Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kids at driving range

• 29-06-2012 10:50pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Sorry had to share!!

Went to the driving range this evening and brought my 2 kids with me. They have their own clubs and when i'm practising around the garden they often play along with me (i have two tee boxes 20m apart and a "green" cut into my lawn complete with hole and flag another 20m away. Anyway, got 100 balls out of machine and gave them 30 each to start off with..........they were like a pair of machine guns blasting balls at first!! I was just finished warming up when my youngest came up looking for more!! Second batch of balls i got them to slow down and concentrate on hitting properly and cleanly, was impressed when my 6 y/o was hitting the 100m marker more consistently than i was!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Gmpd

Just wait until he starts out driving you!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Fair play, what ages are they? Sounds like you've a great set up in the garden at home so plenty of opportunity to practice pitch and putt and the importance of the short game.

As a kid used to love "caddying" with the father when he was playing casual rounds with a couple of mates. Spend a while of the day searching for balls and other times walking the fairways and maybe getting to hit a few shots when things were quite.

Nice to enjoy the game and time with your kids doing something you both enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Sorry had to share!!

Went to the driving range this evening and brought my 2 kids with me. They have their own clubs and when i'm practising around the garden they often play along with me (i have two tee boxes 20m apart and a "green" cut into my lawn complete with hole and flag another 20m away. Anyway, got 100 balls out of machine and gave them 30 each to start off with..........they were like a pair of machine guns blasting balls at first!! I was just finished warming up when my youngest came up looking for more!! Second batch of balls i got them to slow down and concentrate on hitting properly and cleanly, was impressed when my 6 y/o was hitting the 100m marker more consistently than i was!!!

Fair play, I read the title and was like ffs don't be giving out about others kids there( wrong obivously).
    I have two girls, just 2 yrs and a baby. the oldest loves hacking like her da.
    They have those times as adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Start them young , bring them to the course as often as you can...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

i bring my 5 year old son back to the putting green most weekends, i hate to say it but i think he takes after his mother:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

i bring my 5 year old son back to the putting green most weekends, i hate to say it but i think he takes after his mother:o

Brilliant :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭cadobady

are you saying he is a bad driver? : )

cadobady wrote: »
    are you saying he is a bad driver? : )

brilliant

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Gmpd wrote: »

i hate to admit it, but both are girls!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Gmpd

charlieIRL wrote: »

i hate to admit it, but both are girls!!!!

Lol ah my fault for just presuming. I'm sure ya won't mind when there holding the solhiem cup aloft instead of the Ryder cup!

that would suit me just fine!!

If they could make enough so i could retire and just play golf that would be fine too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭JD Dublin

Yeah I thought it was going to be a 'Kids at the driving range - I'm annoyed' Thread too.

When I bring my 2 to the driving range - a 13 year old & 8 year old - one issue is that when they hit the ball cleanly, they shout 'YESSSSSS' annoying the other people at the range....

The 13 year old can out drive me, sometimes, but he sprays them all over the place. One thing he has on me is flexability - I look like a stick man, all stiff, he can turn his torso and get way better speed in to the club head.

The 8 year old - I try to keep him at the driving range, he becomes miserable playing as he can't make any progress. He is great at putting tho' from playing loads of crazy golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

My 6 year old daughter said to me last night: "Dad, you love golf more than you love Mam and me" :(

I have tried bring her to the course, she's just not interested, tried the range same thing, no matter how often I show her, she still insists on swinging the club with the broom handle putting grip!!!! Haha..............

Ah well I have one on the way so hoping for the next Rory/Yani!!! :D

I get that the whole time, from my wife as well!!

Congrats on the impending arrival, you may well play as much golf as you can now cause when the new arrival comes we won't see you for a few years!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

ssbob wrote: »
    My 6 year old daughter said to me last night: "Dad, you love golf more than you love Mam and me" :(

Surely not, a daughter always comes before golf, I've three of them.
    Other half hmmmmm

slave1 wrote: »
    Surely not, a daughter always comes before golf, I've three of them.
    Other half hmmmmm

1.kid(i only have 1)
    2.wife..golf
    3.wife...darts
    4.my new 54 degree wedge
    5.wife/saturday night in town with the lads

god,i hope she doesnt read this:p