Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Probate and joint bank accounts

Options
  • 02-07-2012 4:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭

I work in the legal sector myself but I'm looking for an insight from anyone who has ever dealt directly with the probate process. I am not seeking legal advice and I hope it's not perceived that way. There is already a solicitor involved in this matter (the deceased person's solicitor) and my own boss (a solicitor) has gotten involved to try to move things along.

The story is that my partner's father passed away in October. My partner spent 7 years before his father passed away looking after his dad and living in the house with him (and I was there for the last 2 years helping out also). Before he passed away he had been sick on and off for about 4 years (he was hospitalised on a number of occasions for 3-4 weeks at a time). When he was sick my partner's father made the decision to have my partner joined into his bank accounts. This gave my partner permission to withdraw money from the accounts to look after the house etc. when his father was in hospital for lengthy periods but it also gave him the same amount of power as his father over the account (although he never used it as such, he was lucky enough not to need to do so). I do understand that some joint accounts allow the second person limited powers with the account but this was not the case with my partner.