Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you swap? Audi for a BMW ?

• 02-07-2012 12:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭

Hi everyone.
    I said i would put my a4 on donedeal for the craic to see what i would get offered and within 5 minutes i get offered a 05 520d m-sport
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3571622
    my audi for this BMW?
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3562957

what do ye think it could be a straight swap deal? would ye think it would work in my favour or am i making a horrible mistake :pac:my car is honestly perfect btw so could this be a nest of problems for me :(
    all opinions appreciated

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Whats important to you? More power? Better Handling? More badge? :p

Its only 10HP more powerful than your car, it has iDrive, leather sports seats and seems to be well spec'd

If its in good condition and your looking for a change I would go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Both cars are up for dreamers prices, probably the best deal you both will have a chance of getting tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

conzymaher wrote: »
    Whats important to you? More power? Better Handling? More badge? :p

Its only 10HP more powerful than your car, it has iDrive, leather sports seats and seems to be well spec'd

If its in good condition and your looking for a change I would go for it

That 520d has 163bhp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I know I would be happier taking your Audi towards 150k miles than the BMW. IMO more bills around the corner on the BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 190E2.516

id take the bmw. prices are far from accurate tho. 7000 would be top dollar for either of those cars

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

190E2.516 wrote: »
    id take the bmw. prices are far from accurate tho. 7000 would be top dollar for either of those cars

While i agree the prices are a bit too far north, but you have to on DD, to allow for hagglers!

But 7k, if you can get me a genuine 520d MSport tomorrow for 7k, i will buy it straight off you.

The E60 is bog standard, iDrive is standard, although the full leather and silve allucube trim is very nice.
    163bhp engine is decent too and responds very well to a remap, 190bhp give or take.

It depends on condition of both imo, if your Audi is 100% then its a bit of a gamble on the BMW unless you check it out.
    it could come down to having to spnd on tyres or a service etc

personally i'd want the 520d over both, but the Audi is a very very close 2nd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

I dont care about year or county on a car, with one exception the DL reg....put the fear of god in me. I imagine its only ever been driven at high speed over potholed mountain roads by lads in baseball caps, the guards chasing them

All the same the BMW is a better car, more power, RWD and better dynamics if thats your bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

DL plates and described as 'Mint' - walk away instantly :D

Maybe someone who has been watching 5er's on Donegal-deal can tell you how long that particular car is up for? He could be trying to sell it for months and it could be a back of spanners,proceed with caution.