guts of a grand for mine, but it does what i need it to do so im rather willing to pay it, tax shouldnt be the be all and end all of everything

I agree hence why I still went for it.Thinking about it I was paying 330 for my van and 114 for doe every year so another 120 for a car and more comfort is a no brained.
    Will defo get pics up next weekend and may even do a bit of a tut when I'm installing the head unit!!!!