Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mahiedine Mekhissi-Benabbad - Bad for the sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

ecoli wrote: »
    First last year there was this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gIMV6AS68Ss

and now he is at it again with a 14 year old girl:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXsjc5ZehRI

Should be banned from the sport

Thats a bit nasty, he couldnt have know its a 14 year old girl but still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Ah here. It's a stupid thing to do, but in the grand scheme of things we have bigger things to worry about, such as the blatent dopers like Justin Gatlin who will be competing in London.

Plus Baala headbutted him. Can't blame him for fighting back. Not great to see but scuffles happen in sport.

Pisco Sour wrote: »
    Ah here. It's a stupid thing to do, but in the grand scheme of things we have bigger things to worry about, such as the blatent dopers like Justin Gatlin who will be competing in London.

Plus Baala headbutted him. Can't blame him for fighting back. Not great to see but scuffles happen in sport.

In the grand scheme of things doping really doesnt hurt anyone, could have injured a young girl there, which in my books is far worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭JohnnyCrash

He should. What an asshole and a bully.

shels4ever wrote: »
    In the grand scheme of things doping really doesnt hurt anyone, could have injured a young girl there, which in my books is far worse.

In athletics doping is the ultimate offence. Not only are they claiming medals that should be somebody elses, but they are STEALING from sponsors, taxpayers, other competitors, paying spectators, competition organisers etc.

It was out of order yes. Banning him for life is a bit OTT though. Slap him with a huge fine and make him do some community work and leave it at that.

In athletics doping is the ultimate offence. Not only are they claiming medals that should be somebody elses, but they are STEALING from sponsors, taxpayers, other competitors, paying spectators, competition organisers etc.
    Yep but in life that doesnt amount to much. Bit of class and no beating up 14 year old girls it more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

In fairness if your angry at yourself after crossing the line the last thing you wanna see is a mascot asking for a high five. He does need to be punished for sure though, 3 months seems about right given he has offended before.

I've lived with North African Frenchies before, not recommended :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

In the first one he gets head-butted. Something tells me he provoked it but it's not a huge deal.

For the second one I think that he needs to get a good telling off and a fine with a suspension suspended for a couple of years subject to no further incidents.

shels4ever wrote: »
    Yep but in life that doesnt amount to much. Bit of class and no beating up 14 year old girls it more important.

Yep, but it should. It should be a criminal offence. Point me the difference between somebody tax evading or being involved in armed-robbery, and Marion Jones and Pharmstrong earning MILLIONS of dollars which is rightfully not theirs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

I agree Baala headbutted him first but still he grabs him and attempts to swing punches

While I agree doping is a huge problem this is still giving a negative image to the sport which can be just as damaging to athletics.

he served a ban last year for 3 months IIRC yet 12 months later he again is cause of bringing the image of the sport down which is why I say the ban should be longer.

Irregardless of the age or gender of the person inside the mascot costume this kinda stuff has no place in the sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Ban him, starting straight away to make sure he doesn't compete in the Olympics. W*****r

his is still giving a negative image to the sport which can be just as damaging to athletics.

It isn't. This stuff goes on in all sports. Quite rare in athletics actually. Check out the rubbish that goes on in Australian Rules. Every week you have some muppet in the papers for rape, drink driving, drugs etc, yet the people are flooding to the stadiums in their droves.

Fighting is legalised in Ice-Hockey. That fight with Baala was handbags. Happens on a rugby pitch every second week. I agree it has no place in athletics, but it isn't exactly going to be something that pushes casual viewers away. It doesn't push casual viewers away from other sports.

As I said, fine the clown, make him apologise to the girl (doubt he knew it was a 14 year old girl btw) and have him do some community service and all will be forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Obviously talented, but has clearly proven himself to be a gigantic arse. Track and field's equivalent of Mario Balotelli, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Love to see him act the hardman with a shot-putter or discus thrower:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Just cause your a kid you should know better than get in someone's way.The camera men did not help too. I think he was justified in throwing the crap he was handed on the ground but not pushing (person unknown) just happened to be a kid. I don't this is comparable with the fight incident which was dreadful.

rom wrote: »
    Just cause your a kid you should know better than get in someone's way.The camera men did not help too. I think he was justified in throwing the crap he was handed on the ground but not pushing (person unknown) just happened to be a kid. I don't this is comparable with the fight incident which was dreadful.
    The mascot did not get in his way, he walked up to her, behaved like a spoiled child. He did'nt have to take what was handed to him, many did'nt. Its easy to push around someone half your size. I'd say he's a really hard man, with someone half his size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭VR46

pgi67jrc.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

this kinda stuff has no place in the sport
    True, neither do these stupid mascots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

His attitude there is shocking, I have zero respect for him after that.... that's not what athletics fans want to see at all. Simply no excuse for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

gerard65 wrote: »
    The mascot did not get in his way, he walked up to her, behaved like a spoiled child. He did'nt have to take what was handed to him, many did'nt. Its easy to push around someone half your size. I'd say he's a really hard man, with someone half his size.

