Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

am i allowed?

• 29-06-2012 12:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭

I just want to no if im legal to drive

i have a full licence, i have insurance and i have tax, i have a booking date for NCT on tuesday. Am i legal to drive my car?

i have all documents to prove this also, i have the booking date in my windscreen.

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

Not actually legal, but I expect you'll get away with it if there's no obvious safety issue with the car.
    Also, no smart-arse comments to Gardaì.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Technically no. In reality you're unlikely get into trouble unless you behave very poorly or give lip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Gurgle wrote: »
    Not actually legal, but I expect you'll get away with it if there's no obvious safety issue with the car.
    Also, no smart-arse comments to Gardaì.

This with one possible exception... when did your NCT expire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Jordan537

Feb 2012

Potentially a fine and penalty points, unlikely but legally possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Your fine once you have proof of your booking date and obviously if your car isn't splurting smoke or looks a right banger
    You'll be fine don't worry and as someone else posted don't be smart to Garda about it as it won't work in your favour
    Atb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

As everyone else said - legally you are not OK to drive.
    Guards most likely wouldn't bother prosecuting you, but bear in mind that some insurers require your car to be NCTed in their terms and conditions.
    If that's the case in your policy, my understanding is that you might have bigger trouble in case there will be a claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 --Ryaner--

Once you have in possession of your booking date then you will be 100% ok once the car ain't falling to bits, the only thing that will happen is that once you get your NCT passed you could be asked to produce it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Jordan537 wrote: »

I just want to no if im legal to drive

i have a full licence, i have insurance and i have tax, i have a booking date for NCT on tuesday. Am i legal to drive my car?

i have all documents to prove this also, i have the booking date in my windscreen.

Cheers.

You'll be fine as you have your booking date/number, but make sure its road legal (tyres/lights etc)

--Ryaner-- wrote: »
    Once you have in possession of your booking date then you will be 100% ok once the car ain't falling to bits, the only thing that will happen is that once you get your NCT passed you could be asked to produce it.
    mullingar wrote: »
    You'll be fine as you have your booking date/number, but make sure its road legal (tyres/lights etc)

But OP didn't asked if he will be fine to drive, but asked if he will be legal to drive.
    While first is most likely YES, then second is definitely NOT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

It would be a bit unfair if you were to get done for driving a car that you couldn't NCT through no fault of your own (delays, backlogs etc), so as long as you're within the spirit of the law, you should be fine.

Yakuza wrote: »
    It would be a bit unfair if you were to get done for driving a car that you couldn't NCT through no fault of your own (delays, backlogs etc), so as long as you're within the spirit of the law, you should be fine.

It definitely would be unfair, but that's the law.
    Law required you to have valid NCT at all times (if car is due), and doesn't make any exceptions for cases where you were unable to obtain it on time.

CiniO wrote: »

It definitely would be unfair, but that's the law.
    Law required you to have valid NCT at all times (if car is due), and doesn't make any exceptions for cases where you were unable to obtain it on time.

He be grand!

I wouldn't fancy driving a car without NCT provided my insurance policy claims that my car must be NCTed.
    If I crashed without NCT, they would most likely refuse to pay for the claim.

CiniO wrote: »
    He be grand!

I wouldn't fancy driving a car without NCT provided my insurance policy claims that my car must be NCTed.
    If I crashed without NCT, they would most likely refuse to pay for the claim.

Well once you have your date booked it's not your fault if there are back logs... What about when your car fails on something small like a reg bulb...etc.... That can be corrected in less then 1 hour but the re-test date is not for 7 days or more due to back logs.... They can't just void your insurence there are some understanding in place in regards to this kind of thing I assume!?

Legally they can. Its up to you to book your NCT early enough to allow for a retest.

Obviously in real life everyone leaves it until its about to expire but the ops question was about being allowed not about getting away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,403 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

the exact word from the guard i spoke to in this situation myself a few years ago was that i would probably be grand unless i got a real pri£K of a cop. But that its completely illegal and they can impound your car on the spot as it is not allowed on a public road without an nct in any circumstances.

So as already said...Be very very nice to a cop if you stopped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Their NCT is out 4 months.

We've booked in and passed 2 cars since March, usually managed to get a test date within a week or so of trying.

Also you can test up to 3 months early, 6 if it's the 1st NCT, so being out 4 months is purely the owners fault.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Their NCT is out 4 months.

We've booked in and passed 2 cars since March, usually managed to get a test date within a week or so of trying.

Also you can test up to 3 months early, 6 if it's the 1st NCT, so being out 4 months is purely the owners fault.

Maybe he just bought the car. The waiting list is longer at some towns than others. If he in concerned enough to post here he is unlikely to have been driving it since February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Jordan537

for your information "Del2005"

I the car has been off the road for a year and i have just had it registered in my name,

we are trying to get the car sorted as quickly as possible and have everything correctly done.

I have just paid a huge sum of money for insurance, have taxed it and booked an NCT, it's going for a small service as spare tyre has puncture and small little bits that needs doing.

Its not my fault the car hasnt been NCT'd since feb. It certainly isnt my fault. Its been off the road since last July and has done around 100 miles since its last NCT in 2011, so its road worthy. Tyres are brand new and all brake lights and indicators work, everything is perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Jordan537 wrote: »
    for your information "Del2005"

I the car has been off the road for a year and i have just had it registered in my name,

we are trying to get the car sorted as quickly as possible and have everything correctly done.

I have just paid a huge sum of money for insurance, have taxed it and booked an NCT, it's going for a small service as spare tyre has puncture and small little bits that needs doing.

Its not my fault the car hasnt been NCT'd since feb. It certainly isnt my fault. Its been off the road since last July and has done around 100 miles since its last NCT in 2011, so its road worthy. Tyres are brand new and all brake lights and indicators work, everything is perfect.

My post wasn't aimed at you and I didn't quote or reference your post, sorry.

I was replying to Yakuza's post about waiting lists etc. which are BS for a car on the road.