Its easy disqualify him from the competition and set an example. Like they did here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iz7xuuFQ93Y You have to agree that it is poor judgement to have a child of that age working there too also.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

He didn't push a 14 year old girl, he pushed an advertising mascot out of the way. Very common for the mascots to get mild abuse from athletes at the end of races or shoved out of the way as they run after them trying to hand over some tat, he didn't do anything different to what many others have done before.

The organisers are at fault for coming up with a mascot that you can only fit a 14 year old girl into the suit for and then putting her out to stand in the way of pissed off athletes. No problem if they were to decide to disqualify any athlete that pushed the mascots at events though, that is perfectly reasonable. But the organisers are the main people to blame here.

They DQ'ed that tennis player for kicking some advertising the other week, it happened that there was someone injured in the process which probably helped them with making the decision and if it had just been the advertising hoarding he'd kicked in the final he'd have just been penalised a game. Probably would have still got DQ'ed in a early round though.

Jebus, its amazing how people see what they want to see. Nobody got in his way, look at the video again, it takes him 12 seconds to walk up to the mascot, he could have step around her, instead he push her on purpose.
    As for him pushing just a advertising mascot, did he not cop on that there was a person inside it:rolleyes:
    His behaviour was loutish, but as someone said earlier, if the cap fits....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

gerard65 wrote: »
    Jebus, its amazing how people see what they want to see. Nobody got in his way, look at the video again, it takes him 12 seconds to walk up to the mascot, he could have step around her, instead he push her on purpose.
    As for him pushing just a advertising mascot, did he not cop on that there was a person inside it:rolleyes:
    His behaviour was loutish, but as someone said earlier, if the cap fits....

Agreed that his behaviour was unacceptable.

He did not push a 14 year old girl though. It just happens that there was a 14 year old girl inside the mascot outfit and that is entirely the marketing departments fault.

robinph wrote: »
    He didn't push a 14 year old girl, he pushed an advertising mascot out of the way. Very common for the mascots to get mild abuse from athletes at the end of races or shoved out of the way as they run after them trying to hand over some tat, he didn't do anything different to what many others have done before.
    Yep, Usain did the same in Oslo ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D2fTXGyjfaA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

To be honest, he didn't even push that hard - if you think that he probably thought there was an adult male inside the mascots outfit then his push was quite light considering it only caused a 14 year old girl to stagger a bit. If he had really intended on hurting the mascot, the push he would have given would have sent a 14 year old girl flying.

He should be fined & given a warning but people are over reacting IMO.

Doping is in a different league altogether and to say doping doesn't hurt anyone is naive in the extreme.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

*NEWS JUST IN*

Shock... Horror... HANDBAGS.

Emotions run high amongst top level athletes. Curious fans surprised and OUTRAGED to see 2 grow men exchanging love tickles and a mascot pushed.

Next stop - javelin throwers jousting, pole vaulteers fencing and disc throwers doing odd job impressions.

Modern athletics is crumbling.

/stop.

...srsly, are ppl actually getting wound up about THOSE videos? Yeah it has no place and shouldn't happen but my god it's the most inconsequential sporting brawl I've ever seen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

*NEWS JUST IN*

Shock... Horror... HANDBAGS.

Emotions run high amongst top level athletes. Curious fans surprised and OUTRAGED to see 2 grow men exchanging love tickles and a mascot pushed.

Next stop - javelin throwers jousting, pole vaulteers fencing and disc throwers doing odd job impressions.

Modern athletics is crumbling.

/stop.

...srsly, are ppl actually getting wound up about THOSE videos? Yeah it has no place and shouldn't happen but my god it's the most inconsequential sporting brawl I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

If the makers of Spinal Tap decided to do a film about athletics then I reckon thats exactly what they'd come up with. I've never seen somebody swing so many digs and hit nothing......handbags at dawn indeed.

Are 14 year olds actually legally allowed to work?

They probably try and class it as the same as the football mascots, but I'd class running about handing tat out as more of a "job" than wearing a McDonalds t-shirt and standing still during the anthems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Hanley wrote: »
    tunguska wrote: »
    If the makers of Spinal Tap decided to do a film about athletics then I reckon thats exactly what they'd come up with. I've never seen somebody swing so many digs and hit nothing......handbags at dawn indeed.

This is worse...

I dont think even 1 punch connected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

You can see him on this link having ago at Barni after winning in Barcelona 2 years ago. First he gives him a hug then he pushes him to the ground.

Wait till he races in London has has to face not one but two mascots! Hopefully Wenlock and Mandeville will go WWF on him!

Clum wrote: »
    You can see him on this link having ago at Barni after winning in Barcelona 2 years ago. First he gives him a hug then he pushes him to the ground.

Wait till he races in London has has to face not one but two mascots! Hopefully Wenlock and Mandeville will go WWF on him!

Get Berlino in on the act and he stands no chance. Melaine Walker will vouch for that.